PDA

View Full Version : DRM or not?



ProletariatPleb
03-15-2011, 01:58 AM
Hey guys, long time no see, I wanted to confirm something, recently(I keep checking google news for AC;B PC info) I saw that ubi said there won't be any all time online DRM, just one time-login, while when I check the site, it shows "A permanent inter connection is required..." Which is it?

ProletariatPleb
03-15-2011, 01:58 AM
Hey guys, long time no see, I wanted to confirm something, recently(I keep checking google news for AC;B PC info) I saw that ubi said there won't be any all time online DRM, just one time-login, while when I check the site, it shows "A permanent inter connection is required..." Which is it?

shop27C171CB8
03-15-2011, 02:19 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by UbiGabe (Gabriel Graziani) on Twitter:
Once after install... then offline play will be available to you. 8:43 AM Feb 23rd via HootSuite </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Source: UbiGabe Twitter (https://twitter.com/UbiGabe/status/40451720500744192)

dylan1lk
03-15-2011, 03:28 AM
Yes, I saw that sign too, I am not sure if ACB still needs permanent connection.
http://image.gamersky.com/zqimg/acb/image/logo_b.JPG

Xanatos2007
03-15-2011, 03:30 AM
'Bout damn time. Are they gong to release a patch/update for previous PC releases such as ACII & SC: Conviction?

Mr_Shade
03-15-2011, 05:33 AM
As already posted - ACB on PC - does not require a permament internet connection for single player.

When you install the game though, you will need a connection to verify the CD key is correct.


After that you are free to play offline.

If you wish to use Uplay / Multiplayer - you will need an permanent internet connection though - naturally.


There is no news about this style of DRM being offered on older titles - and the next title released may also be different - each game is looked at separately and the DRM used decided on at the time.


On a side point, can I ask where you saw the need for the permanent internet connection on Ubi.com? - I will alert the team that needs changing.

wozzawas
03-15-2011, 08:04 PM
I see UBI are slowly learning. How ever the game still requires a internet connection for the activation. So for this reason i still wont be buying this game just like i didn't buy AC2 and SH5.

ProletariatPleb
03-15-2011, 08:15 PM
Thnx, Shade, hmm...seems they changed it, when I posted this, I saw it on the us/uk both the sites of AC....

Windrius
03-16-2011, 12:22 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Mr_Shade:
On a side point, can I ask where you saw the need for the permanent internet connection on Ubi.com? - I will alert the team that needs changing. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Actually, I think he looked at the cover. Like go to ubishop http://shop.ubi.com/store/ubie...Digital_Edition.html (http://shop.ubi.com/store/ubiemea/en_IE/pd/ThemeID.8605700/productID.224883400/Assassins_Creed%C2%AE_Brotherhood_-_Deluxe_Digital_Edition.html) and look on the right where the cover is. Lower right of the cover it says "A permanent internet connection is required to play the game" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Mr_Shade
03-16-2011, 06:14 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Windrius:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Mr_Shade:
On a side point, can I ask where you saw the need for the permanent internet connection on Ubi.com? - I will alert the team that needs changing. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Actually, I think he looked at the cover. Like go to ubishop http://shop.ubi.com/store/ubie...Digital_Edition.html (http://shop.ubi.com/store/ubiemea/en_IE/pd/ThemeID.8605700/productID.224883400/Assassins_Creed%C2%AE_Brotherhood_-_Deluxe_Digital_Edition.html) and look on the right where the cover is. Lower right of the cover it says "A permanent internet connection is required to play the game" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>Better try to get that removed http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif - don't want people getting the wrong idea http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Razrback16
03-16-2011, 06:18 AM
Mr. Shade: Do you know if there are activation limits?

Mr_Shade
03-16-2011, 06:21 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Razrback16:
Mr. Shade: Do you know if there are activation limits? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>On the Same PC?

I would imagine it would be the same as recent products - linked to your Ubi.com account - so technically you can install as many times as you like, on the same PC.


If you mean can you install on multiple PC's - as long as only one is used at a time [as per the other recent PC titles] - you may be able too..

Just which did you mean?

Razrback16
03-16-2011, 06:38 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Mr_Shade:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Razrback16:
Mr. Shade: Do you know if there are activation limits? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>On the Same PC?

I would imagine it would be the same as recent products - linked to your Ubi.com account - so technically you can install as many times as you like, on the same PC.


If you mean can you install on multiple PC's - as long as only one is used at a time [as per the other recent PC titles] - you may be able too..

Just which did you mean? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

No, not on multiple PCs at the same time, but say you install it on the first PC, then you need to format your system due to a harddrive crash or a system upgrade, etc. and you have to install the game a second time (but it's still only installed on one PC because the original one has been formatted) -- is there an activation limit total that you have to worry about hitting?

For example when EA came out with Crysis: Warhead they initially had a 5-time activation limit meaning you could only install the game 5 times PERIOD -- there was public backlash and EA came out with a revocation tool that allowed you to go in and deactivate a license in the event you needed to rebuild your PC, or whatever and then the next time you launched the game it would re-activate, but you wouldn't have to ever worry about hitting your total as long as you revoked the license if you ever needed to move the installation to another system. Does that make sense? So I am just curious if we need to worry about hitting an activation limit of any kind -- if it's like Blizzard did with Starcraft II (your activation is just linked to your battle.net account without limits) then that will be just fine.

Mr_Shade
03-16-2011, 06:40 AM
If it's using the standard Ubisoft System - as with other current games - you can install multiple times on the same PC - since the CD Key is linked to your Ubi.com account.


Just log in with the same details - and it won't ask for a Key when you install the game [much like Steam ]


I will double check though, just incase it's been modified now - since it only uses part of that system.

Razrback16
03-16-2011, 06:59 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Mr_Shade:
If it's using the standard Ubisoft System - as with other current games - you can install multiple times on the same PC - since the CD Key is linked to your Ubi.com account.


Just log in with the same details - and it won't ask for a Key when you install the game [much like Steam ]


I will double check though, just incase it's been modified now - since it only uses part of that system. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ok thx -- I'm not familiar with other Ubi games (currently the only Ubi franchise I play is Assassin's Creed).

Mr_Shade
03-16-2011, 12:42 PM
I am still waiting on an official reply - I want to try and get you the correct info - just in case I am wrong..

Wouldn't be the first time.. LOL

Xanatos2007
03-17-2011, 01:55 AM
Got AC:B today, I can confirm there's no 'permanent internet connection' box on the cover.

Razrback16
03-17-2011, 06:06 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Mr_Shade:
I am still waiting on an official reply - I want to try and get you the correct info - just in case I am wrong..

Wouldn't be the first time.. LOL </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ok, thx Mr Shade! Assuming there are no activation limits going by what you're saying you believe it is, I'll be picking this up on Tuesday at full retail cost to reward Ubisoft for at least dumping the DRM. Hopefully on the next game they will release all platforms together...

docstrangeluv
03-17-2011, 04:06 PM
I got the German Codex Edition.

1. Internet connection only needed once for activation after installation

2. If you're offline afterwards the launcher comes up and shows: "Login to play", but in the lower right corner there's a tiny "offline mode". If you click there the game starts, reminding you that you have no access to UPlay or Multiplayer mode.

3. You can load & play your normal storymode savegame offline or online, it doesnt matter.



Enjoy the game. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif