PDA

View Full Version : Vista ...1946



rmcw204
03-10-2007, 09:48 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif Hello you guys out there, wonder if you can help me ? I am trying to run 1946 on vista. (My set up is Pent 4, 306 40 g of hard disk , 1 gig of ram on a g force 4 5600fx)(latest drivers insatalled)Well it doesn't run much at all, with lock ups juddering on sound /graphics & difficulty starting.Anyone else having a hard time with the same issues?Please advise coz I am desperate! Must add hard drive is chocker when all is loaded...can this affect my game play? RSVP

rmcw204
03-10-2007, 09:48 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif Hello you guys out there, wonder if you can help me ? I am trying to run 1946 on vista. (My set up is Pent 4, 306 40 g of hard disk , 1 gig of ram on a g force 4 5600fx)(latest drivers insatalled)Well it doesn't run much at all, with lock ups juddering on sound /graphics & difficulty starting.Anyone else having a hard time with the same issues?Please advise coz I am desperate! Must add hard drive is chocker when all is loaded...can this affect my game play? RSVP

Tator_Totts
03-10-2007, 02:41 PM
I gig of ram is hard with Vista. 40 gig hard drive is not ideal.

rmcw204
03-11-2007, 07:54 AM
Thank you for your help...

BadA1m
03-11-2007, 09:58 AM
Yeah, M8 you may wan't to stick to XP, Vista is a real recource hog and I'm guessing your machine is having enough trouble running it alone, forget IL2. Plus there is the simple fact that no one really has fully cooked drivers for vista yet, and many apps don't run efficiently on it yet, you just don't have the overhead for it.

BadA1m
03-11-2007, 10:01 AM
BTW, a full hard drive is not as efficient as say a half full one, so that is probably not helping. (ususlly this only effects loadup, but if your computer is going to page file a lot it can be a real bottleneck)

Shrike_UK
03-13-2007, 04:21 PM
adding another 1gb of ram to 2gb makes a visible difference, but 2gb is the minimum for smooth performance, i run mine with literally everything i know about which would run in the background turned off, but still the hard drive goes mental doing things without my knowledge, and i wonder, what the hell is it doing!. Backup disabled.. UAC disabled, Firewall disabled, no Anti-Virus (virus) on etc... just to name a few things.

Reschke
03-13-2007, 11:17 PM
Yep I went a little further and tossed in 3GB more of RAM into my old machine just to get ready for the eventual upgrade when I give this one to my oldest son. My new build is not going to get Vista for a long time and then it is going to get at least 6GB more RAM to bump it up to 8GB since that is what the motherboard will support.

PFflyer
03-15-2007, 08:01 AM
You use Vista?

Only the dumest mindless consumers buy into that c r a p, and you just made the list.

Treetop64
03-15-2007, 08:33 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by PFflyer:
You use Vista?

Only the dumest mindless consumers buy into that c r a p, and you just made the list. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Dood, that was the most useless and unessesary putdown posted in this forum in a long time. Totally moronic.

Also, it's spelled "d-u-m-b-e-s-t", Einstein... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

Freelancer-1
03-16-2007, 11:54 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by PFflyer:
You use Vista?

Only the dumest mindless consumers buy into that c r a p, and you just made the list. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

For those of us who actually play games that don't run in OGL, the word of the day is DX10. Only in Vista, don't 'cha know.

It's called progress. Try it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Granted, Vista has had some teething pains, but when has a new OS not? Give it time, my negative friend, give it time http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

Tfa_Migkilla
04-06-2007, 08:21 PM
One thing I noticed that caused a massive difference in performance when I changed the visual theme to Vista Basic, I've been running it nicely since.