PDA

View Full Version : help with the 262's



XyZspineZyX
11-04-2003, 04:03 PM
S!
just decided to try and fly the 262 offline but need help on how to set up my controls ( i use a MS sidewinder 2) im looking for a good setup of hotkeys assignments. any help alos on tactics to fly these planes in combat will be great. Im looking for any links or past posts as well, thank you all who reply in advance.
Watsup

XyZspineZyX
11-04-2003, 04:03 PM
S!
just decided to try and fly the 262 offline but need help on how to set up my controls ( i use a MS sidewinder 2) im looking for a good setup of hotkeys assignments. any help alos on tactics to fly these planes in combat will be great. Im looking for any links or past posts as well, thank you all who reply in advance.
Watsup

XyZspineZyX
11-04-2003, 04:11 PM
Here ya go, that's just about everything you need to get started:

http://www.mudmovers.com/Sims/FB/fb_me262procedures.htm

cheers/slush

http://dk.groups.yahoo.com/group/aktivitetsdage/files/Eurotrolls.gif

You can't handle the truth!
Col. Jessep

XyZspineZyX
11-04-2003, 04:11 PM
Theres a site i found scanning these forums yesterday http://www.jg51.com ..has a manual which is cool, been flying the 262 for a long time and i love it and also have the sidewinder stick, for seperate engine start i have buttons 6 & 7 for engines 1 & 2, the trigger and button 2 for the cannons, if i fly the 2a i use button 4 for the rocket and or bomb for the secondary...i use keys F & V for flaps retract and full flaps, thats about it.. any questions just give me a holler

XyZspineZyX
11-04-2003, 04:49 PM
Hey AH_Force, that is our squad site. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

I recommend binding your "left" and "right engine select" to the left/right arrow keys. I also recommend putting "all engine select" to your up arrow key as this allows for quick and easy management of engines. Don't put the engine on/off key as the down arrow in case you bump it. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

I have gunsite view and normal view assigned to buttons on base of controller, it allows me to quickly id aircraft and to shoot more accurately.

I have flaps up and flaps down assigned to other 2 base buttons as these are needed for landing. If you need to make quick adjustments on your approach this is helpful.

Weapon buttons I I kept the same as default.

Our 262 manual on the squad's website is a good read to get started and as As AH_Force said, any questions just ask.

Good Luck, and if you are interested in joining a squad check us out.

http://members.ozemail.com.au/~fiveds/images/anthony1.jpg

jg51.com

Message Edited on 11/04/0303:53PM by Hunde_3.-JG.51

XyZspineZyX
11-04-2003, 11:22 PM
Was just givin your website a plug http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif..anyway very insightful way of putting your controls, will give it a try but im right handed and just had surgery on my wrist(lucky me) so now i only have 50% flexibility in it but i like your buttons on the stick as far as landing and such, will change them and try them... need anymore 262 pilots let me know will give it a shot, i do ok and can hold my own, hosted a room pretty much all day today and only got shot twice... luck or skill, probably luck with a full room...

XyZspineZyX
11-04-2003, 11:48 PM
Hey AH_Force, thanks for the plug. We are a new squad and still forming so we would be glad to have you fly with us. Just got my squad skin yesterday, they look quite nice. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif Contact our squad leader and set something up and I'll likely be there as well. Sorry to hear about the bad paw. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Hope to see you around.

Hunde.

jg51.com

http://members.ozemail.com.au/~fiveds/images/anthony1.jpg

jg51.com

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 04:45 AM
Hmmm... I could help out with 262's a little if anyone needs some hints too. Thats my primary aircraft in FB. Though now.... hearing those Jumo's are becoming a rare things as more and more games take out the mighty Messerschmitt... such a shame.....

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 05:48 PM
S!
Used the control set up and i like it. First mission out i pasted 5 la 7's and still came home with ammo. Problem i have is turns, how do i properly turn with out losing to much speed? How slow can i go with out a flame out?
Thanks
Watsup

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 06:11 PM
There isn't any speed that's too low to keep the engines running or anything. What can cause a flame out in FB is decreasing the throttle too quickly. And as for losing too much speed in turns, just don't turn hard. Every fighter can outturn you, so don't even try it. Make the maneuvers easy and keep your speed up. It's all about patience.

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 06:51 PM
I can't even get the 262 off the ground. I have no problem with engine starts, but I cannot get the thing to move! It is like the brakes are locked or something. I just sit there and vibrate on the ground no matter what throttle setting I have engines at. I really want to fly this bird.

Z

http://sc.groups.msn.com/tn/83/C1/BeowolffsRoninLair/5/49.jpg

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 07:05 PM
Wow, never heard this before. If you are spinning it'd be because you only have one engine selected. But you say sitting there and vibrating? Could you make a track of this? If I actually see what is happening, I'd probably be able to help.

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 09:31 PM
Hunde, Stecher, cool pics! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Golden Eagle-ProudBirds-VFW
http://www.uploadit.org/files/241003-logo_sm2.jpg (http://proudbirdswing.tripod.com/proudbirds.htm)
<marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"The ProudBirds..Fly High and Proud..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee></center>

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 12:36 AM
Thanks, GoldnEagle /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif And S! to the Proudbirds, they are a good bunch.

Zekeman, are you sure you don't have the wheelbrake on? Maybe you have the "lock wheelbrake" key binded to something? Sometimes if you select autopilot they apply the wheelbrake which must be manually taken off. I don't mean to ask stupid questions but I have never heard of this, its really strange. Maybe send Stecher (the squad commander) a track as he said and we can figure it out.

Good Luck.

http://members.ozemail.com.au/~fiveds/images/anthony1.jpg

jg51.com

Message Edited on 11/05/0311:37PM by Hunde_3.-JG.51

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 01:52 AM
Should be able to taxi at 30% throttle after about 30 seconds or so to let the engines warm up... make sure all engines are selected (1&2) make sure flaps are down to take-off, then let er rip down the runway til it gets about 190km and gently pull the stick back and voila up she goes, retract flaps and gear and keep 100% throttle til it gets up to about 350 then throttle back to 86% and climb to desired altitude, hope this helps...

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 02:22 AM
If one goes by the POI, the 262 will not start to move at less than 4500rpm(52%) and up to 6000rpm(69%) depending on the surface.

An official TO and landing pattern. Sorry is a bit fuzzy but am only allowed 60kb.

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-9/379643/Me262_pattern.jpg

The only problem is one cannot see the runway at 3km for the final in FB./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

from "Messerschmitt 262" Radinger/Schick



http://www.thundercycle.com/photos/dropdead2.gif



"Only a dead 'chamber pot' is a good 'chamber pot'!"

Message Edited on 11/05/0308:24PM by MiloMorai

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 04:00 AM
Whoa, those RPM/throttle% are very different than in FB. What altitude are those setting at? In FB, 4500 rpm is 20% and 6000 rpm is 45 % @ sea level.

The landing pattern I came up with and use is almost exactly like that one there, and I can see the base just fine turing into my final approach. I usually start it at 1000m alt, are you lower?

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 04:26 AM
Max rpm is 8700.

Could be the graphics settings(not set to max) but at 3km I can't see the runway.

The POI says to keep the brakes on to 7000rpm(80%), then release, and advance throttle to "Full Load".

There has to be something wrong with the throttle settings in FB for at 3000rpm(34%) the ignition button is released during the start-up procedure.

"Idling" speed is 3000rpm.


Stecher_3.-JG51 wrote:
- Whoa, those RPM/throttle% are very different than in
- FB. What altitude are those setting at? In FB,
- 4500 rpm is 20% and 6000 rpm is 45 % @ sea level.
-
- The landing pattern I came up with and use is almost
- exactly like that one there, and I can see the base
- just fine turning into my final approach. I usually
- start it at 1000m alt, are you lower?
-
-



http://www.thundercycle.com/photos/dropdead2.gif



"Only a dead 'chamber pot' is a good 'chamber pot'!"

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 04:49 AM
MiloMorai wrote:
- Max rpm is 8700.
-
- Could be the graphics settings(not set to max) but
- at 3km I can't see the runway.

Do you use the zoom in view to look for the runway?

- The POI says to keep the brakes on to 7000rpm(80%),
- then release, and advance throttle to "Full Load".
-
- There has to be something wrong with the throttle
- settings in FB for at 3000rpm(34%) the ignition
- button is released during the start-up procedure.
-
- "Idling" speed is 3000rpm.


I'm suprised how far off the rpm settings are in FB. The max is correct at 8700 rpm, but everything else isn't close. I don't understand how you say 34% is 3000 rpm and then say 3000 rpm is idling. How can 34% be idling?

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 04:56 AM
Stecher_3.-JG51 wrote:
-
-
-
- I'm suprised how far off the rpm settings are in FB.
- The max is correct at 8700 rpm, but everything else
- isn't close. I don't understand how you say 34% is
- 3000 rpm and then say 3000 rpm is idling. How can
- 34% be idling?
-
-

That is what the POI says the "Idling" speed is. "Idling" is the nomenclature for the setting.



http://www.thundercycle.com/photos/dropdead2.gif



"Only a dead 'chamber pot' is a good 'chamber pot'!"

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 06:07 PM
Stecher_3.-JG51 wrote:
- Wow, never heard this before. If you are spinning
- it'd be because you only have one engine selected.
- But you say sitting there and vibrating? Could you
- make a track of this? If I actually see what is
- happening, I'd probably be able to help.
-
- <center><img
- src="http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thund
- er.jpg">
-
-
- 3./Jagdgeschwader 51
- www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

Will do Stecher. It boggles the hell out of me. If I don't leave a post here I'll try and contact you through your website.

Z



http://sc.groups.msn.com/tn/83/C1/BeowolffsRoninLair/5/49.jpg