PDA

View Full Version : SH 3 Commander



steveh1947
09-02-2010, 08:08 AM
I want to use the commander mod and currently have GWX running.
I need advice as to which is the best one to use, and also any other decent mods worth putting on.

Ta
Steve

steveh1947
09-02-2010, 08:08 AM
I want to use the commander mod and currently have GWX running.
I need advice as to which is the best one to use, and also any other decent mods worth putting on.

Ta
Steve

Max_Schnell
09-02-2010, 11:58 AM
Won't you be happily surprised!

You use SH3 Commander with GWX. You start Commander, then you launch into SH3 w/GWX from Commander.

There is also another mod that you use along with GWX and Commander, (I forget the name) anyway, this mod puts on a "Map overlay" that give you many options as to the kind of shipping traffic (quantity and quality) that you will get. Darn it!! I can't remember the name! Oh well, one of our awesome members will know what I'm talking about.

Hang in there, I'm sure the answers/suggestions are coming.

Max

HW3
09-02-2010, 01:07 PM
When you install SH3 Commander, be sure to install the compatibility files for GWX into it. BTW SH3 Commander does not install into SH3, it works with SH3.

Max_Schnell
09-03-2010, 09:00 AM
Ahh!! I remember the name of the other mod.

SH3 Generator

1. I load SH3 Generator
2. load SH3 Commander
3. make any necessary/wanted changes in SH3 Commander.
4. launch SH3/GWX from Commander.
5. tell everyone to leave you alone, you don't care, turn off the phone, pour yourself a pint and settle in for fun, drama, mystery, fear, anxiety and all the other awesome things that this game creates.

Max

Kaleun1961
09-03-2010, 10:23 AM
Some of the "drama" the game can create includes marital/relationship discord, when your significant other becomes jealous of the time you spend with a bunch of smelly sailors instead of with her. Or him; we do have a few Frau Kaleunen as well. My wife has resigned herself and consoles herself with the notion that at least when I am at sea in my U-boat I am not out drinking, gambling or 101 other bad things married men can get up to.

Edit: 3 more posts and I'll hit the 5,000 post milestone, something Celeon hit some time ago. Actually, some of us old hands have many more posts than we currently show. A while back the forum crashed and all members at the time lost credit for previous posts. I had about 1,200 or so when it happened and I am sure Celeon lost quite a few more.

Max_Schnell
09-03-2010, 11:25 AM
I have to agree with Kaleun. Although my Mrs. has started using it all to her advantage.

If she finds my "advances" unwanted she will suggest I go play my game.

If I leave the game running and step away to make an "advance" she will say "I hear explosions" or "Your guys are calling you."

And just the opposite, If I am in the game and she should so choose to make an "advance" or just needs me to comply with a request, she will threaten to "trip the breaker" that feeds electricity to the room. Needless to say she is pretty much in control. You gotta watch out for those "Southern" women.

Schnell!! SCHNELL!!!!

Kaleun1961
09-03-2010, 11:45 AM
Max, your post gave me a rip roaring laugh! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

In my master bedroom, where me and Mrs. Kaleun sleep, the main light switch controls the outlets into which I have all my computer gear installed: modem, router, switches, 4 UPS's and six PC's. [I have as much gear in my house as OKW did at Zossen! Though probably not as much as Celeon does in his post-socialist spy bunker in Berlin. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif] I taped over the switch after my wife several times flipped it and cut my power. Having UPS's on all my equipment means that I keep on sailing even in a blackout. Something to consider. As well, a UPS provides you with surge protection. I would never plug a computer straight into an outlet or rely upon a surge protector only. They are great for protecting against a surge, but if the power browns out or cuts off, your system is down instantly and we all know how Windows gripes about "You did not shut down properly." Why take chances with an expensive computer when you can protect it for less than $100? Not only does a UPS provide battery backup and surge protection, it also provides more outlets, cleans and conditions the electricity. Most people are not aware that household current fluctuates up and down. Over time, these minute fluctuations can actually do more harm to a PC than one of those one in a billion surges. If you love your PC and other electronics, protect them with a UPS. I also have them installed on my PVR's, TV's and other electronics. I'd hate to lose my new expensive bigscreen LCD TV because I cheaped out with a $5 surge protecter from Wally Mart.

deep.sharks
09-03-2010, 12:09 PM
SH-3 commander for GWX 3.0 gold


GWX3_CFG_for_SH3Commanders.exe
http://www.filefront.com/12815...or-SH3Commanders.exe (http://www.filefront.com/12815500/GWX3-CFG-for-SH3Commanders.exe)

steveh1947
09-04-2010, 10:46 AM
Deep sharks
I have downloaded the Commander file.
Are there any particular instructions for installing it ??

Steve

Kaleun1961
09-04-2010, 10:53 AM
SH3 Commander has its own installation routine, so you do not install it into your SH3 directory. It works "outside" the game, modifying files and then launching the game. Thus you should always use it to launch your game and at the end of each patrol, assign your medals and qualifications, then exit the game. Use SH3 Cmdr. to manage your crew, assign your next patrol zone, etc. and then use it again to launch the game.

If you install GWX, there is a set of special files for that mod. Follow the instructions in the readme file. If you do not use GWX, then simply install SH3 Cmdr. and have at it.

As always, read the instructions carefully; most or all of your questions are already covered.

deep.sharks
09-06-2010, 08:02 AM
yes simplle

install SH-3 commander on your desctop . thats it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif
maybe i see you in GWX . you have dolphins in your GWX missison editor very nice

steveh1947
09-06-2010, 10:55 AM
I have now tried on a couple of occasions to download this file from the link provided above and it does not download properly and keeps giving me a .net error
Are there any other sites i can download it from or does anyone have any other ideas ??

steve

HW3
09-06-2010, 03:53 PM
I tried it and it worked fine. I uploaded it to megaupload for you as filefront sometimes has problems.

Sh3 Commander .cfg files (http://www.megaupload.com/?d=BP9TCR7I)

steveh1947
09-07-2010, 07:23 AM
HW3

That seems to have done the trick
Thanks

Steve

steveh1947
09-07-2010, 10:20 AM
I have run the commander file and it went through the normal set up and has created teh file.
From reading what has been said there should be some sort of a launch buton on the desk top but cannot see one.
i have checked the read me file and that does not appear to give any help on this.
The game works ok from teh normal launch button.
Am i missing somthing of importance or are there any other files i should have down loaded to make it compatable with GWX 3.
I know i am asking a lot of questions but i can not figure this thing out myself

Steve

Kaleun1961
09-07-2010, 01:19 PM
Hmm, you should see a shortcut displayed if you followed the prompt during installation. You could manually create one by navigating to the .exe file and making a desktop shortcut. Or, you might simply reinstall and carefully follow the instructions and say yes if it asks you to create a desktop shortcut.

As well, there is a special set of files you must correctly install if you wish to use SH3 Commander with GWX. You should always use SH3 Cmdr. to start your patrol, then exit SH3 completely. This is necessary in order for SH3 Cmdr. to make the changes to the game files. As well, it is best that you enable the "rollback" button; this way SH3 Cmdr. will "release" the game files in order for you to install mods.

steveh1947
09-08-2010, 02:27 AM
I have had a look for the .exe file and it does not appear to there.
It would suggest that the file i have downloaded is not corect.
I have tried downloading it from file front but that does not work either so downloaded it from megaupload which gave me the file but there is obviously still a problem.

WilhelmSchulz.
09-24-2010, 12:26 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Kaleun1961:
Edit: 3 more posts and I'll hit the 5,000 post milestone, something Celeon hit some time ago. Actually, some of us old hands have many more posts than we currently show. A while back the forum crashed and all members at the time lost credit for previous posts. </div></BLOCKQUOTE> Or when ubi losses your account. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif