PDA

View Full Version : Please help a new SH3 player!



icarusfoundyou
09-09-2010, 05:55 AM
Hi there, I'm a complete newcomer to both this site and the game, so I ask you to be gentle hehe http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I've bought SH3 and installed on my PC running Windows 7 64-bit. I tried to run it after patching to 1.4b but I got the copy protection error. I followed the step by step guides to work around this...

- Upon attempting to remove Starforce is said that there were no protection drivers to remove

- I have also tried using the no DVD fix for 1.4b

- It is a clean install, never started it before (because I can't), no mods, no GWX, nothing.

- I've also tried running it with admin privileges, in compatibility mode etc

Regardless of what I try I can't get past this damn copy protection error saying 'This application can be launched with a release version of Microsoft Windows 95 OSR2.1/98/ME/NT 4.0/2000/XP/Server 2003 ONLY'


I REALLY want to play this game, can anybody help? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

icarusfoundyou
09-09-2010, 05:55 AM
Hi there, I'm a complete newcomer to both this site and the game, so I ask you to be gentle hehe http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I've bought SH3 and installed on my PC running Windows 7 64-bit. I tried to run it after patching to 1.4b but I got the copy protection error. I followed the step by step guides to work around this...

- Upon attempting to remove Starforce is said that there were no protection drivers to remove

- I have also tried using the no DVD fix for 1.4b

- It is a clean install, never started it before (because I can't), no mods, no GWX, nothing.

- I've also tried running it with admin privileges, in compatibility mode etc

Regardless of what I try I can't get past this damn copy protection error saying 'This application can be launched with a release version of Microsoft Windows 95 OSR2.1/98/ME/NT 4.0/2000/XP/Server 2003 ONLY'


I REALLY want to play this game, can anybody help? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

icarusfoundyou
09-09-2010, 06:31 AM
Oh and, yes, I have installed it out of the default area. It is installed in the folder C:\Silent_Hunter3.

(Apologies for the double post)

Celeon999
09-09-2010, 10:58 AM
Hi and welcome aboard http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I think the reason why it tells you that no starforce drivers are installed is because the old starforce version that comes with the original SH3 installation is incompatible with Vista/Windows 7 (32 and 64 bit)

You should try to update your starforce copy protection (http://www.star-force.com/support/drivers/) to the newest version.

deep.sharks
09-09-2010, 12:01 PM
hello icarusfoundyou
Welcome aboard

welcome in SH-3 . I see you soon in silenthunter 3 .
I host every day flotilla missisons .
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Kaleun1961
09-09-2010, 12:48 PM
Rather than updating your StarForce drivers you should install your game via the "no disc" method. Instructions are at the top of the forum page.

Did I mention I hate SF?

PhantomKira
09-09-2010, 12:51 PM
Welcome aboard! We tend not to get overly bent out of shape about double posts, but if you'd like to avoid it, you can click the center yellow folder in the lower right corner of your origional post and edit it.

icarusfoundyou
09-10-2010, 04:21 AM
Hi guys, thanks for the replies http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Celeon999 - I tried that, but it says that there are no protection drivers to update.

Kaeleun1961 - I already tried that, but I still got the copy protection message.

I also tried a suggestion from another thread that went through running the installation, patch and removal tool in XP SP2 compatibility mode, but that didn't work either.


None of this seems to add up...both the removal and update tools for SF reckon there aren't any protection drivers, but I can't even get the damn thing to start... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

To those who are interested and might find it useful, here are my system specs:

Windows 7 Home 64-bit
Intel Core i7 920 2.8Ghz
4Gb Triple Channel DDR3 RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 260
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Audio
2 x 500Gb HDDs (on RAID 0)

Not sure if that has an effect? I should be able to play the game quite easily.

Mittelwaechter
09-10-2010, 10:29 AM
How do you say it's a copy protection error? Does the window title read that? The message itself indicates a compatibility problem.

When did you buy the game? Is it starforced at all? Is it already patched to 1.4b?

icarusfoundyou
09-10-2010, 11:22 AM
Hi there Mittelwaechter

The exact error message is "Error - This application can be launched with a release version of Microsoft Windows 95/OSR2.1/98/ME/NT 4.0/2000/XP/Server 2003 only." I have tried all the aforementioned techniques and they all end up with the same result. This message appears before the game even starts up.

I bought the game about a week ago, it wasn't patched so I had to do that. I don't think it's Starforced but I might be wrong. Every attempt to update or remove the Starforce drivers has prompted the message "There are no protection drivers to update/remove"

Mittelwaechter
09-10-2010, 12:00 PM
Ok - install DirectX9.c, latest version is june 2010.

Some say DX11 includes all the 9c stuff, but I doubt it.
The installation won't harm your system, no DX11 files will be overwritten.
It's worth a try.

Shoot a system restoration point before installing and you should be fine to undo it anytime.

icarusfoundyou
09-10-2010, 12:29 PM
Hmm, that didn't make any difference I'm afraid http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

I know there are some people on this forum running it on Win7 64-bit, so there must be a solution...I just haven't found mine yet.

Celeon999
09-10-2010, 02:02 PM
Ok, ive looked through some other forums and there are lots of people who have the same problem which you have and lots of others who actually can start it on W7/64 without problems but experience a crash problem shortly after the loading screen. But thats a different story.

Problem is that nobody really offers an reliable instruction and i suspect that many of those who say it runs fine for them have W7 32bit and think its 64 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

It seems that SH3 runs without problems on Vista 64bit which is strange as W7 is nothing but the newest version of Vista.


Somebody claimed it would work if you deinstall the game and then reinstall by already launching the install.exe in XP compatability mode, then do the same with the patch.

Effectively with all stuff you start or install in connection with SH3 (mods and so on)

Remember to always check the "run as administrator" box beside that compatability mode.


There is one other thing :

Microsoft offers the Application Compatability Toolkit (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyId=24DA89E9-B581-47B0-B45E-492DD6DA2971&displaylang=en)

They claim that you can run ANY old Windows program on W7 with that one. Problem is that its not user friendly which means its complex, offers dozens of setting of which nearly none are self explanatory.

I once used it to get an old Windows 98 era game working on W7 but i had exact instructions on which settings i had to use.

icarusfoundyou
09-10-2010, 02:25 PM
Celeon999 -

I tried the process of running the installation, patch and any other mods etc in compatibility mode earlier but that didn't change anything.

I followed some steps for using SH3 with the Application Compatibility Toolkit that I found here: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=131431 but that didn't change anything either.

Seeing as this problem is related to to the protection and I'm not suffering black screens like some people (haven't even got that far, hah) this problem must have something to do with the copy protection and its compatibility with my operating system.

EDIT: On the 32-bit version of the Application Compatibility Toolkit, there is a preset for SH3, but that didn't solve the problem either. Clearly, I'm capable of running the game by hook or by crook, providing I can get past these rather mysterious protection drivers.

icarusfoundyou
09-11-2010, 07:32 AM
Here's a little update seeing as I'm coming to the end of my tether now...

*sigh* http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif I have tried literally everything and spent hours scouring the depths of the internet searching for a solution to no avail. As a last resort I have bought a (hopefully) pre-patched and no SF version of the game from Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Silent...id=1284211840&sr=8-2 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Silent-Hunter-III-PC-DVD/dp/B0035ER6F0/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=videogames&qid=1284211840&sr=8-2) - claims to be okay for Vista, so that is a little bit encouraging.

A very big thank you to those who tried to help me, I might be needing you again when the new copy of the game arrives next week http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Kaleun1961
09-11-2010, 10:34 AM
Perhaps it may come down to something as drastic as using system restore to revert to a pre-SH3 installation environment as MW suggested [he's a good chap for tech support], or, if that is not possible, a complete system reformat and reinstallation of W7 to definitely erase any leftovers. I've done it myself to solve a particularly nasty problem. As a matter of fact, I routinely reformat my systems from time to time. To facilitate this, I use Acronis True Image Home to make it quicker. I always keep a "clean" disk image for every system, the OS installed, any applications which require activation, such as Office and updates applied. Data is also backed up regularly, so if I have to pull the plug it is a simple matter of applying an image from backup then restoring any custom apps and data; the process is much quicker than doing it all manually and the systems seem to benefit from it. I don't know what it is about Windows systems that they kludge up over time. Mind you, I haven't done that with my latest W7 system but I have a factory image, OS and apps image and a full system backup every day. In fact, because my notebook has two hard drives, the second one backups the first one every five minutes. All of my desktops have at least two hard drives as well to facilitate backup and recovery. My girls notebooks only have single drives but I have provided them with external USB backup drives for this purpose. I got tired of them crying over lost pictures and data and taught them how to ensure it doesn't happen again. This makes system recovery even faster as I can do a timeline recovery instead of pulling the plug on the whole system. This is great if a Windows Update messes something up, as it has done a couple of times on the family room PC. There is some update which renders IE8 unusable and eliminates the ability to enter text in an email. I suspect it might be a Silverlight issue but I am still working on it.

icarusfoundyou
09-11-2010, 10:47 AM
Yes, I back up everything and ensure everything is at hand if the ol' gal decides to pack it in. I'm very involved with music production so all that just comes as standard really.

I'm hoping that a system restore is the most extreme I have to get and that this version of SH3 I've purchased does the job with a bit of persuasion. Kind of sad when you think about it...it's very poor on the developer's part, I have loads of pre-Windows 98 games that run just as perfectly as they day they were released on my modern set up.

Thanks for the words of wisdom Kaleun, I hope that the next news I have is good news http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Kaleun1961
09-11-2010, 11:13 AM
The problem with SH3 seems mostly to be related to the 32 bit SF drivers trying to be deployed in a 64 bit environment. As well, you can't really fault the game's developers for their game not working with an OS that was not yet invented. I've seen that many times where people gripe, "This game sucks! It doesn't work on my new UberGigaPC." I was apprehensive about getting a W7 system until I read the instructions for installing it on a W7 machine. I prefer 64 bit computing but we are not quite there yet. I have Office 2010; when you install it you have the option of a 32 bit or 64 bit installation. I opted for the 64 bit installation, in spite of the warnings that some addons may not work for the 64 bit version. That didn't bother me, but I had to uninstall it and reinstall it when I added the full version of Outlook [32 bit]. My Office 2010 suite is Home and Student. Microsucks decided to drop Outlook Express from W7 and tries to force everyone into going with their "Live" garbage. I only have the one W7 system at the moment so I decided to go with a single license Outlook. The girl at Best Buy tried to persuade me to go with a full Office suite that includes Outlook, but I had already purchased two 3-license Office 2010's. Why should I pay more for a single license version when I already have six licenses?

To those considering a W7 system: Beware that it no longer includes Outlook Express. You'll have to go with Windows Live Email or a third party email app like Thunderbird. I tried T-bird but could not fully configure it to accept my ISP's server settings, for some bizaare reason. In the end I decided to go with Outlook.

Kaleun1961
09-11-2010, 11:16 AM
Icarus, your avatar is interesting, but it is too small for me to figure out what it is. Could you provide a larger image to satisfy my curiousity?

icarusfoundyou
09-11-2010, 11:38 AM
Here's a link to a much bigger version of the picture: http://deadleafonafence.files....s_byrjun-frontal.jpg (http://deadleafonafence.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/sigur_ros-agaetis_byrjun-frontal.jpg)


It is the album cover of Ágaetus Byrjun by Sigur Rós - the band's 2nd album and one of my all time personal favourites. If they're unfamilar to you - they're a Icelandic post-rock/experimental band and have had a few semi-famous tracks in their time. Now I think about it, I imagine quite a fair bit of that album in question would be very suitable to play alongside a SH3 session! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1vosnN53GFU - maybe?

Kaleun1961
09-11-2010, 12:50 PM
Ah, that's much better. Clever graphic. Thanks for the link; I like to hear music outside of the mainstream that corporate music feeds us.

Mittelwaechter
09-11-2010, 02:42 PM
Ahh - thanks a lot to remind me searching for more Sigur Rós. Stumbled over that music (Hoppipolla) due to 'Planet Earth' and simply got distracted and forgot to get more of that awesome stuff.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...Z_1-Frb8&feature=fvw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LH2Z_1-Frb8&feature=fvw)

icarusfoundyou
09-15-2010, 06:42 AM
UPDATE!

It works! It actually bloody works at last! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif Never did I think I would be so pleased to see a main menu. Looks like the new copy of SH3 I got does the trick and I'm running it with GWX3 and SH Commander.

Thanks to you all, I'll see you again on the forums no doubt, but for now I'm off hunting! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif