PDA

View Full Version : Print mission maps from Briefing screen



XyZspineZyX
08-24-2003, 05:56 AM
It would be really nice if there was a feature to print mission maps from in game at the mission briefing page that included your waypoints and waypoint info (Speed, Alt, Time) so you could fly missions by dead reckoning from the printed map instead of using the in game map. This would make for great full realism missions.


http://www.blarg.net/~Pete/IL2
http://www.blarg.net/~Pete/redbaron.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-24-2003, 05:56 AM
It would be really nice if there was a feature to print mission maps from in game at the mission briefing page that included your waypoints and waypoint info (Speed, Alt, Time) so you could fly missions by dead reckoning from the printed map instead of using the in game map. This would make for great full realism missions.


http://www.blarg.net/~Pete/IL2
http://www.blarg.net/~Pete/redbaron.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-24-2003, 07:27 AM
I think the idea is you print out each map and then get them laminated so you can do the navigation bit properly with a compass and dry wipe marker etc.

XyZspineZyX
08-24-2003, 10:15 PM
Good idea about laminating for maps that are flown often.
It would be nice to print out some quick maps though, especially to make more maps to zoom in on areas like the attack location or the coastline for dead reckoning reference when returning from a long mission over water.
This can be done currently using print screen and then using photo editing software but it is time consuming.



http://www.blarg.net/~Pete/IL2
http://www.blarg.net/~Pete/redbaron.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-25-2003, 03:14 AM
This is easy to achieve using the full mission builder.

Crank up the resolution to 1600x1200 and zoom the map out. Use the Prt Scr key and output the map to Photoshop or similar.

I've got the Moscow, Crimea, Kursk maps as laminated A3 pages. Cost me a few aussie dollars for each.

<center>
Read the <a href=http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm>IL2 FAQ</a>
Got Nimrod? Try the unofficial <A HREF=http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=4&sid=4870c2bc08acb0f130e5e3396d08d595>OT forum</A>

XyZspineZyX
08-25-2003, 06:05 AM
I have most of the maps printed out & laminated as well.

On a related note I'd like to see the mission map used as the background for the loading screen. that way we could be transfering the route & target info while the mission is loading.

Cheers.....Smokin256

XyZspineZyX
08-25-2003, 07:28 AM
Try Hypersnap. You can select any area of the screen to capture, then press a Hot key and it prints out only the cropped area. I have it set up so that all that is printed is the Map in the Mission briefing screen. If you have your printer set in B&W draft mode the whole process is very quick. You get a neat map with all the Tracks on it, ready for your trusty protractor to crunch the headings.

Ps=V(T-D)/W
III/JG11_IvanK

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 05:31 PM
Thanks Ivank!

http://www.blarg.net/~Pete/IL2
http://www.blarg.net/~Pete/redbaron.jpg