PDA

View Full Version : Racing car pedals used as rudder pedals?



NorrisMcWhirter
02-15-2005, 03:54 PM
Hi,

I borrowed some pedals off a pal to see how Il-2 dealt with them. As I suspected, it assigned the entire rudder axis to just one of the pedals that was being pressed - obviously not a desirable outcome.

Is there a way in Il-2/a tool that can permit such pedals to be used?

Pedals were Microsoft attached to a Force Feedback steering wheel (gameport).

Cheers,
Norris

NorrisMcWhirter
02-15-2005, 03:54 PM
Hi,

I borrowed some pedals off a pal to see how Il-2 dealt with them. As I suspected, it assigned the entire rudder axis to just one of the pedals that was being pressed - obviously not a desirable outcome.

Is there a way in Il-2/a tool that can permit such pedals to be used?

Pedals were Microsoft attached to a Force Feedback steering wheel (gameport).

Cheers,
Norris

Oilburner_TAW
02-15-2005, 03:57 PM
It really depends on the drivers for the pedals. I have a Act-Labs Force RS wheel and pedals, and the driver allows me to assign a seperate axis to both pedals or to treat both pedals as a single axis which is what I believe you will need to find. Unfortunately, this is most likely only available in the higher-end wheels (much like a lot of "cool" features are only available on higher end HoTaS setups...).

good luck!

zjulik
02-15-2005, 04:23 PM
Using an obscure set called Destiny PC Wheel. Plugged in game port, added to game controllers as 2 axis, 4 buton joystick. Works brilliantly in the game. Add in lower part of game controls, rudder.

-HH- Beebop
02-15-2005, 05:52 PM
Now see here young man:

http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/sticks.htm

Scroll down to "Some common controller issues and their cures" which addresses how to set up a second controller.

Hope this helps.

NorrisMcWhirter
02-15-2005, 06:03 PM
Crikey - I didn't think that Cloughie would call to me from beyond the grave with a, "Now then, young man" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Thanks chaps - will look into all suggestions.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Cheers,
Norris

p1ngu666
02-15-2005, 06:07 PM
teh lexx_luther uses car pedals http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
i dont, im only comfy sitting on my legs, yes, it is really odd http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

gkll
02-15-2005, 11:23 PM
Norris - all you have to do is go into the game controller menu in windows and set the pedals to "combined" instead of "separate" (referring to the axes) This may also require loading the software for the wheel and pedals.

Sometimes the pedals have a switch as well.

Jasko76
02-16-2005, 01:37 AM
I use Logitech Forcefeedback GP USB racing pedals with excellent results. Have grown so accustomed to them, I'd never be able to steer without them now. Installation was a breeze, just installed Logitech drivers, calibrated controller, started Sturmovik and assigned controlls. Presto!

Art-J
02-16-2005, 01:37 PM
OMG! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif It works! Sorry, gentlemen, I'm just excited. I have read this thread with a great caution, because once I had the same idea: replacing my crappy worn-out Z-axis potentiometer (Logitech here... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif ) with pedals action from Thrustmaster T1. My first wheel driver didn't allow to use combined axis, I thought that's just the way it was... but after reading all suggestions here, I did some searching and found another one! And it works! My new rudder control... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/heart.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/heart.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/heart.gif. Now infamous Logi 3rd potentiometer can kiss my a$$ goodbye http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif. Over and out, time to do some test-flying!

Regards.

NorrisMcWhirter
02-16-2005, 03:03 PM
Hi,

I've tried a few suggestions and it looks like it won't work. The wheel is for the gameport and so is available for autodetect in XP....3.02 drivers (gameport) are not suitable for XP and the 4.0 drivers (suitable for XP) are for the USB version.

There are no options to combine the pedal axes for the driver. If I try to add a 2 axis, 4 button controller with pedals XP ignores it (well, it doesn't, it says that nothing is connected).

I even tried adding a few combinations of 'custom' controllers but this didn't work, either.

Ironic, isn't it? An MS product is relatively incompatible with another MS product.

Cheers for the help, though http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Ta,
Norris

Art-J
02-16-2005, 03:27 PM
Sorry to hear You didn't succeed, mate. Well, I forgot to mention that both my controllers are USB ones and run on original drivers. I guess that's why they can work together without problems. Perhaps in Your case, the gameport wheel is the problem, just like You've noticed... Adding stock "2ax., 4 but. controller with pedals" won't work for sure (I remember trying the same once, without success). I don't know what You can do next. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif Maybe try to borrow USB pedals and check if they would work? Good luck anyway!

Regards.

P.S. - Or maybe... try to post on community help forum! There are more tech-wicked-members there http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

zjulik
02-16-2005, 05:21 PM
They are gameport pedals, as mine are. You probably have two game ports on your rig - one to the mainboard, one to your sound card. My pedals won`t work if I connect them to the soundcard port, so it`s the mainboard port for me. In BIOS I have assigned an address to this port, while disabling onboard sound and midi. This works for me, but for you it may be the other way around.

XP recognizes my set as a Human Interface Device in Device Manager. Device Manager is the first place to look (press yer Windows key and the Pause/Break key simultaneously to get to system controls, then select the hardware tab, and Device Manager). If your set isn`t there, it won`t be seen by Control Panel/Game Controllers either). If it isn`t there, try adding new hardware and play around with the options you get.

- You should also try to locate different drivers.
- Do a troubleshooting search for your set in Google/Groups.
- Remember also that your pedals don`t actually have to show up as Pedals in Game Controllers, to work in IL2. But they do have to show up as something calibrateable.

Don`t give up man! Once you get yer pedals up and running, it`s a whole new game.

gkll
02-16-2005, 05:37 PM
Don't give up quite so quick. First trot down to RadioShack or equivalent and pick up a Gameport to USB converter. Mine cost $10.

Now this may leave you with a problem on which is controller 1 in the windows game controller menu - however if you don't have a force feedback stick and this is a problem (ie the wheel and 'rudders' are controller 1 and it can't be changed...) then you can remap all the functions you want to controller 2. Just no FFB for the stick.

Luck

NorrisMcWhirter
02-17-2005, 05:46 PM
Hi

Thanks for the encouragement http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I can get a gameport to USB converter but I don't like the idea of not having FFB on the stick. That's one issue.

The second issue concerns fiddling with the bios settings for gameports/sound. I'll certainly look into it but I my sound and gameport are both sourced from the motherboard; I don't have an 'external' sound card, so to speak. I can probably borrow one to try this one out - will get back to you on what I find out.

Cheers,
Norris

Udidtoo
02-17-2005, 06:10 PM
I'm sure that you must have tried setting up the pedals by stepping on both of them but on the chance you didn't I thought I'd post this.

I've been using a Logitech Gran Turismo wheel and pedals for a rudder that was built for the PS2 not the computer red colored ones.
When I plug them in a USB port XP Home says "Detected Logitech Wingman Formula Force GP" and I just agree with it. Now here's where I hope it will help you. If you don't step on the right pedal 1st in HOTAS setup it assigns all the rudder to just the left(brake pedal). When I 1st tried it I thought it was a no go but tried it again stepping on the right one 1st and presto rudder pedals. I have used them with both a MSFF2 X45 combo and the X45 alone and never a problem thru both a Compaq and the homebuilt rig I use now.

goshikisen
02-17-2005, 06:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NorrisMcWhirter:
Hi

Thanks for the encouragement http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I can get a gameport to USB converter but I don't like the idea of not having FFB on the stick. That's one issue.
Cheers,
Norris <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Norris,

I had the same reservations about loss of FFB when I went from a Logitech FFB stick to a CH Fighterstick. Felt a bit odd at first but after a while I got used to it. The playability improvement via CH far outweighs the lack of FFB.

I use the pedals from my Logitech MOMO wheel set in combination with my CH Fighterstick and ProThrottle (both USB). It makes for a great combination. If the USB adapter isn't overly expensive you might want to try it just to see what the pedals are like.

Cheers, Goshikisen.

Wildcat_zero
02-18-2005, 07:26 AM
Hi

I used momo force feedback and got the pedels to use with il2 etc works like a dream.

NorrisMcWhirter
02-18-2005, 12:05 PM
Hi,

I managed to get hold of a gameport to USB converter (Sitecom) but, typically, it doesn't work, either.

I dug around a bit and found some 'disgruntled' customers who had posted to their now-shut-down-forum regarding the adaptor not working with MS FFB wheels or joysticks as they are digital (doesn't say anything about that on the box). So, unless someone does a special adaptor for converting MS digital gameport devices to USB then it's a no-goer.

zjulik: I've not yet tried your suggestion but can I ask whether you have a MS FFB wheel (& pedals) before I begin?

As I suspect that the pedals etc are analogue and are a-to-d'd in the wheel, the last resort would be to take the pedals apart, frig the wiring to enable the output of the pots to be a "single axis" then to get this signal into the gameport somehow and set it up as a custom device.

What a pain in the ****!

Cheers,
Norris

gkll
02-18-2005, 03:19 PM
Well I had to frig around a lot before I got analogue pedals (CH) working with a MS FFB2 USB stick (my rig, along with mouse view).

Anyway it is sometimes surprizing the stuff you learn. For example the original game port converter I tried didn't work, the second did (different makes). And the problems with FFB only occur if when you do get the wheel and pedals detected they insist on being controller one - various timings of when you plug stuff in can change this sometimes.

Another option is to plug the pedals directly into the USB converter (if this can be done - how do they connect to the wheel? In a lot of older rigs they plug in to a gameport coming off the wheel cable). When using the (right) USB converter it won't matter that there is only one axis, you can calibrate just the axis that you have and flip through the rest. Of course if you can't get a single axis out of the pedals anyway it'll never work. I have a couple of sets of MS sidewinder wheels/pedal (USB, passive) and they allow separate or combined pedal axes as most wheel/pedal combos do, some software requires single axis.

Lav69
02-18-2005, 06:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by p1ngu666:
teh lexx_luther uses car pedals http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
i dont, im only comfy sitting on my legs, yes, it is really odd http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

wtf???!!!

claypidgon
02-18-2005, 07:48 PM
BUMP!!!!!!!!!

My Logitech Momo pedals have a small plug that plugs into the wheel not the gameport.Is there an adapter to plug them into USB?

claypidgon
02-19-2005, 08:10 AM
BUMP!!!!!! No one going to answer this question for me?????

NorrisMcWhirter
02-19-2005, 09:34 AM
Hi,

Presumably your wheel is gameport? If so, if it's analogue, it would work.

As to the USB adaptor, I took it back. It'd be easier (and quicker) for me to make a rudder bar with a pot and a gameport connector.

Ta,
norris

claypidgon
02-19-2005, 09:39 AM
HMMMMMM!!!!Too bad no one will answer my post..http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif...Guess I dont need pedals anyway....

gkll
02-19-2005, 09:53 AM
a lot of us only look at the site once every couple of days so no need for the hysterical BUMP!!!!!! mr pidgeon

anyway "small plug" is remarkably uninformative... if it looks like a telephone plug then nothing but a long drawn out saga with old phone cables and trashed joystick cables, plus a USB adapter, is going to work, probably taking hours to sort the wires out.

If none of what I just said brings up mental pictures of black tape and wire stripping then I wouldn't try it. Also be sure that the pedals can operate as one axis with a mechanical switch or at the end you may be stuck with 'rudder pedals' that only operate on one pedal...

zjulik
02-19-2005, 09:59 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by claypidgon:
BUMP!!!!!!!!!

My Logitech Momo pedals have a small plug that plugs into the wheel not the gameport.Is there an adapter to plug them into USB? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
claypidgon - just leave the wheel as it is. Pedals in wheel, wheel in pc. You`ll have a hard time finding a way to connect the pedals directly. And it isn`t necessary either.
Install pedals+wheel set, calibrate pedals, add them in controls in IL2. Place wheel somewhere out of wayhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

claypidgon
02-19-2005, 02:17 PM
You mean you guys dont sit in front of your computers 24/7 like I do!!!!I'm crushed....http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gifOk thanks for the answers..Too much trouble,I'll wait until I can get some regular pedals...