PDA

View Full Version : Help with forgotten battles!



sabre-wolf1979
09-05-2005, 05:54 PM
Hey guys im having a slight problem, ive started a campaign and everything is going great, but having completed a few missions i have changed aircraft to the I-16 type 18, and it seems that the landing gear "G" will not operate, and i have to either put it into autopilot to get it to retract, or do the long slow manual gear, does anyone know how to solve this, it appears to ony happen on the I-16 type 18, as i have not com across it before and the "G" key works with the other aircraft. any advice you caould give would be excellent thanks.

ps i have patched to 1.22, and no mods downloaded/installed.

sabre-wolf1979
09-05-2005, 05:54 PM
Hey guys im having a slight problem, ive started a campaign and everything is going great, but having completed a few missions i have changed aircraft to the I-16 type 18, and it seems that the landing gear "G" will not operate, and i have to either put it into autopilot to get it to retract, or do the long slow manual gear, does anyone know how to solve this, it appears to ony happen on the I-16 type 18, as i have not com across it before and the "G" key works with the other aircraft. any advice you caould give would be excellent thanks.

ps i have patched to 1.22, and no mods downloaded/installed.

FritzGryphon
09-05-2005, 05:57 PM
I-16 has only manual gear. It's correct.

Be thankful, the real mechanism is a lot more complicated than just pressing a key over and over http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

carguy_
09-05-2005, 05:58 PM
I would flame you right away for not looking into info if I16 historically really had auto gear mechanism if I didn`t ask exactly the same question 3 years ago. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Answer:I16 does not have auto geaar.Manual only.Also on the Wildcat.

Kuna15
09-05-2005, 06:42 PM
Also take a look at the README file.

Here is the useful link for you
http://www.il2sturmovik.com/forgotten_battles/fb_features.php

sabre-wolf1979
09-05-2005, 07:03 PM
thx guys, new here an waiting for the ACES add-on. have to say that on "perfect"settings the game is simply stunning, and the flight model is nice. however i cant get the hang of trimming at all , press CTRL+left arrow an nothing seems to happen, anyone have some noobie tips for trimming as i like to fly bomber and need perfect speed and course for formation and bombing.

ps its getting late so i'll read any suggestions y'all have tommorrow, any help is appreciated, im getting hang of just bought all apart from trimming etc.

Taylortony
09-06-2005, 01:22 AM
what they seemed to have missed telling you is, you need to go into the hotas set up window and set 2 keys to lower and raise the gear then press them repeatedly to get it to come up or down... trim requires tiou press it several time then it has a lag as it takes effect, on my x45 stick i have the rotary thumb wheels set as elevator and aileron trim so it just takes a little push every now and then to level it all up http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Kuna15
09-06-2005, 01:52 AM
Check this site also. You can raise lower it thru console commands.
http://scripts.sturmovik.de/html/scripts.html

carguy_
09-06-2005, 01:55 AM
Trim is increased gradually o at first you will not notice a big difference.AFAIK people set trim by "clicking" a certain trim assigned button enough times to get a desired result.

Try to press and hold CTRL+UP you`ll see after 5secs of holding your plane will go down by itself.

Oh and some planes don`t have rudder trim.

Tully__
09-06-2005, 02:29 AM
Trim wont increase at all in the I-16. In addition to manually cranked only gear, it had no in flight trim adjustment. You'll also find that many other aircraft have only elevator trim or only elevator & rudder trim.

sabre-wolf1979
09-06-2005, 08:25 AM
again thx for the tips guys, maybe see you in the skys one day, when i master this.

one question.............can we do co-op missions where like i am can go a bomber an human pilots have to protect me against a computer controlled AI or even another human enemy??

what multiplayer are y'all on (ie ACES add-on??) as i play most games for its online multiplay, and have taken a liking to this game (cant believe its taken me this long to get a copy!) but didnt know the terrain had been overhauled and i was expecting dull flat, lifeless areas, instead what i get is hills/mountainous uneven terrain, this game trully does rock. and with BoB2 out with the terrain im speaking of then IL2 has nothing to fear.

Taylortony
09-06-2005, 11:07 AM
On coop missions online you can have people as gunners and pilots in the same plane and have real or AI planes attacking you, You can tell the real pilots, they're the ones that have no Intelligence http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Hyperlobby has lots of games on, often hundreds of pilots, the thing is you will be limited to games to run online unless you get the AEP (ACES)add on AND the PF add on as most games are for the merged version of all 3... The advantages are you will get literally loads of new planes like corsairs, hellcats, zeros, spitfires, seafires, b25's and Aircraft Carriers with all that entails, folding wings, opening canopies, arrester hooks http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif and even more maps, oh did I mention V1 missiles to tip over inflight too? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

One thing if its not arrived make sure the ACES on order is the add on and NOT the ACES mission/ campaign disc another company has done.

sabre-wolf1979
09-06-2005, 11:24 AM
this is what i have on order from play.com http://play.com/play247.asp?pa=search&searchtype=PC&sea...s+add+on&page=search (http://play.com/play247.asp?pa=search&searchtype=PC&searchstring=a ces+add+on&page=search)

hope its the right one, or i may have to invest a few more pennies. thank you for the new info as i didnt know that all the games merged into a massive library of planes maps ETC, is this performed by simply installing to the IL2 folder?, can i then use airplanes from pacific figters in the forgotten battles campaign or are they only for online multiplay??

Taylortony
09-06-2005, 12:40 PM
CANCEL IT.. IT IS THE WRONG ONE.. IT IS NOT AEP
it is just some campaigns and some skins on a disk nothing new....

Aep installs straight over FB from the disk once that is on and you get Pacific Fighter when you go to install that game for the first time it allows you the choice of either installing it as a standalone of as a Merged version, this then gives you all of the planes and maps from FB AEP and PF PF as a standalone does not give you any of the european maps etc

Each one patches the game so AEP puts the FB patches on PF puts the AEP patches on then all you need to add are the patches that came out for PF

Kuna15
09-06-2005, 12:47 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Taylortony:
it is just some campaigns and some skins on a disk nothing new. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

What he said.

Also follow this link
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00014WM9...&s=software&n=507846 (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00014WM9W/qid=1126032611/sr=8-3/ref=pd_bbs_3/103-6775377-9723849?v=glance&amp;s=software&amp;n=507846)

Taylortony
09-06-2005, 12:52 PM
this is the correct disk but you will wait months getting it off amazon.... as some found out.. I am reading it that you are in the uk.
They actual seem to have stopped selling AEP that is why it is scarce...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B0001D1RUI/ref.../026-9375575-0352438 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B0001D1RUI/ref=pd_bxgy_text_2_cp/026-9375575-0352438)

have you ever used ebay before?

if so

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/IL-2-Sturmovik-Forgotten-Battles-...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/IL-2-Sturmovik-Forgotten-Battles-ACE-EXPANSION-PACK-NEU_W0QQitemZ5237589382QQcategoryZ21935QQrdZ1QQcmd ZViewItem)

err I have bought a couple of copies so if it goes alright i will sell it to you at the price listed on there plus postage etc or you can but it direct from them... manual will be in german though lol

sabre-wolf1979
09-07-2005, 08:33 AM
yeah man, **** right its the wrong one, this doesnt even load up on my system. every time i try and load a campaign it says "error loading map", ive only installed IL2-FB, patched to v1.22, installed Aces campaign, patched to v1.01

but cant play it, has anyone exparience this or similar and knoiw how to fix, its frustrating as my IL2 was fine and played in "perfect" detail mode.

Taylortony
09-07-2005, 12:11 PM
It propbably wont run correctly as it is looking for AEP and the maps off that which you do not have... I think it requires FB and AEP... As said I have ordered a couple of copies of Ebay of AEP do you want to but one off me for the cost it costs me? the manual will be german but it will work ok... that said i could bung the english manual on a pdf file for it too.... I am in the UK

All i can say is you will probably have to reinstall FB if you cant get it to work or try putting patch 1.22 back over it... IF YOU DO REINSTALL if you have the patch zip file saved in the game folder REMOVE IT FIRST or you will lose it on the install, same if you have loads of skins copy the skin folder etc and missions campaigns etc.......

Sucks though dont it... people naming the **** thing so close to the name of the add on cd to drum up sales and mess people about http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

sabre-wolf1979
09-07-2005, 02:39 PM
thx man, i have AEP ordered from amazon and gonna buy PF from play.com later, the AEP should be here in about 6 days.

ps. it was too late to cancel aces campaign, so i jus thought **** but ok was only 5 pounds.

thx again for your patience with a noob and taking the time, good forum!!

Xiolablu3
09-07-2005, 04:30 PM
Great name Sabre Wulf!!

You are taking me back to my first computer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif A rubber keyed 48k Spectrum when I was 10 years old.

Ultimate - Play the Game, what a company! Now Rare I believe (goldeneye, timesplitters).