PDA

View Full Version : RN Seafire

noworld
11-09-2005, 05:03 PM
Hey, I'm still a newbie so please understand my diificulty.

I've been trying to get the hang of landing on a carrier. I can't seem to get the smoothness, especially at low speeds, that the training videos seem to have. I can land a Wildcat more often than not, but I was giving the Seafire ago and it is INSANELY twitchy. How do they get it to be so silky smooth on the video? Do I need a better joystick map? What are some of the solutions to low speed control and/or techniques for carrier landings that the more experienced flyers have come up with.

With the Seafire, I have maybe a 20-25% success rate getting it on the carrier in one piece, and even when I do... its UGLY.

noworld
11-09-2005, 05:03 PM
Hey, I'm still a newbie so please understand my diificulty.

I've been trying to get the hang of landing on a carrier. I can't seem to get the smoothness, especially at low speeds, that the training videos seem to have. I can land a Wildcat more often than not, but I was giving the Seafire ago and it is INSANELY twitchy. How do they get it to be so silky smooth on the video? Do I need a better joystick map? What are some of the solutions to low speed control and/or techniques for carrier landings that the more experienced flyers have come up with.

With the Seafire, I have maybe a 20-25% success rate getting it on the carrier in one piece, and even when I do... its UGLY.

Pig_Mac
11-09-2005, 05:48 PM
Try landing a Zero a few times and the seafire will feel like on autopilot http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

It seems like the wildcat is a tamecat compared to most other planes when carrier landing.

There are no ugly carrier landings as long as the gear is still attatched and the propeller have most of it's blades left.

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2005, 06:57 PM