PDA

View Full Version : Need some help with the Warden

Lightly__Salted
05-10-2018, 02:02 PM
I know there are better classes, but the Warden looks cool okay? Nothing wrong with maining a character because of their style, right?

So, i'm new to the game. Pretty new in fact, I bought it while it was 8 on steam less than a week back. I don't think I'm doing too bad, I can definitely tell I've got a long way to go, and I feel like if I wanna get there i've got a lot of frustration ahead.

For Warden, I'm learning the different combos to use and when to use them (Or i'm trying to at least), but I keep having issues with this. Different characters just seem immune to certain things, sometimes my guard break literally does absolutely nothing even tho it clearly hit them and it just makes me vulnerable. Sometimes it doesn't even last long enough to pull a combo off. Shoulder charge stuns the enemy for about half a second and they're back up again, which gives me no time to attack. Sometimes I get hit with blockable attacks that I simply cannot block. I've had no explanation as to how to properly parry, as at the moment it just seems random. And the Warden can counter top attacks with a top light attack? That's gotten me killed a few times.

I have a feeling the matchmaker is slightly to blame for this, i'm being thrown into the deep end against players who I can only assume have been playing this game for a year. Sometimes pulling off perfect chains of attack that I have no chance to defend myself against. As a new player, learning is much easier when playing against people of the same level, then gradually increasing as my skill increases. Not being thrown against players who are "on-par" with me but actually have 10 times the experience I have.