PDA

View Full Version : OT: New Hyperlobby



ATLAS_DEATH
04-10-2006, 04:09 PM
I didn't see it posted... but there is a new version out today.

Hyper Lobby (http://hyperfighter.sk/)

ATLAS_DEATH
04-10-2006, 04:09 PM
I didn't see it posted... but there is a new version out today.

Hyper Lobby (http://hyperfighter.sk/)

Megile_
04-10-2006, 04:23 PM
Its a bit small... looks like when I set my rez to 1900 *

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/sadeyes.gif

Bearcat99
04-10-2006, 04:24 PM
Bumpalicious....

Dew-Claw
04-10-2006, 06:38 PM
Oooo
Your supposted to be able to set it up so if your running a server on your lLAN you can join it thru Hyperlobby!

Now when I'm playing on my server thru the LAN I'll be listed as a player in Hyperlobby.

I'm as giddy as a school girl!

AFJ_Locust
04-10-2006, 06:48 PM
Does anyone know where the registery stuff is for HL

I cant uninstall the old hl with windows add/remove, somehow I changed the directory at somepoint, I deleted the old HL folder & Installed NEW

Now it cant work with my fireglow skin http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif((

PF_Coastie
04-10-2006, 09:04 PM
Shoulda just installed over the old one.

System restore?

panzerd18
04-10-2006, 10:17 PM
so dont uninstall the old one?

PF_Coastie
04-10-2006, 10:44 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by panzerd18:
so dont uninstall the old one? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

no, it will simply overwrite like files.

Troll2k
04-10-2006, 10:55 PM
I have never had a server/client problem.I have my 2.04 server and my game machine on my lan.I have always been able to join my server through HyperLobby or through my lan.I always used HyperLobby though to make sure the internet connection was good and the player count was correct.

Ps.I also had the heartbeat disabled so it did not show in Gamespy Arcade or All Seeing Eye.(to keep player count corrrect in HL)

T_O_A_D
04-10-2006, 11:04 PM
Same here troll , but this heartbeat you speak of, How do you do that?

Tully__
04-11-2006, 02:08 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by T_O_A_D:
Same here troll , but this heartbeat you speak of, How do you do that? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Games who's developers wish the game to be visible on the Gamespy service emit a heartbeat when running as a server. This is a single packet once every minute or so telling the Gamespy servers where to find the game while it's running.

You can disable it by redirecting the packets. Assuming your operating system is installed on your C: drive, look in
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc for a file named "hosts". Open it in Notepad.

At the bottom of the file add the line:

127.0.0.1 master.gamespy.com

then save and exit.

This file is used by windows to save on DNS requests. As a result of adding that line, any packets directed to master.gamespy.com will go to 127.0.0.1 instead of the real address. 127.0.0.1 is the machine on which that address is used, regardless of the actaul IP. As there is no application listening for the Gamespy heartbeat on your machine, the packet will simply be discarded when the game tries to send it.

Prop_Strike
04-11-2006, 03:16 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Megile_:
Its a bit small... looks like when I set my rez to 1900 *

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/sadeyes.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Go to your Hyperlobby folder, open up hlpro.ini, and change the scale under "Resize multiplier for HL window".

You are probably set to 1, which is for 800x600 res. Change it to 1.25 or 1.5.

Cajun76
04-11-2006, 03:17 AM
Tully, just how long have you been waiting to answer that particular question!? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

Tully__
04-11-2006, 03:25 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Cajun76:
Tully, just how long have you been waiting to answer that particular question!? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
'bout 4 years http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

GreyBeast
04-11-2006, 12:05 PM
Tully!

At the risk (once again) of being called a fanboy (which I am, actually):

YOU DA MAN!!!!!!

Troll2k
04-11-2006, 12:37 PM
Tully:

That used to work great.But here recently I looked at ASE and my server was listed.I believe they have changed server scanners.

I need the new scanner name.

JG27_Hyper
04-11-2006, 12:47 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Megile_:
Its a bit small... looks like when I set my rez to 1900 *

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/sadeyes.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Do uou know the "/max" command ? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

JG27_Hyper
04-11-2006, 12:48 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by AFJ_Locust:
Does anyone know where the registery stuff is for HL

I cant uninstall the old hl with windows add/remove, somehow I changed the directory at somepoint, I deleted the old HL folder & Installed NEW

Now it cant work with my fireglow skin http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif(( </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Download the hot update (3.8.101) fixing this problem http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Copperhead310th
04-11-2006, 03:41 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by JG27_Hyper:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Megile_:
Its a bit small... looks like when I set my rez to 1900 *

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/sadeyes.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Do uou know the "/max" command ? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

thanks Jiri..i actaully for got that command my self and was asking on hl last night. lol.

TheGozr
04-11-2006, 04:00 PM
Well Tully no "hosts" file there.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

AFJ_Locust
04-11-2006, 05:21 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by JG27_Hyper:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by AFJ_Locust:
Does anyone know where the registery stuff is for HL

I cant uninstall the old hl with windows add/remove, somehow I changed the directory at somepoint, I deleted the old HL folder & Installed NEW

txu

Now it cant work with my fireglow skin http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif(( </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Download the hot update (3.8.101) fixing this problem http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Tully__
04-11-2006, 10:26 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by TheGozr:
Well Tully no "hosts" file there.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Make sure you have windows set to shown hidden and system files, it may be a hidden file.

If it's missing I suppose you could try creating it, it's just a text file (but without the .txt extension). The default contents on a clean Windows install is as follows:

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
# Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

127.0.0.1 localhost</pre>

Save as:

C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

All the lines starting with hash marks could be ommited if you want, they're just comments for information purposes.

TheGozr
04-12-2006, 01:06 AM
ok got it thx Tully http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif good to know

AFJ_Locust
04-12-2006, 01:26 AM
Download the hot update (3.8.101)

That fixedme up thx

appulluk
04-12-2006, 04:26 AM
Just tried it tonight, too bad nobody was in IL-2 room, I only have the demo and would love to multiplay.

Tully__
04-12-2006, 06:27 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Troll2k:
Tully:

That used to work great.But here recently I looked at ASE and my server was listed.I believe they have changed server scanners.

I need the new scanner name. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
My firewall isn't seeing any traffic for Gamespy on a short hosting test. It's also not seeing any traffic for IL2FB... I may need to investigate my router port forwarding and test further, I'm not sure it's set up, but the firewall should still see attempts to send the heartbeat. I shall investigate further as time permits.