PDA

View Full Version : Kobin's Mansion - Random Freeze



HaraNaito
05-15-2010, 01:17 AM
Greetings, everyone. I'm FNG here. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

I have an issue with Splinter Cell: Conviction. At Kobin's Mansion level, I'm always getting freeze at random points. This is so annoying since this bug/glitch prevents me from advancing to the next level/mission. I have no problem with FPS or any other things like online DRM, not even any crash.

Here's my spec:

i7 975 3.33 GHz
8GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 295 SLI
X-Fi Titanium

I've tried running the game with both all settings maxed out (1600x1200, all graphic settings set to max, Anisotropy 16x, AA 4x) and all settings turned off (1600x1200, all graphic settings set to low, Anisotropy and AA off) but still encountering freezing at random point.

It's weird, because I had no problem with the previous level (Merchant's Street Market) and this freezing occured only in Kobin's Mansion (haven't played Deniable Ops thoroughly but so far everything about it is great). I've tried using the retail/unpatched version and patch v1.02 but the freezing still occurs. Is there anyone can help me with this? I appreciate it.

HaraNaito
05-15-2010, 01:17 AM
Greetings, everyone. I'm FNG here. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

I have an issue with Splinter Cell: Conviction. At Kobin's Mansion level, I'm always getting freeze at random points. This is so annoying since this bug/glitch prevents me from advancing to the next level/mission. I have no problem with FPS or any other things like online DRM, not even any crash.

Here's my spec:

i7 975 3.33 GHz
8GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 295 SLI
X-Fi Titanium

I've tried running the game with both all settings maxed out (1600x1200, all graphic settings set to max, Anisotropy 16x, AA 4x) and all settings turned off (1600x1200, all graphic settings set to low, Anisotropy and AA off) but still encountering freezing at random point.

It's weird, because I had no problem with the previous level (Merchant's Street Market) and this freezing occured only in Kobin's Mansion (haven't played Deniable Ops thoroughly but so far everything about it is great). I've tried using the retail/unpatched version and patch v1.02 but the freezing still occurs. Is there anyone can help me with this? I appreciate it.

kape301
05-15-2010, 05:01 AM
Possible issue could be with the system file for the associated particular section of the game. You may need to reinstall the suite and then check out for the thing again. I hope you may the be able to get sort of the issue. So check out.

HaraNaito
05-15-2010, 07:48 AM
Hi, thanks for the reply. Actually I forgot to mention: I always use a clean installation of Windows to play a game. Prior to installing Conviction, I reformatted and reinstalled Windows and all drivers, and then installed the game. I've tried this several times already, but none was working. The game still froze at random points and I don't know what's wrong with my system. This is the first game and probably the only game that seems to be incompatible with my system. I've played many games with high requirements before (the latest were Assassin's Creed 2 and The Settlers 7) but all of them were running great on my system.

And no, the patch didn't fix the freeze.

Thanks for the tip though. Do you have any suggestion of what should I do?

dontos
05-15-2010, 02:30 PM
Make sure you are not overclocking anything. This game seems to be especially unstable to overclocking. Freezing is a form of crashing, by the way.

I had a recurring crash issue that turned out to be due to overclocking of my memory controller from 800 to 1066, even though memory itself is rated to run at 1066.

HaraNaito
05-15-2010, 04:20 PM
Wow, never thought of that. None of my hardwares is in overclocked status, but thanks for the helpful tip. I'll keep this in mind. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

But still, even with standard (non-overclock) core the freeze wouldn't go away. And what's wrong with this Kobin's Mansion anyway? It's so very annoying, especially since it's random, and it seems like I'm stuck with this level forever and can't advance! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

dontos
05-15-2010, 04:50 PM
You should contact Ubi Support (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/enduser/std_alp.php). To save time, I recommend uploading a DxDiag and MSINFO32 file when you open your ticket.

HaraNaito
05-16-2010, 12:38 AM
I forgot something (again http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif). I've tried the CTRL-ALT-DEL trick other member posted in this forum and it worked. But I doubt this will really fix this issue. I mean what's wrong with this? I thought it was a complete lockup. I mean I couldn't turn the camera, the graphic froze yet the music played, so I thought it was system lockup. But after I bring the Task Manager and close it and get back to the game, everything suddenly ran fine again, until another freeze kicked in randomly (again). http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

I was going to file a support request, but after the patch failed and I barely read any reply from dev team members here, I'm losing faith in Ubi. I think I want to hear from you guys instead. Maybe I may ask them if they willing to listen and to treat their customers seriously. Thanks! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Any suggestions/advice are very welcome here.