PDA

View Full Version : How do you change the speed to mph?!



ACESHIGH7772008
08-15-2008, 08:31 PM
This has been bugging me for awhile now, so anyone know how to change it? You know, the gauge in the bottom left hand corner. PLeaseeee respond!

Thanks!

Regards,
Nate

ACESHIGH7772008
08-15-2008, 08:31 PM
This has been bugging me for awhile now, so anyone know how to change it? You know, the gauge in the bottom left hand corner. PLeaseeee respond!

Thanks!

Regards,
Nate

berg417448
08-15-2008, 08:48 PM
Assign a key to "Toggle Speed Bar" in Controls. You can scroll from Kph, to Knots, to Mph.

ACESHIGH7772008
08-15-2008, 08:57 PM
OHHH! God, thankyou. And one more thing... how do you switch to look through the bombsight? Shift-F1 doesn't work... So what button could I assign to it? What's it called?

Regards,
Nate

Jaws2002
08-15-2008, 09:07 PM
First togle crew positions until you are in the bombardier position(usually first station after pilot), then Shift+F1.

ACESHIGH7772008
08-15-2008, 10:07 PM
lol. Didn't I say shift-F1 DIDN'T work for me? I must've deleted that control option somewhere in the process of setting up my Saitek X52 joystick.... Not that I'm bragging or anything... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Tully__
08-16-2008, 09:17 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ACESHIGH7772008:
lol. Didn't I say shift-F1 DIDN'T work for me? I must've deleted that control option somewhere in the process of setting up my Saitek X52 joystick.... Not that I'm bragging or anything... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
On heavy bombers, the bombsight will be black until it stabilises. If you've been manouvering heavily, stabilisation can take a minute or two, just fly straight and level until the thing kicks in.

If you're in a dive bomber with a "telescopic" sight, you may need Ctrl-D to remove the protective covers.

h009291
08-17-2008, 02:58 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by berg417448:
Assign a key to "Toggle Speed Bar" in Controls. You can scroll from Kph, to Knots, to Mph. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Wow ... I've had this for 8 years and never knew you could do this. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Quelty
08-17-2008, 03:44 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ACESHIGH7772008:
And one more thing... how do you switch to look through the bombsight? Shift-F1 doesn't work... So what button could I assign to it? What's it called?

</div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ingame go into controls and down near the bottom of the "Views" section is Toggle Gunsight - assign a key or key combo to that and that should get ya going.

Cheers

DeerHunterUK
08-17-2008, 04:03 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by h009291:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by berg417448:
Assign a key to "Toggle Speed Bar" in Controls. You can scroll from Kph, to Knots, to Mph. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Wow ... I've had this for 8 years and never knew you could do this. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

In the original IL-2 you couldn't change it, as a result I still find myself using KPH.

ACESHIGH7772008
08-17-2008, 08:53 PM
Cool, thanks everyone. All the replies helped, and I'm now up and running. But, I'm still wondering on how you use the bombsight. I know about all the parts and stuff, but I don't now how to hit the target right on. Usually I miss it about a quarter mile or so.... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif Anybody have a good video tutorial on it? Perhaps a long one too? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

KrashanTopolova
08-17-2008, 08:58 PM
Only partly relevant to the question but today, the international standard in use for measuring aeronautical quantities is ft (feet) for altitude and KIAS (knots indicated airspeed) for IAS (Indicated Airspeed). Metres are generally used for indicating horizontal distance in the air. The equivalence to naval operations which also take place in a fluid is apparent from the terms 'aeroNautical' and 'Nautical' miles used as the measurement of distance over the ocean.

If you use il-2 as a flight simulator and trainer it is helpful to stick to KIAS and ft.

Some WW2 aircraft (eg Spitfire) have flight instruments and settings calibrated to mph.

The Speedbar is only an approximation between units (kmh, mph, KIAS). This means for example, you can be slowing down from 110 KIAS for a period while in the same period the Speedbar mph setting can in fact be measuring your slowing airspeed more accurately to the unit.

WTE_Galway
08-18-2008, 12:32 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by KrashanTopolova:
Only partly relevant to the question but today, the international standard in use for measuring aeronautical quantities is ft (feet) for altitude and KIAS (knots indicated airspeed) for IAS (Indicated Airspeed). Metres are generally used for indicating horizontal distance in the air. The equivalence to naval operations which also take place in a fluid is apparent from the terms 'aeroNautical' and 'Nautical' miles used as the measurement of distance over the ocean.

If you use il-2 as a flight simulator and trainer it is helpful to stick to KIAS and ft.

Some WW2 aircraft (eg Spitfire) have flight instruments and settings calibrated to mph.

The Speedbar is only an approximation between units (kmh, mph, KIAS). This means for example, you can be slowing down from 110 KIAS for a period while in the same period the Speedbar mph setting can in fact be measuring your slowing airspeed more accurately to the unit. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The reason KIAS is standard in many countries in real life is probably that Knots and Nautical Miles are directly related to navigation and the system of latitude and longitude.

One minute of longitude at the equator is equal to 1 nautical mile. One minute of latitude anywhere is also one nautical mile. It makes for simple "rule of thumb" navigation.

Now whilst the meter also originally related in some fashion to the circumference of the earth the relationship is not one that is immediately useful.

As for Miles, yards, feet, inches, furlongs, chains links and all the other mess of imperial units .. they are not related to anything in particular and were basically made up as people went along.

Quelty
08-18-2008, 01:23 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ACESHIGH7772008:
Cool, thanks everyone. All the replies helped, and I'm now up and running. But, I'm still wondering on how you use the bombsight. I know about all the parts and stuff, but I don't now how to hit the target right on. Usually I miss it about a quarter mile or so.... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif Anybody have a good video tutorial on it? Perhaps a long one too? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Try here http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&c=547

Cheers

Quelty