PDA

View Full Version : OT. cumputer help



general_kalle
11-03-2006, 02:12 PM
HELP

hi. ive been messing with a problem for half year or something now.

i know it sounds funny but i cant quite remember how it started, i just remember that i had another problem which forced me to reinstall windows XP.

installed windows XP... works just fine. until about a month later it shows a blue screen saying a file is missing.

okay reinstall...same thing happens.
okay something is wrong with the hardwere.
first i change the hardisk to another... it runs for quite a while but underway it keeps getting a small messege in the buttom right corner " file is missing" and if i restart then check disk comes up and repairs the problem. it runs like that for a month but then the same blue screen as earlyer mentioned uccors, the computer is able to start in safe mode. maneged to get it set back in time(xp feature) and then i try to install service pack 2 for windows xp in hope that it will get better... but it didnt . instead it became relly relly slow. akting like a 50 megahertz or something and im not joking! maybe its because some crucial files are missing

after yet a reinstall this time of windows 2000 it runs until for some time until a few days ago.
the check disk came up during start up and again it. i ran check disk and replaced some files.

do you guys have any idea of what it is.

i guess its a hardware problem as all my sofware has run before with out problems.

ram, mainbord? something else???

my ""story"" might not be totally true is i dont remember evrything... but it is a bit like that.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

what have you got to lose?
You know, you come from nothing - you're going back to nothing.
What have you lost? Nothing!) -life of Brian

general_kalle
11-03-2006, 02:12 PM
HELP

hi. ive been messing with a problem for half year or something now.

i know it sounds funny but i cant quite remember how it started, i just remember that i had another problem which forced me to reinstall windows XP.

installed windows XP... works just fine. until about a month later it shows a blue screen saying a file is missing.

okay reinstall...same thing happens.
okay something is wrong with the hardwere.
first i change the hardisk to another... it runs for quite a while but underway it keeps getting a small messege in the buttom right corner " file is missing" and if i restart then check disk comes up and repairs the problem. it runs like that for a month but then the same blue screen as earlyer mentioned uccors, the computer is able to start in safe mode. maneged to get it set back in time(xp feature) and then i try to install service pack 2 for windows xp in hope that it will get better... but it didnt . instead it became relly relly slow. akting like a 50 megahertz or something and im not joking! maybe its because some crucial files are missing

after yet a reinstall this time of windows 2000 it runs until for some time until a few days ago.
the check disk came up during start up and again it. i ran check disk and replaced some files.

do you guys have any idea of what it is.

i guess its a hardware problem as all my sofware has run before with out problems.

ram, mainbord? something else???

my ""story"" might not be totally true is i dont remember evrything... but it is a bit like that.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

what have you got to lose?
You know, you come from nothing - you're going back to nothing.
What have you lost? Nothing!) -life of Brian

Capt.LoneRanger
11-09-2006, 03:13 AM
Buyers should be very carefully with this card. It is a monster on a monster system. With &gt; Duo2Core 6600 you'll get about 3000 points more, than with a 7900. With any slower CPU or slower overall system, the performance drops dramatically to a level well below the 7800GTS with an A64 3500 for example.

I'll try to look up the benchmark.

Besides that, you need a decent powersupply. The card needs 400W/26A http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v411/Arcadiac/Lone1copy.png

ploughman
11-09-2006, 03:31 AM
400W? Wow. I'll bear that in mind. With these new Duo2Core things eating less power best not to get tripped up into thinking you can do with a middle of the road PSU.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">


http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y289/mctomney/hellspenguin.jpg
Dum spiro, spero

Sergio_101
11-09-2006, 03:36 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Ploughman:
400W? Wow. I'll bear that in mind. With these new Duo2Core things eating less power best not to get tripped up into thinking you can do with a middle of the road PSU. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Very good price. Water blocks for Video GPU and RAM
are expensive.
I will order two ASAP.

Sergio<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

P-51s may not have won the war, but they did not loose it.
Loosing the war was left to the Bf-109s and Fw-190s. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif

JG52Uther
11-09-2006, 03:36 AM
Recommended PSU 600W.
Personally if I was building now and thinking of these cards and quad sli I would be looking at 1KW PSU's. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v299/JG52Uther/Uther_Do17_3.jpg
2.(K)/JG52 -(Bombergroup)JG52 The Butcherbirds (http://www.thebutcherbirds.com)

Capt.LoneRanger
11-09-2006, 03:47 AM
No, the card uses 114W on full load.

To run the adequate system, you need 400-500W. A C2D+Board+Mouse+Keyboard alone add another 120-140W, memory eats up even more.

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine

Check out your PSU needs here.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v411/Arcadiac/Lone1copy.png

Capt.LoneRanger
11-09-2006, 03:51 AM
According to that, with a C2D6600, 2 Gig DDR2 and 2x 8800 you need about 500-530W.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v411/Arcadiac/Lone1copy.png

p1ngu666
11-09-2006, 04:21 AM
ouch at price and requirements..<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://premium1.uploadit.org/pingu666/spitfiresig.jpg

stansdds
11-09-2006, 04:29 AM
The 8800 cards are certainly bleeding edge and they do require the most up to date computer components to realize their full potential. I can't afford to build another computer at this time, but maybe somewhere in 2007 I'll switch to the Intel platform and a Core 2 Duo CPU.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

When you know as much as I do, you become a danger only to yourself. -Stans, 2006

Capt.LoneRanger
11-09-2006, 04:35 AM
Besides that, the ATI R600 is around the corner. Who knows what ATI is up to.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v411/Arcadiac/Lone1copy.png

EFG_beber
11-09-2006, 04:51 AM
A review on PF.
http://www.hardware.fr/articles/644-19/nvidia-geforce-8800-gtx-8800-gts.html

Capt.LoneRanger
11-09-2006, 05:00 AM
Very interesting. The X1950XTX in CF is considerably faster than the GF8800GTX in SLI in several games. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

I hope for nVidia, that this is a driver-issue...<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v411/Arcadiac/Lone1copy.png

SeaFireLIV
11-09-2006, 05:03 AM
I like the boxart for this humongous card. It actually reflects the... "This card is so powerful I can`t handle it! It`s gonna blow my mind! Gotta keep c-control!!"

feeling. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v31/SeaFireLIV/G6.jpg

"Do not repeat the tactics that gained you one victory, but let your methods be regulated by the infinite variety of circumstances."

Sun Tzu

TooCooL34
11-09-2006, 05:14 AM
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/1938/01la7.jpg
http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/9776/02pq2.jpg
Wow, look at those graph. This monster is solely for high resolution IL-2.
They're finally making new cards in hi-res standard.
I have 7600GT and quite satisfied with it but it's not even in table! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">


=815=TooCooL

Fork-N-spoon
11-09-2006, 05:23 AM
Over the years, I???ve noticed a lot of uninformed people using, ???better get XXX geeked out super 10,000 watt power supply.??? It???s understandable because many of the manufacturers spit out generic terms and most people don???t bother to check into it. They usually buy into the manufacturer???s hype and believe all the misinformation out there that???s perpetuated by many forum goers. I???m going to tell you why it???s not a good idea to just look for overall wattage.

There are three rails on a power supply, 12 volt, 5 volt, and 3.3 volt. For most applications, the 12 volt rail is the most critical. It???s entirely possible for a 350 watt power supply to be better than a 550 watt power supply. Not only can the 350 watt power supply have more amps on the 12 volt rail than a 550 watt power supply, but it may also be rated more realistically. Many run of the mill 550 watt power supplies are rated at 25C. This is unrealistic because heavy gaming can increase the power supply???s temperatures well beyond this. With the increase in temperature, there???s a decrease in total output. Let???s take a look at two power supplies.

Enermax 350 watt power supply, 26 amps 12 volt, 32 amps 5 volt, 32 amps 3.3 volt
Logisys 550 watt pwer supply, 25 amps 12 volt, 38 amps 5 volt, 30 amps 3.3 volt

Note that the logisys dedicates nearly all its power to the non critical 5 volt rail. While it???s not the entire story, but usually decent power supplies have as many or more amps on the 12 volt rail as do the other rails.

I would venture a guess that the Logisys uses the unrealistic method to measure its power supply???s output, cold at 25C. Once the Logisys warms up, I???d bet you could cut its output by 30-40%. Moreover, the Little Enermax will provide stable power at its rated voltage. Many cheap to mid range power supplies neither provide stable power nor their rated voltage. As you can see, looking at total wattage is misleading. Watts are nothing more than amps times volts. The 12 volt rail is the most critical one for modern computers and it???s been that way for several years.

To those that think you will need 600 amps if you run an 8800GTX with a dual core Conroe. An E6600 Conroe with 2Gb of ram, 1 DVD burner, and 1 SATA drive will only consume 217 amps of power. With the Addition of the 8800GTX it could vary depending upon sources. I???ve seen a source that states 234 watts for a full load. I???m not sure how accurate it is, but that???s 20 amps. Even if the 8800GTX uses this high figure, that???s a 450 watt power supply. Enermax makes a 450 watt power supply that has 35 amps on the 12 volt rail, which is by the way higher than what the card maker recommends for a single rail power supply. According to the highly reputable extreme power supply calculator, the above mentioned system shouldn???t need more than 402 watts.

I???ve noticed that people in both this forum and in the HyperLobby have some misconceptions about multi rail power supplies. If a power supply has 2 12 volt rails and each line is rated for 20 amps, the power supply doesn???t have 40 amps total output for the 12 volt rail. This means that each line can handle 20 amps. One trend I???ve noticed with modular power supplies is that many of them are junk with all their wattage dedicated to the 3.3 and 5 volt rails.

I???d suggest that you go to over clocker???s forum and read up on their ???cases and power supplies??? forum. http://www.ocforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=42

The extreme power supply calculator is located here.

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Blondes are for nancy boys. Stop the cruelty adopt a brunette today

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/bolillo_quemado/brunette.jpg

Grue_
11-09-2006, 05:55 AM
w00t!

This should bump FSX up from 5 to 10fps. Yipee!<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v458/flyingscampi/spitpass.jpg

Capt.LoneRanger
11-09-2006, 05:59 AM
Roger that, Fork-N-spoon.

Funny, though, the first link in the forum you pointed to, is the link I posted above and comes to the same conclusion I did before...? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v411/Arcadiac/Lone1copy.png

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2006, 07:27 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Grue_:
w00t!

This should bump FSX up from 5 to 10fps. Yipee! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

hey atleast its doubled! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f239/Skunk24/sig.jpg
Escadron virtuel RCAF 438 (http://438cityofmontreal.googlepages.com)

It takes a big man to cry...but it takes a bigger man to laugh at that man.

"You know, I've personally flown over 194 missions and I was shot down on every one. Come to think of it, I've never landed a plane in my life."

Ernst_Rohr
11-09-2006, 07:43 AM
Huge jump in FPS from my 7900 card, but I am going to hold out and wait for the quad core procs.

I just got a big roadmap presentation for a PC vendor yesterday, and there are a LOT of changes coming in the next couple of months, both from Intel and AMD.

If your thinking about upgrades, you may want to hold off until Q1 2007, some mighty impressive stuff is coming down the road.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

"Have you ever noticed? Anybody going slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a moron."
--George Carlin

Capt.LoneRanger
11-09-2006, 08:24 AM
If there wasn't an increase in tax in 2007 in Germany, I would wait. The 775-processors with nVidias new 680i chipset will bring a dramatic increase in performance.

They are no where near the horizon http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v411/Arcadiac/Lone1copy.png