PDA

View Full Version : sp, co-op or mp maps in fc5

AW LOST SOLDIER
03-12-2018, 10:24 AM
What will be your focus in fc5 regarding map making? im a mp map builder at heart, but with fc5 im going to stick to sp maps for the first few months, i want to see if the lobby system is a fail or a success before i put effort into mp maps. however it turns out, i will be making maps in fc5 for the next few years, even if it's just sp maps. what about you?

DrShakez
03-12-2018, 02:07 PM
About 80% mp most likely, and some of my sp maps will likely be converted mp maps.

emrdesign
03-12-2018, 02:55 PM
I will mostly be making SP and Coop maps and maybe a few MP maps. I do hope we can set multiple missions/targets after eachother and use text on the HUD to let the players know and create a certain flow through the map. (This works really well in Dying Light map editor)

emrdesign
03-12-2018, 03:25 PM
Dying light has a map editor? I never knew that.

Yes a very good one I think. Can make great zombie maps with that too. There is only a bit of a problem with getting all the images of the objects. They did not provide all of them (or at least there was a bug in the editor that they did not fix) But some guy created a separate file for that with all the images. (I think there are about 6000 objects to choose from)

Manlius10A
03-12-2018, 06:55 PM
I love making PvP maps. I find the challenge of making balanced and interesting TDM extremely exciting. I could talk all day about map flow, choke points, visual cues, pathing,, line-of-sight, layout, etc. However, my concern is that with more restrains on my gaming time, I'll not have the time to properly test or promote a PvP map. In my new reality of being a father (I have a second due at the end of April), a husband, a homeowner, and in general, an adult, I think I will have to limit myself to SP maps to satisfy my creative needs. I'll try a PvP map, but if it sends my life balance way out of whack, I must refrain.