PDA

View Full Version : PC Spec & new PC building



xelous
01-22-2005, 01:44 PM
Alright then dudes, care to let me know what your PC hardware specs are and what settings you tin FB & PF on.

I've just done a thorough test of them on my rig, and here's the findings:

PC Specification
P4 2.6Ghz (Socket 478) "Northwood" 512K L2 Cache (400 Mhz FSB)

512Meg PC2100 (on 200Mhz DDR) (400Mhz FSB)

Asus GeForce FX5700 9750i with 128Meg DDR2 Core clock 500Mhz, memory 533Mhz. AGP 12x capable, BUT Mobo stuck at 4x AGP (big bottle neck there).


IL2 Settings

1024x768x32 DirectX, Maximum Settings for visuals, Maximum settings for sounds, runs 80FPS

*This is fine and dandy*


IL2 Forgotten Battles

1024x768x32 DirectX Maximum settings (lowering shadow details and ground lighting from Excellent to High. Got approx 60FPS, was okay, but sluggish when I made large flocks of planes & ground fire come together.


Aces

I'm not sure if it was my inexperienced eye, but the moment I installed this it felt like the system was moving through treacle. I dropped it to 1024x768x16, and lowered the object and ground details, didn't make much difference.

Sluggish, almost unplayable.


Conclusion

Xel is going to buy a new PC. And I've started to look at a core system like this:

CPU
Intel Pentium 4 530J "LGA775 Prescott" 3.0GHz (800FSB) with HT Technology

Mobo
Abit Fatal1ty AA8XE (LGA775) PCI-Express Motherboard

Ram
Corsair 1GB DDR2 XMS2-5400 TwinX (2x512MB)

Graphics Card
Leadtek GeForce 6800 256MB DDR TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express)


Of course this all excludes new case, new cooling, new power and new harddrive and DVD/R+RW solutions.

I'm going to look at a case to fit that mobo now. But as for IL2, any suggestions..... any hints.... what would be your guy's dream system?

Xel

xelous
01-22-2005, 01:44 PM
Alright then dudes, care to let me know what your PC hardware specs are and what settings you tin FB & PF on.

I've just done a thorough test of them on my rig, and here's the findings:

PC Specification
P4 2.6Ghz (Socket 478) "Northwood" 512K L2 Cache (400 Mhz FSB)

512Meg PC2100 (on 200Mhz DDR) (400Mhz FSB)

Asus GeForce FX5700 9750i with 128Meg DDR2 Core clock 500Mhz, memory 533Mhz. AGP 12x capable, BUT Mobo stuck at 4x AGP (big bottle neck there).


IL2 Settings

1024x768x32 DirectX, Maximum Settings for visuals, Maximum settings for sounds, runs 80FPS

*This is fine and dandy*


IL2 Forgotten Battles

1024x768x32 DirectX Maximum settings (lowering shadow details and ground lighting from Excellent to High. Got approx 60FPS, was okay, but sluggish when I made large flocks of planes & ground fire come together.


Aces

I'm not sure if it was my inexperienced eye, but the moment I installed this it felt like the system was moving through treacle. I dropped it to 1024x768x16, and lowered the object and ground details, didn't make much difference.

Sluggish, almost unplayable.


Conclusion

Xel is going to buy a new PC. And I've started to look at a core system like this:

CPU
Intel Pentium 4 530J "LGA775 Prescott" 3.0GHz (800FSB) with HT Technology

Mobo
Abit Fatal1ty AA8XE (LGA775) PCI-Express Motherboard

Ram
Corsair 1GB DDR2 XMS2-5400 TwinX (2x512MB)

Graphics Card
Leadtek GeForce 6800 256MB DDR TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express)


Of course this all excludes new case, new cooling, new power and new harddrive and DVD/R+RW solutions.

I'm going to look at a case to fit that mobo now. But as for IL2, any suggestions..... any hints.... what would be your guy's dream system?

Xel

blairgowrie
01-22-2005, 01:49 PM
First of all welcome to the Forums.

You should probably post this in Community Help which is the Tech Support area. You will likely get a better response there.

Good luck with your build.

LuckyBoy1
01-22-2005, 03:47 PM
The game is optimized for Open GL, not Direct X.


Post all this fun and questioning in Community Help along with a copy of your diagnosis. If you need instructions, see Luckyboy's Guide For Complete Users.

Owlsphone
01-22-2005, 05:42 PM
That Fatal1ty board is expensive last time I checked because you're just paying for the name on the board.

You'd be better off getting an AMD 64 bit chip. It is loads faster performance wise and you'll most likely be find that the prices are cheaper than that mobo/cpu bundle.

Just a suggestion.

GT182
01-22-2005, 07:22 PM
Here's what I put together for my new homebuilt PC. Runs great so far for my 1st build...knock on wood.

Thermaltake XaserIII v1000A SuperTower and Thermaltake SPP 480watt PSU- to be updated to OCZ520watt in the near future
P4 3.2E CPU - not overclocked
Asus P4P800-E Deluxe mobo
GF FX5600Ultra 256mb video card
1gig (2x512mb sticks) Corsair PC3200 DDR memory
120g Western Digital Caviar HHD
Plextor DVD +-RW CD-R/RW PX-712A
LiteOn 52x32x52x CD-Rom/RW burner
I Concepts Inferno keyboard
Logitech MX 700 mouse
Labtec headset
Courar HOTAS with 3_HCO_2004 software and Foxy 4

The only things from my old PC I used where the Logitech mouse, my Courar HOTAS, and Labtec headset with mic.

EFG_beber
01-23-2005, 06:01 AM
I think a64 it's a better choice.

http://www.behardware.com/medias/photos_news/00/10/IMG0010348.gif

http://www.behardware.com/articles/532/page6.html