PDA

View Full Version : The Device Link tips and questions thread: PART TWO



blairgowrie
03-01-2011, 05:51 AM
Continued from: http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...55/m/7201027043/p/20 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/7201027043/p/20)

blairgowrie
03-01-2011, 05:51 AM
Continued from: http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...55/m/7201027043/p/20 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/7201027043/p/20)

bolox00
06-16-2011, 02:22 PM
still dabble with this (CLoD one day http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif )

this one a corsair

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?nwrl7y3wbq1990k

http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff27/bolox00/devicelink/th_corsair1.jpg (http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff27/bolox00/devicelink/?action=view&current=corsair1.jpg)

Diablo310th
06-21-2011, 12:55 PM
awsome bolox. I am adding this to my collection.

Diablo310th
07-19-2011, 01:33 PM
heyy bolox. how about a set of guages for the jug similar to the corsair?

bolox00
07-26-2011, 12:52 AM
work has been a bit crazy over last month but i think it eases up a bit next week so i might find some time to look at a jug version next week.

any particular model?- there are a few variations of instrument layout. also what screen resolution do you use?- the P47 panel is a bit wider than some other planes and makes it a bit tricky to squeeze it all in. also would have to 'fake turbo gauge (and a few others)- and i'll have to draw some gauges from scratch to match the corsair ones- which were lying around from an unfinished mod project.

so no promises http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif but i'll see what i can come up with.

for those who want a jug using my older style
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?cg8nw1m2k492ql7

Diablo310th
07-26-2011, 06:28 AM
bolox....that would be awesome. I run UDPSpeed on my laptop which is set to 1366x768. As to the model....the D-27 or P47-Late. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif

bolox00
07-26-2011, 03:16 PM
this thread might be of interest to those with i phone/pad ?

http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=24856

Diablo- check pm http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Skip_Jack
07-26-2011, 03:55 PM
Question:

Device link can not be used on its own, its something that takes data from the game and packages it to send over a network connection. An application on the other end of what device link sends, needs to be coded to do something with that data (eg UPdspeed), correct?

bolox00
07-26-2011, 04:17 PM
that's pretty much it. - tho devicelink is bi directional, allowing the external application to also control allowed game functions - eg axis inputs etc.

certain output functions (most of the 'useful' instruments) are also disabled for online play

Skip_Jack
07-26-2011, 04:29 PM
Thanks for that reply.............working on getting my head arround things.

Would like to continue with more

Question:

Right now UPdspeed is used for gauge display but nothing (external app commonly used like UPdspeed) is out there to use for inputs?

bolox00
07-26-2011, 05:24 PM
no probs, after all that's what this thread is for http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

there are utilities around that do input data, but nothing 'universal' and 'idiot proof'- Ge-tec was working on something like this- a modular input /output utility but not sure of status.(fciproject)

probably nearest thing atm is this-YaDeLi
http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/s...highlight=devicelink (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=18781&highlight=devicelink)


there are also autopilot type programs that have been written, Lesni_hu did one along time ago (can't find a link atm http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/sadeyes.gif and AJW did this
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...283/m/4121016097/p/1 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/4121016097/p/1)

Sans fov changer also uses devicelink to input fov

mikkowl(?) also used devicelink input in a proggy he wrote to get around probs with g940 sticks

Skip_Jack
07-26-2011, 06:11 PM
Looking at the threads you linked now.

Question: So if what exists does not exactly fit what I was looking to do, I would need to code (if I could write code) something on my own, correct?

And again thanks for sticking with me on these

bolox00
07-27-2011, 10:20 AM
afraid so- and who knows how long it would take to learn to code something usefull http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

Skip_Jack
07-27-2011, 10:38 AM
I like the things were done by users. I have what you have done with gauges....thank you http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

How do you go about getting the details on how to get something coded for devicelink. I may get someone who can look at it and let me know if he could code something basic from?

All I can find on the net looks dead/not active. Device link txt has very little info on doing something from scratch or where to look for more information.

bolox00
07-27-2011, 01:42 PM
as a non programmer the best i can come up with is a wrapper made by WWsensei a long while ago. it might give your friend something to work with

http://www.mission4today.com/i...me=Downloads&get=345 (http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&get=345)

good luck with whatever you're upto

AndyJWest
07-27-2011, 03:11 PM
An alternative approach is to do it in Java, using a java.net.DatagramSocket. This is how I did it.

If your friend programs in Java, he/she will probably be able to figure out how to do it. DeviceLink uses the UDP protocol to communicate using packets (effectively character arrays).

Skip_Jack
07-27-2011, 04:00 PM
Ahhh that last link was best yet as the download had some stuff to read through to help put things in better perspective (for me at least) It also lead to some more stuff to read through. Thank you.

What I'm upto. I just had an idea to make a better switch panel. I do not like to use the the keyboard when playing (pain in the ***).

I kind of like the rodger doger keyboard mod, its 100% better then not having it.

I thought the vrinsight panel might be neat but without existing feedback I do not want to pay to be the guinea pig.

BE0386 is really cool and am going to get it and use.

I figured if I'm going to spend the effort to make a switch panel why not look into having some information coming from the game on the same switch panel being used to send information to the game.

Skip_Jack
07-27-2011, 04:42 PM
Hi Andy

When I talked to the guy the other day he said without some documentation he does not want to be bothered......he knows I'm not going to be able help interpret things because I do not have any background in coding anything.

I'm going to gather stuff I'm finding out after I last talked to him and re-approach the subject with him. If I have some stuff for him to read through maybe he will be able to tell me if he can do something.

AndyJWest
07-27-2011, 06:37 PM
If your friend knows what 'UDP protocol' means, and he has the DeviceLink.txt file from the IL-2 folder, he'll have enough to work out the rest.

I'm thinking about maybe writing a quick minimalist DeviceLink demo program (in Java), just to illustrate the basics of reading data from IL-2. This will take a day or two, but might be a useful exercise.

Skip_Jack
07-27-2011, 08:24 PM
I would be interested in seeing some small to start with......was looking online to see how involved doing something small in JAVA would be using whats avaialbe for free.

In a little bit of a differant direction Question:

Is is possible to use PIC micro controller with an ethernet instead of a full blown PC? Looking at the devicelink text and looking PIC controllers and UPD tells me that it might be possible. A panel with the hardware and lamps that has PIC micro controller in between the hardware on it and the software on the game seems like a good idea. Not sure since I know I'm just thinking outloud without knowing what I'm talking about. Just wondering if anyone has thought about this OR otherwise knows it will not work because of such and such?

AndyJWest
07-27-2011, 10:14 PM
If you are looking at interfacing external hardware with IL-2, there is no particular reason why you can't use the same PC to run the hardware and the sim. I think that you may be making this more complicated than it needs to be.

Skip_Jack
07-28-2011, 07:38 AM
Using CH controllers to send stuff into the game and using the BU0386 for switches is great, but these can only send in and not read output.

I'm currently using 3 LCD's for the game and I've hooked a laptop for the UPDspeed gauges........things are getting cluttered up on the desk.

I was actually thinking of taking this further with using a new Intel thin mini-itx with the panel and having this drive a 8-10" display used for gauges (just like the gauges on the ipod linked earlier).

I was thinking the PIC would allow for LEDS, flap position indicator, gear position, warning alarms and digital read out of guages not actually being displayed on the mini LCD.

Lots more possible via the device link seems possible then just a simple toggle switch panel or just gauges being displayed.

Its not critical or necessary, or even a fact that I would do it if possible just seems interesting and am wondering if possible.

bolox00
07-31-2011, 06:59 AM
the p-47 i said i'd do-1366*768 res

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?4ra8oofp6dy0peb

http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff27/bolox00/devicelink/th_pic.jpg (http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff27/bolox00/devicelink/?action=view&current=pic.jpg)

layout is a little bit of a mish mash between D27 and the M models- to get the faster running 'electric' compass in

talking of speed -this is how i set speed of each gauge set...

SETTING THE SPEED

i've mentioned getting the gauges to run as fast/smooth as possible.
this is altered by changing this line

[Main]
TimerMS=80

in udpspeed ini. the number is the time in milliseconds to run through the background ini again from the beggining.
as small a number as possible here is obviously best- BUT if you use too small a value it can skip some of the later statements as it starts to draw the needles again.

to get the max smooth speed possible i use good old windows task manager(cntl alt del) and click on the performance tab- (this is done on the machine running udpspeed- not main gaming machine). i then run a track on the gaming machine (aerobatics2 works well) and look for the cpu useage peak- i try to set the timing so that this peaks at ~90%. i find this 10% 'headroom' stops any jerkiness caused by skipping drawing some of the needles on some cycles


this and some other useful(?) tips are included in the readme file enclosed

bolox00
08-02-2011, 03:27 PM
Hruks has done it- the latest version of UDPSPEED now has multi engine support http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

so a quick redo of a mosquito panel seemed in order( i had all the graphics available). I've just replaced my monitors and am now using 1600*900 which may not be suitable for everyone- sorry but i did want to fill my screen for this one http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif

http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff27/bolox00/devicelink/th_mossie-twincopy.jpg (http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff27/bolox00/devicelink/?action=view&current=mossie-twincopy.jpg)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mff6tw93pfygh8a

it's fairly basic as it's a test for the multi engine functions but it's putting a huge smile on my face right now- particularly with multi engine axes available in 4.101 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

a huge thank you to Hruks for making this possible http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif

Skip_Jack
08-02-2011, 04:20 PM
Nice one I like a lot, When researching I saw the patch and I was going to ask if you were had did some twins. Figured I was asking too many questions as it was so I didnt.

Since I've not clue to the work involved please take the next with a grain of salt. Any chance that other twins being done? P-38 and B-25 come to mind.

Also, I think I'm giving up on the Micro-controller idea. Talked to the guy at work and although C is not an issue he does not have any experiance with working with microcontrollers. I initially got happy when looking at PIXAXE and thought I could do something with his help.

Right now I'm working plans for switch panel.

Diablo310th
08-07-2011, 12:51 PM
bolox...fabulous. ty you so much

bolox00
09-01-2011, 05:22 AM
adding to the twin engined theme, this time a p-38
done at 1280 width,

http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff27/bolox00/devicelink/th_p-38.jpg (http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff27/bolox00/devicelink/?action=view&current=p-38.jpg)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?cqzchdbjo5x61ua

bolox00
09-27-2011, 10:27 AM
2 engines not enough? how about 4?

http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff27/bolox00/devicelink/th_lanc.jpg (http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff27/bolox00/devicelink/?action=view&current=lanc.jpg)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?r08sujqk9cd0xb3


yep a lancaster-certainly forced me to fully learn the new functions http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

1600 width- and it needed it to fit all those gauges in . only 'additions' to what would be normal instruments are elev/rudder trim indicators slotted into the beam landing indicator(lhs above gear indicator)

enjoy

Luftw4ffe
10-04-2011, 03:08 AM
Hi all, i am really sorry but i cant find a link to either Devicelink or UDPgraphs, lots of the links from part one are dead, so if its not too much trouble could someone give me a D/L link
again im sorry and thankyou http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

bolox00
10-04-2011, 03:36 AM
http://il2.achilikin.com/ug_v1en.htm

should get you a copy of UDPgraph

devicelink itself is part of the sim, so there's no d/l for it. do you mean some other utility to use the information it output/inputs?

Luftw4ffe
10-04-2011, 05:02 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by bolox00:
devicelink itself is part of the sim, so there's no d/l for it. do you mean some other utility to use the information it output/inputs? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blush.gif im sorry im just getting in to all the gadgets of IL2
thanks for the D/L link http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

[EDIT]: i hate to be a bother but are there instructions?? the readme contains no installation instructions and neither does the website sorry http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

ngneer
06-10-2013, 06:01 PM
Hi,

I'm totally new in IL2 world.
Can You tell me please which versions of IL2 actually supports DeviceLink? I know that 1946 does, but how about older/newer ones?

Tully__
06-11-2013, 01:11 AM
Devicelink support was added in a patch at the Forgotten Battles or Ace Expansion Pack stage of the game's history if I recall correctly. The original 2001 version of the game didn't support it.

ngneer
06-11-2013, 06:54 PM
Devicelink support was added in a patch at the Forgotten Battles or Ace Expansion Pack stage of the game's history if I recall correctly. The original 2001 version of the game didn't support it.

Thanks.
Still I'm not sure if Birds of Prey, Cliffs of Dover and Battle of Stalingrad support DeviceLink. Can owners of those titles check this for me please?

Tully__
06-12-2013, 01:29 AM
Birds of Prey (aka Wings of Prey) is a console title from a different developer, developed from a licensed version of IL2's core engine then ported back to PC, see their forum links at http://www.airwargame.com/eng/community/
For Cliffs of Dover and Battle of Stalingrad, you'll get a much quicker answer at http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/forumdisplay.php?f=189 Most of the CoD traffic also now takes place at the 1C forums rather than here. Battle of Stalingrad is not an Ubisoft title, it's a collaboration between 1C and 777 studios if I recall correctly ( see http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=36417 ).

bolox00
06-13-2013, 08:56 PM
CoD doesn't actually have Devicelink as part of it- but it does have the ability to query a lot more parameters via scripts(but no way of setting/controlling anything). There is no client programs for this facility to date- as far as I'm aware.
TF mod has this data mapped, but requires someone to write a client program to make use of it. Maybe one day this will happen. I certainly hope so.

BoP/WoP- 99.9999999% certain these have no such thing - or the ability for anything to be done

BoS- last I heard the developers were not interested in such a feature, certainly not for initial release.

This is my understanding of the situation.

ngneer
06-14-2013, 05:21 PM
Thanks Tully__ and bolox00. Now it's more clear for me.

Wild.Bill.Kelso
01-27-2014, 05:24 PM
I have a 4 monitor rig with 3 monitors setup as 1 using nVidia Surround, and the fourth touchscreen as a second monitor. I am running UDPSpeed in local (127.0.0.1) mode, but it does not appear to like this Surround setup. It just displays a black rectangle where the displays would be and locks up. I have to End Task everytime.

After lot's of testing, I can only get it to work if I disable the main nVidia Surround monitor(s) and use the 2nd monitor. Then it displays correctly and I can drag it around. If while UDPSpeed is open, I then enable my first main monitor, the gauges disappear and all I can see is the black rectangles. However, at this point I 'can' drag them around, right-click and view the menus. Show/Hide other windows. But they are all black. And when I exit, it does save/write out the current location settings.

So, it appears that it 'almost' works. It has trouble launching with Surround on. But if you enable Surround 'after' it has launched, it all functions except for the actual graphics. I have a feeling there is no fix for this in local mode without the devs fixing it.

Sokol__1
04-30-2014, 05:50 PM
In CloD:

http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3887&page=2

Sokol1

sdecorme
06-17-2014, 09:43 PM
Hi,
I'm looking for a piece of code to read data from il-2 with the UDP device link protocol.
I've found lot of compiled software but no information about the way to do this.
I would like to make a logger.

Thanks for your help.

SoC-OverDhill
01-08-2015, 08:33 PM
I know this is an old thread but I was wondering if anyone has some 1024X768 skins for UDPSPeed they would like to share? I have a Spitfire and 109 right now from Bolox00 and I am not sure he is still around.

Thanks