PDA

View Full Version : Do you play on a dual-CPU machine? Please read this.



BaldieJr
01-18-2005, 02:08 PM
Benchmark with some track.

Then open conf.ini and change:
<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
[rts]
;ProcessAffinityMask=1
</pre>
to
<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
[rts]
ProcessAffinityMask=1
</pre>

Then benchmark again using the same track.

Let me know how it works out. Thanks.

BaldieJr
01-18-2005, 02:08 PM
Benchmark with some track.

Then open conf.ini and change:
<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
[rts]
;ProcessAffinityMask=1
</pre>
to
<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
[rts]
ProcessAffinityMask=1
</pre>

Then benchmark again using the same track.

Let me know how it works out. Thanks.

BaldieJr
01-20-2005, 02:21 PM
No dual-cpu users?

AlmightyTallest
01-20-2005, 02:27 PM
I tried it Baldie, but I have a P4 Prescott with HyperThreading. I figured it would have allowed the processor to focus solely on PF when it was running.

So far, I didn't notice any difference at all. But I guess I don't really have a dual cpu configuration http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Hunter82
01-20-2005, 02:36 PM
Nope that's what the P4 DLL is for

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by AlmightyTallest:
I tried it Baldie, but I have a P4 Prescott with HyperThreading. I figured it would have allowed the processor to focus solely on PF when it was running.

So far, I didn't notice any difference at all. But I guess I don't really have a dual cpu configuration http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

AlmightyTallest
01-20-2005, 02:40 PM
Wow, thanks for the response Hunter http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

So I guess Oleg already has been working on optimizing PF for Hyperthreading Processors then?

If so, dang!! I wish I could have squeezed out more fps somehow http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Hunter82
01-20-2005, 02:42 PM
NP...



BTW Baldie check your PM I just sent one

Zneg1
01-20-2005, 04:21 PM
Ok before I do anything in the config.ini. what exactly does this do? Also I am running on dual Athlons not P4's, will this make a difference? I guess i am better off asking Oleg directly http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

BaldieJr
01-20-2005, 04:49 PM
The explanation is rather long-winded, but this should improve the game performance for you.

I used this trick a looooong time ago when dual 400 mhz was hot stuff. I'm just wondering how it performs on modern machines.

Zneg1
01-20-2005, 05:01 PM
Well I am familiar with CPu affinity and multi-threading issues just wondering if this particular line if for DUAL CORE CPus or really for dual CPUs. I have already asked Oleg about it and waiting for a response but will try it in the meantime.

On some apps I do set the Affnity to one CPU over another when it keeps on crashng with 2 CPU affinity. I doubt though that PF would be multi-threaded.

Zneg1
01-20-2005, 05:08 PM
OK I just finished playing the BLACKDEATH track with and without this config.ini switched and found the one with this parameter turned on, seems smoother bit not real gain on the FPS. If anything maybe just a few frames.

I am curious really as to what this parameter does. I wont want to have it HOG one CPU however even if that means a better performance. Thanks though for something to test and ponder... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

BOPrey
01-20-2005, 05:33 PM
Dual CPU will not get you more frames Zneg1 as you already have fast system. So, the bottleneck is on the graphics card. However, if Oleg changes the physics model to very very complicated one and requires a lot of CPU cycles, you stands to benifit when the rest of our systems are treading water.

Zneg1
01-20-2005, 05:42 PM
Oh I know I wont get more FPS. That was just there for FYI. But I am curious as to what this parameter switch actually does because this game is not just about rendering frames but also processing geometry,texture and positional data, collison detection etc. not to mention physics computations. Also there is the sound to process as well as the HD data to fetch and to write and most of these are OS related hence affects performance.

It is true that my Quadro FX 2000 could be the bottle neck but I cannot replace that yet with another card since the gamer card do not handle the kind of 3D poly that I do (&gt;800k to 4mil) which is too bad http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif. My last gamer video card was a PNY GeForce FX 4600 Ti which felt slower than my old Quadro 2 Pro.

BaldieJr
01-20-2005, 06:25 PM
It forces the game to one cpu, which is good, because the game wasn't designed to take advantage of two.

Windows will flip-flop between two cpus when an app isn't SMP-capable, which causes a problem: the cpu cache has to be flushed/filled during every flip-flop. Not good for smoothness.

I think that you can do the same thing in XP... assign a process to a processor, but I may be mistaken.

Zneg1
01-20-2005, 06:31 PM
Thanks for that and its just what I thought it does. It is not so easy to set Affinity though once a game is running via Task Manager. Some games crashes when you do this. Although I've not tried it with PF or FB/AEP. Nice to have the option though.