PDA

View Full Version : trying to squeeze 10 more FPS out of my system



ForceReconNeo
05-09-2010, 02:05 PM
specs:

Q9550 2.833
4 GB DDR2 800 MHz
275GTX 896 MB OCE

i am trying to get riva tuner to run in W7 x64, waiting for tech help on that but anyone have any ideas?

i dont know how to overclock my system either so i would need "special help" on that.

ForceReconNeo
05-09-2010, 02:05 PM
specs:

Q9550 2.833
4 GB DDR2 800 MHz
275GTX 896 MB OCE

i am trying to get riva tuner to run in W7 x64, waiting for tech help on that but anyone have any ideas?

i dont know how to overclock my system either so i would need "special help" on that.

CGrecon
05-09-2010, 02:47 PM
Why do you think that you need something to overclocking??? SCC can't working normal - it's a fact, so try to update your system, drivers etc. But do not! overclock your PC. With 275GTX you really don't need it man.

ForceReconNeo
05-09-2010, 05:56 PM
im just below 30 FPS, so i think if it could get upto 30, that is perfectly fine.

btw there are people who overclock their systems to get perfromance increases, splinter cell is not the only reason for my pc.

OVaDue
05-09-2010, 06:06 PM
You'll find all the "special help" you need if you ask here:

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=7

Try msi afterburner instead of rivatuner to clock your graphics card.

http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm

Vampire28
05-10-2010, 07:28 AM
You're system is basically the same as mine:

Q9550 @3.2GHz (just google for an overclocking guide for your motherboards chipset, x48, p45 etc.) Also make shure you have decent cooling for your CPU or it WILL fry. If you're using the stock intel one, forget it. The Titan Fenrir is a great CPU cooler, it's up there with the best but doesn't cost as much.

6GB DDR2 800MHz (getting an extra 2GB for your PC will really help, well it did for me.)

GTX 275 OC (you're GFX card is allready overclocked, but the latest rivatuner (v2.24c) works with all windows operating systems straight off. What problem are you encountering?)

My FPS is 40-60 depending on location and action going on.

ForceReconNeo
05-10-2010, 12:23 PM
ah i could swear i had RivaTuner running as admin the whole time, i checked again and i wasnt.

btw anyone know the chipset ID for a 750i? newegg, nor CPU-ID displays the id and i dont know what it is.

i have massive cooling with my Antec 900 case and a zalman 2-ball cooler (with ~8 pounds of copper used in it) so no need for me to worry about oc'ing the cpu a little.

does MSI Afterburner work with a BFG card?

ill check out overclocker's site, thanks.

Ashrien
05-10-2010, 04:35 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Limerick_:
i am trying to get riva tuner to run in W7 x64, waiting for tech help on that but anyone have any ideas? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'm running 2.24 on Win7 x64 right now, use it to force fan-speeds on my SLI'd 260s.

I don't have any compatibility options set for it, just installed and worked.

To get your 10fps; Disable all high-end features.. Occlusion, Aliasing, Anisotropy, Dynamic Range Lighting, and set everything to 'Medium', rather than High(est).

ForceReconNeo
05-11-2010, 04:04 AM
yup already disabled/ set to low/ none all options... i overclocked my 275 with MSI Afterburner and getting much better FPS now.

im going to SLI the 275 soon as possible so i wont hinder any coop mates.

Ashrien
05-11-2010, 04:14 AM
I'm SLI'ing 260(216)s at the moment.. I've got a 470 in the mail. If I'm happy enough with it's performance, I'll be getting another and SLI'ing them.

roelbartstra
05-11-2010, 09:41 AM
turn off anti-aliasing, ambient occlusion and
v-sync (only turn v-sync on if your pc never goes under 60 fps, NEVER)

If that doesn't fix it you can always turn off hdr, but that makes it kind of ugly since the light doesn't have emissive white textures on it...