PDA

View Full Version : Inserting Your Pilot Photo



XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 01:47 PM
I while ago I attempted to replace the default pilot photo with my own picture from my ditigal camera.

Although it was a *.bmp with (I thought) the right type and size, it didn't work out.

Could someone please confirm this can be done and what exactly must be done.

Thanks

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 01:47 PM
I while ago I attempted to replace the default pilot photo with my own picture from my ditigal camera.

Although it was a *.bmp with (I thought) the right type and size, it didn't work out.

Could someone please confirm this can be done and what exactly must be done.

Thanks

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 01:53 PM
From the readme:

8. Replacing faces in Campaign mode

If you wish to see your own face in the pilot roster under your record, simply replace the stock "Photo.bmp" located in the DGen subfolder of your Forgotten Battles installation. The image should be 192x256 pixels in size, and have Windows palette 256 colors. It does not have to be black and white.

I haven't seen it explained any simplier than above.

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 02:51 PM
And yet it didn't work /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 02:58 PM
I thought it was 256*256, that works for me.

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 03:18 PM
Seem to remember trying that too without success

<center>



http://www.fornberg.com/mystery0074.jpg
</center>
<center>
<div style="width:400;color:F0FFFF;fontsize:11pt;filter: glow[color=black,strength=4)">
Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 03:37 PM
Correction. Do it 128*128. Take one of the already made pilots and open it in for example Photoshop. Then cut out the pilot 128*128. Then paste your 128*128 as a new selection, and put it in the down left corner.

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 05:18 PM
TacticalSkirmsh wrote:
- And yet it didn't work

No, it does work. You have yet to adhere to the simple guidelines set forth in the readme.
If you send me the pic you want to use at g8tr45@yahoo.com, I will make it functional for FB and mail it back to you.. This will also give me a chance to see where the error is being made.

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 05:24 PM
using photoshop........ it also needs to be 'index colour' to arrive at the correct file size too.
change one of the pilots to RGB... do your alterations ... then change back to index.

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 05:47 PM
here it is straight from the horses mouth as it were (readme file in FB directory)



8. Replacing faces in Campaign mode

If you wish to see your own face in the pilot roster under your record, simply replace the stock "Photo.bmp" located in the DGen subfolder of your Forgotten Battles installation. The image should be 192x256 pixels in size, and have Windows palette 256 colors. It does not have to be black and white.
If you wish to change faces of your squadmates, replace the numbered bitmaps under the corresponding country folder. These bitmaps should also be 192x256 pixels, Windows palette 256 colors. While that's not required, when replacing other pilot skins you should also update the corresponding pilot skin in the \PaintSchemes\Pilots subfolder. If you don't do that, the correct face will show up in pilot roster, however in the game engine the pilot will still keep the old face.



I found that the 256 colours bit had no effect, just get the size right.

Message Edited on 09/29/0308:37PM by Classicaero

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 07:58 PM
Only he had more hair and was much better looking......

See you in the fence.....

Asus P4B533 i845E
P4 2.4
Asus GF4 Ti 4200 128MB (45.23)
1 GIG DDR RAM (PC 2100)
SB Audigy
MSFF2
XP Home