PDA

View Full Version : Noob: Help seeing ground targets

qtv
06-02-2004, 05:18 PM
Hi

I'm a noob having difficulty seeing ground targets when I strafe. I fly the sturmovik, can't see ground targets until I get really close to them. Moving convoys are totally difficult to see and attack, I basically have to use the map with icons to get in the general area, and then watch what my wingmates fire at.

Even flying over enemy airfield, i can't really see the AA emplacements, i basically have to see where the tracer they fire at me is coming form and aim at that point on the ground (which looks like all other points on the ground) until I'm basically on top of them, haven't got them lined up in my sites but its now time to pull up. If they dont fire at me, I have no idea they are there.

As you can imagine, I use a "spray" approach to firing

Is there a way to improve popup so things pop up earlier or change mip mapping level? When fling low, half way up the screen the perfect straight lines on roads become a blurred patch on the green ground. I'd like buildings and smoke columns to pop up earlier as well.

Can anyone give advice? Are there any ini settings etc I should be using?

Il2 FB version 1.0 (I know, but 100mb is a lot to download)

17 Inch CRT monitor, 1024 resolution, terrain compositing(?), object detail etc on high

I generally like mid level zoom in the cockpit view as full zoom I have no idea whats going on around me/where the ground really is

P4 3.0, 512mb, 256mb Fx5700, win XP

qtv
06-02-2004, 05:18 PM
Hi

I'm a noob having difficulty seeing ground targets when I strafe. I fly the sturmovik, can't see ground targets until I get really close to them. Moving convoys are totally difficult to see and attack, I basically have to use the map with icons to get in the general area, and then watch what my wingmates fire at.