PDA

View Full Version : HELP!!! HELP!!



mpatient
12-03-2003, 08:47 AM
I have had URU since the realease date and I am still unable to play!!!!!!! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_mad.gif I have been back and forth with Support via email and was finaaly able to get them on the phone last night. After trying all their suggestions, the last reply I had form the tech was that he would submit it the designers bc he had no idea why the game wouldn't play. )I don;t expect a reply anytime soon. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif) Before I get into what it is going on, I have already downloaded the current drivers and I have been to the FAQs page.

Here is my system info from the DxDiag:

Operating system: Windows 98 (4.10, Build 2222)
Processor: AMD ATHLON 1.4 GHz
Memory: 256 MB RAM (40 MB used 1725 MB available)
DirectX Version 9.0 (downloaded from the microsoft website)

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce3
Sound: SB LIVE! Audio

Here is what is happening. I start the game and I get a message that there was a problem initializing the video card and to lower settings, (which I did) It did not work, After sending my DxDiag to Support, that had me correct some error with my card by redownloading the driver. The errors were corrected, but it sill did not work. They then had me change the GeForce[HAL] to GeForce[REF] which did get me further, but there was only sound, but just a black screen.

the tech agrred that I have met/exceeded the requirements. If any one has a clue, PLEASE, PLEASE let me know!!! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gifI have a new baby and this the only repreive I have with the late night feedings!!!!!

Thanks!
Meenew

mpatient
12-03-2003, 08:47 AM
I have had URU since the realease date and I am still unable to play!!!!!!! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_mad.gif I have been back and forth with Support via email and was finaaly able to get them on the phone last night. After trying all their suggestions, the last reply I had form the tech was that he would submit it the designers bc he had no idea why the game wouldn't play. )I don;t expect a reply anytime soon. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif) Before I get into what it is going on, I have already downloaded the current drivers and I have been to the FAQs page.

Here is my system info from the DxDiag:

Operating system: Windows 98 (4.10, Build 2222)
Processor: AMD ATHLON 1.4 GHz
Memory: 256 MB RAM (40 MB used 1725 MB available)
DirectX Version 9.0 (downloaded from the microsoft website)

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce3
Sound: SB LIVE! Audio

Here is what is happening. I start the game and I get a message that there was a problem initializing the video card and to lower settings, (which I did) It did not work, After sending my DxDiag to Support, that had me correct some error with my card by redownloading the driver. The errors were corrected, but it sill did not work. They then had me change the GeForce[HAL] to GeForce[REF] which did get me further, but there was only sound, but just a black screen.

the tech agrred that I have met/exceeded the requirements. If any one has a clue, PLEASE, PLEASE let me know!!! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gifI have a new baby and this the only repreive I have with the late night feedings!!!!!

Thanks!
Meenew

xICEBURNx
12-03-2003, 09:31 AM
hmm....i would start from ground zero...uninstall all instances of your graphic drivers and reboot. windows will use a basic video driver. now install the latest geforce drivers found here: Nvidia drivers (http://www.nvidia.com/object/win9x_45.23)

installing drivers over top of the same or older versions is not a guarantee that a corrupt file may be fixed or registry key corrected.

maztec
12-03-2003, 10:31 AM
Hmm.. you have much loaded into ram at all? and give iceburn's response a whirl I suppose.

nerveagent2
12-03-2003, 11:21 AM
I saw in another posting some advice about changing Virtual Memory PageFile size to 1500 min and 1500 max. That got me further down the road than anything else.
But I think (hope) the real issue is that 256 Meg of memory, though stated to be min required, is actually just not nearly enough for some systems. Mine is almost identical to mpatient's (GeForce2 instead of GeForce3) and I'm getting more memory as soon as Christmas allows; my big hope is that I will be into smooth sailing at that time.

maztec
12-03-2003, 03:20 PM
256mb is barely enough to play.. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif In live IMO it's not enough.

Heimdall_G
12-03-2003, 04:10 PM
Meenew,

The above suggestions are valid, I believe, especially installing more RAM. A minimum of 512 MB can solve lots of problems and give your system a real performance boost in the bargain. I would definitely call more RAM a must-do in your situation!

Hopefully, you installed the nVidia version 45.23 GeForce drivers - using the procedure noted by xICEBURNx - and not drivers from your graphics card manufacturer.

If you have the time (congrats on the new little one!), for reference and background see maztec's excellent 'Uru Technical Problems Guide' at http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=8271034&m=1161008.

Here‚'s a procedure that MIGHT help, some of the steps of which you may have already carried out. Do the steps in the order shown, and keep track of your original settings so that you can go back later. I don‚'t know how computer-literate you are, so I‚'ll be somewhat basic.

1. Click on Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> System -> Performance -> Graphics, to bring up the Advanced Graphics Settings panel. Left-click on the Hardware Acceleration slider and hold down the mouse button, then move the slider all the way to the ‚ėNone‚' hardware acceleration setting. Click on OK to get back to Control Panel.

2. Click on Control Panel -> Display-> Settings, and check the resulting Display Properties menu to ensure that your monitor (not ‚ėDefault monitor‚') and video card are shown in the ‚ėDisplay:‚' box. Set Colors to High Color (16-bit) and Screen Area to 800 x 600 pixels. (With the nVidia drivers, when you click on ‚ėSettings‚' to get to the Display Properties menu as well as on ‚ėApply‚', your screen may go black for a tick, then come back.) Click on Apply, then OK, and close Control Panel.

3. Halt all programs running in the background except for Explorer and Systray. To halt background programs, do a Ctrl-Alt-Del (hold down Ctrl and Alt keys, hit Del once only Ė twice reboots). This brings up the Close Program popup menu. Highlight the program to be halted with either a single mouse click or arrow keys, then click on End Task. The program may be halted immediately or another popup menu may appear after several seconds. If so, click as appropriate. Repeat until only Explorer and Systray remain.

4. Start Uru. Set up your Player, if you haven‚'t already done so. On the Graphics tab, change GeForce[REF] to GeForce[HAL] . Set Screen Resolution at 800x600, Color Depth at Low (16 bit), Quality and Texture sliders both at Low, and uncheck the boxes at Full Scene Anti-Aliasing and Anisotropic Filtering. Cross your fingers, then click on Play.

Heimdall
KI 89512, DRC(3)

Moleculor
12-03-2003, 04:32 PM
Ok, that 'unable to initialize' almost sounds like something is 'crashing' directx before you get a chance to play.

You -have- run DXDiag, yes?

mpatient
12-03-2003, 08:13 PM
Thanks so much for your suggestions; however, after trying all of them, I still have no luck. I understand the increase in RAM may be necessary, but shouldn't the program run even w/ the minimum requirements? I would think that the game would run slow and choppy, not just show a black screen. Once that black screen pops up, I can't even ALT_CTRL-DEL out of it. I have to hard re-boot. Any othideas??
er
I am ready to give up, but my husband (the real computer person in the family) said he will take a look through the boards to maybe find an answer.

Any more ideas??

Meenew

maztec
12-03-2003, 08:26 PM
Go hubbie!

Good luck?

Uhmm, you might have al ot of stuff running in the background which isn't leaving enough room for your system to go at it.

almost the full 256mb is needed.

Heimdall_G
12-04-2003, 11:20 AM
Until you're able to install more memory, 'good luck' may be the only answer.

A couple more questions, though:

* Your first post in this thread indicates that you did run DxDiag for the information listed in the post. However, did you also actually run the DxDiag diagnostics, as in clicking on the Display tab and testing DirectDraw and Direct3D? If so, did everything test OK? Also, did you look at the Notes at the bottom of the DirectX Files tab to see if anything but 'No problems found' showed up?

* Have you tried doing Ctrl-Alt-Del to halt programs running in the background (except Explorer and Systray) immediately after booting up, but before running Uru? This would minimize memory load and MIGHT allow Uru to run properly, although 256 MB is indeed marginal for the game's needs.

If nothing helps, including more memory, please post again - we can all give it another go. Also, if you do find a solution, please post it.

Heimdall
KI 89512, DRC(3)

mpatient
12-04-2003, 01:31 PM
Heimdall,

Yes, I did try what you just suggested last night. I am going to purchase more RAM tonight on the way home from work. I should have installed by tomorrow night. I hope it does the trick. I appreciate all the help, thus far. I feel that I will eventually get this right.
Meenew

Jerle
12-04-2003, 02:18 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Moleculor:
You -have- run DXDiag, yes?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>from her first post:
Here is my system info from the DxDiag<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

More RAM = gooood. I had 256MB until two weeks ago and today in the city, I could actually move. I hadn't been in the city since a month before the beta ended due to the horrible lag. I'm up to 768MB RAM now and I notice a HUGE improvement. At some point, I think I'll even add another stick but for now, it works so much better. It's also the first time I've been been able to do the timed puzzles without help on the first try. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Good luck with the RAM AND your late night feedings! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif (Play some ambient Uru music to soothe your baby, too. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )

BTW, this thread title plus your user name is really funny. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Uru Live Forums Moderator
Administrator - Community Management ~ Mystcommunity Forums (http://myst.chucker.rasdi.net/board/index.php)
D'ni History and Language Resources (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=3871034&m=6021026)
Echo Staff Photographer (http://echo.urulive.ubi.com/issue001/index.php)
Uru IRC channel #Uru (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=1981034&m=65410441&r=65410441#65410441)

mpatient
12-04-2003, 02:39 PM
At least you were able to get INTO the game!! I know the RAM will help when t actually is up and runniong, but there is something else going on here. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

I am on a mission!

Heimdall_G
12-04-2003, 03:57 PM
Good for you! I've no doubt that you'll succeed in your mission, and Uru IS worth the effort! Keep us 'posted'....

Heimdall
KI 89512, DRC(3)

mpatient
12-06-2003, 12:50 PM
OK... I installed the new ram.. a 512 DDR and guess what.. no difference. Im not giving up yet.. so any other ideas?

BongSlayerB
12-06-2003, 01:01 PM
Have you ever used "msconfig" from "Start"-&gt;"Run"? It will keep those nasty startup programs from eating you resources, and other things. Search the M$ (Microsoft) Knowlege Base for "msconfig" and "Win98"...that will get you started. Spyware can also eat resources/bandwidth and cause problems too, so try AdAware or Spybot Search and Destroy to check and remove that stuff. Good luck! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

"No matter where you go, there you are."

xICEBURNx
12-06-2003, 01:33 PM
the sticky notes at the top of the forum state that the game will not run under Win98, and there is a problem with Win98SE...so....that could be the issue.....

Avatar: iceburn

ULandro
12-06-2003, 01:40 PM
mpatient, you might also try a website called PC Pitstop. It runs tests on your computer via the internet and might help.

Ulandro

maztec
12-06-2003, 01:47 PM
ICEBURN .. no, they say it won't run under Windows98 but will work in Windows98SE http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif


Errgghs, and your'e exactly right ICEBURN..

you need to upgrade to Windows 98SE, or XP, or something..

Win98 itself won't cut it...

Ahk, wish I'd caught that earlier, sorry http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif -- the more ram will help you anyway *cough*

xICEBURNx
12-06-2003, 02:02 PM
heh...i missed it too the first time....

Avatar: iceburn

mpatient
12-06-2003, 03:31 PM
YAHOO... I'M IN!!!!!!!!!! Here is what we did to finally make it work. Hubby installed an older version of the video driver for the GeForce 3 (21.83) It runs beautifully. We had installed the latest driver (45.23) but it turned out to be the problem. Just goes to show that the newest is not always the best. At least I have tons of RAM now! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif See you guys Live as soon as I solve this sucker! Thanks for all the help. Alot of the suggestions did help steer us in the right direction!

Meenew

maztec
12-06-2003, 10:16 PM
Welcome, glad to see you figured it out http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Heimdall_G
12-07-2003, 11:26 AM
It's great that your mission did succeed - see you Live!

Heimdall
KI 89512, DRC(3)