PDA

View Full Version : First Time On-Line



tonywizzz
04-02-2004, 02:59 PM
Connected and played, a few questions, on UBI about 10 dogfight server, on Hyperlobby 1, is this the norm?

There was no ping rating against my name only a * ?

I want to have some fun b/f playing seriously if I do, I want low difficulty settings, at first, but against prop only aircaft I'm fed up with chasing jets! Are there this type of servers out there?

Green bar chart, presumably more lights better playability?

Any other tips links etc appreciated.

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/307logo.gif

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/RAF%20307%20Squadron%20Wijaszko/

http://www.geocities.com/skrzydla/

tonywizzz
04-02-2004, 02:59 PM
Connected and played, a few questions, on UBI about 10 dogfight server, on Hyperlobby 1, is this the norm?

There was no ping rating against my name only a * ?

I want to have some fun b/f playing seriously if I do, I want low difficulty settings, at first, but against prop only aircaft I'm fed up with chasing jets! Are there this type of servers out there?

Green bar chart, presumably more lights better playability?

Any other tips links etc appreciated.

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/307logo.gif

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/RAF%20307%20Squadron%20Wijaszko/

http://www.geocities.com/skrzydla/

Kasdeya
04-02-2004, 03:23 PM
About UBI, I have no idea, I have never played there.
HypperLobby is usually packed with an assortment of DF servers, plus if you can find them, Coops. HL could have purged the servers before you had connected and that might be the reason that you only saw one server. It does this (I guess) to save space on the program. Check the player list to see how many are online.

Kas

http://www.HouseofKasdeya.com/demon.jpg (http://www.361stvfg.com/)

Taylortony
04-02-2004, 05:09 PM
Welcome aboard and i hope you enjoy the gaming pleasure http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif ok you wrote


There was no ping rating against my name only a * ?

This is normal as you cannot see your own ping, ask someone to tell you it, or in game press S and see it there...... If you have NO ping showing to anyone, then you are playing behind a firewall and is normal too.... I would recommend a firewall, Zonealarm do a free one if you haven't got one at www.zonealarm.com (http://www.zonealarm.com).
Connected and played, a few questions, on UBI about 10 dogfight server, on Hyperlobby 1, is this the norm?

It varies but at the moment on aces there is no dedicated server available so the available rooms available is low...


I want to have some fun b/f playing seriously if I do, I want low difficulty settings, at first, but against prop only aircaft I'm fed up with chasing jets! Are there this type of servers out there?

On ubi if you rest your mouse pointer over the icon before the room name it will tel you the settings the game is running at, click on a game in hypoerlobby and it does the same, as for jets, they tended to say if they were available in the room name, but rare these days.

Green bar chart, presumably more lights better playability?

correct its a lower ping, if you go into options then lobby settings top right of ubicom on the general tab set show ping in digital format, then although it is still colour coded its is in digital figures, and the lower the number the faster the room as the lower the ping.

Any other tips links etc appreciated.

Its a bit of a rapid learning curve, ignore runways just use the quickest route into the air as vultching does happen, also use externals views fly bys etc to see if your 6 is clear and good luck the ` key to the left of 123456 will bring up the chat window in game, tell them you are a newbie, nothing to be ashamed about we have all been there http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

tonywizzz
04-02-2004, 06:31 PM
Tks Taylortony seen ur name b/f, helping in early stages, this also must have been asked b/f, creating my own server, seems simple enough but cant get it to work any pointers? I have dial up broadband connection, good enough? but low spec pc good enough?

How can u tell if u have created room should there be green bar rating beside icon in top right corner?

When I checked for MY ip adress it shows three options?

Keen to create my own server as I dont play external views or padlock, but have not yet mastered flight settings stalls, spins etc

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/RAF%20307%20Squadron%20Wijaszko/

http://www.geocities.com/skrzydla/

tonywizzz
04-03-2004, 05:55 AM
bump

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/RAF%20307%20Squadron%20Wijaszko/

http://www.geocities.com/skrzydla/

tsisqua
04-03-2004, 08:58 AM
Tonywizz,

I see that you are fairly new to the boards as well. Welcome, and hello.

The settings you seek are at your mouse-clicking fingertips, and if you look at the checked boxes on the HL servers before you join . . . there should be plenty of servers with the settings you want.

Welcome To The Madness

Tsisqua

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/tsisqua-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Galvladi

Taylortony
04-03-2004, 10:58 AM
SORRY,

Taylortony
04-03-2004, 11:04 AM
Sorry i missed your post, http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Ok

Tks Taylortony seen ur name b/f, helping in early stages, this also must have been asked b/f, creating my own server, seems simple enough but cant get it to work any pointers? I have dial up broadband connection, good enough? but low spec pc good enough?

Yes it should be ok, but are you behind a router as at the moment there are problems hosting behind a router, also if you are running a firewall,make sure the game can access the web as well as acting as a server..If the game runs slow, turn the graphics settings down.

How can u tell if u have created room should there be green bar rating beside icon in top right corner?

Yes the icon is the sound one for if you are using a mike, the green bar is the connection strenght for your game, if this goes totaly red or mostly read you have disconnected from the game, it can sometimes go into red but this is a slow connection, it will quickly go back to green

When I checked for MY ip adress it shows three options?

Ok normally it is the lower ip address you require click on that so it shows in the window, but i suspect you are on a lan or a router as you have 3 is this so?

Keen to create my own server as I dont play external views or padlock, but have not yet mastered flight settings stalls, spins etc

there may well be games set up like this, you just need to look about for them.

hope that helps http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

tonywizzz
04-03-2004, 12:08 PM
Tks guys, no I am not behind a router or firewall, I click on create server at UBI but once done my server name does not appear in the list, and no green bars, on screen, it's seems the same as when I have created a game using multi-player off-line.

Regarding ip showing in dos

It shows 0,1 & 2.

Only 0) has a vlaue against all three lines

IP Address
Subnet Mask
Default Gateway

The other two 1) 2) dont have a value against default gateway.

The ip address at 0) is the one I have to change to in IL2 set-up in order to be able to connect to games.

At UBI almost evertone flys with external views and padlock, at Hyperlobby almost everyone at full real.

Maybe I started out wrong, I dont use external views or padlock, but dont fly with flutter stall etc enabled, cant find anyone using those type of settings, guess I'll have to learn to fly better.

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/RAF%20307%20Squadron%20Wijaszko/

http://www.geocities.com/skrzydla/

Taylortony
04-03-2004, 05:24 PM
for your ip do it here

http://www.il2skins.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=2420