PDA

View Full Version : PATCH, PERFECT AND WOE IS ME.



the_pool_guy
07-13-2004, 02:17 AM
Hey All,

Thank you for your help yesterday in setting up my ninja-spec PC to fly FB in perfect mode. However, I have some questions.

1. How do I know I have perfect settings? In the graphics settings it is set to excellent. If I go to the config file, I cannot see an option for water or -1. Please help me!
2. I have reloaded the patches to 1.22 but cannot get the Spitfire or many of the new craft as I had previously. Can someone put me in the right direction? Is anyone willing to burn the patches on for a disc for me? I'd be more than willing to pay for all costs as well as an extra as a thank you.

Cheers!

Jay

Forgotten Battles changed my life...

the_pool_guy
07-13-2004, 02:17 AM
Hey All,

Thank you for your help yesterday in setting up my ninja-spec PC to fly FB in perfect mode. However, I have some questions.

1. How do I know I have perfect settings? In the graphics settings it is set to excellent. If I go to the config file, I cannot see an option for water or -1. Please help me!
2. I have reloaded the patches to 1.22 but cannot get the Spitfire or many of the new craft as I had previously. Can someone put me in the right direction? Is anyone willing to burn the patches on for a disc for me? I'd be more than willing to pay for all costs as well as an extra as a thank you.

Cheers!

Jay

Forgotten Battles changed my life...

Nero111
07-13-2004, 02:33 AM
Hi
Firstly what graphics card do you have and what driver set are you using for the card in question?
Some cards and driver sets dont allow the Perfect mode option.
You also need to make sure your game is running in OpenGL mode and not DirectX.

You also need to select perfect mode in the landscale detail.
http://img49.photobucket.com/albums/v149/NeroSGS/pfect.jpg

http://qwrety.cc/nero.jpg

the_pool_guy
07-13-2004, 03:49 AM
Thanks for gettin in touch. I have the Radeon X800Pro card and am using the driver that came with the card. I also cannot see an option to use a perfect setting for the landscape. What's happening?!

Forgotten Battles changed my life...

LuckyBoy1
07-13-2004, 03:50 AM
Then you should ask yourself if the trees and or water shoot back at you before giving up the substantial benefits of keeping it in excellent mode all around! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Now with more fiber! It is newer & and even more improved! It's Luckyboy's Guide For Complete Users!...

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/luckyboy/LuckyboysGuide2.htm

Luckyboy = Senior hydraulic landing gear designer for the P-11 & Contributing Editor to Complete Users magazine.

PF_Coastie
07-13-2004, 04:17 AM
You need 3 things for perfect to be visible:

OpenGL

Stencil Buffer ON

32bit Colors

PF_Coastie

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)

Coasties FB and ATI settings (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html)
http://home.earthlink.net/~bmcoastie/images/FS_SIG.jpg
Click here to find out more about FIGHTER SWEEPS 2 (http://663blacktigers.net/FS2index.html)


OFFICIAL ATI BETA TESTER

Snyde-Dastardly
07-13-2004, 06:07 AM
Listen to Coastie, He walked me through my IL2 and ATI setup and now my rig screams and looks fargen great! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

CARPE DIEM
Snyde

http://img21.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Vic-Whiplash/DN_4.bmp

DuxCorvan
07-13-2004, 09:24 AM
BTW, 1.22 has not any Spitfire. You must have AEP (2.00) installed to have Spitfire V, and 2.01 if you want also Spitfire IX.

tsisqua
07-13-2004, 09:31 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
You need 3 things for perfect to be visible:

OpenGL

Stencil Buffer ON

32bit Colors

PF_Coastie

http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/

http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html
http://home.earthlink.net/~bmcoastie/images/FS_SIG.jpg
http://663blacktigers.net/FS2index.html


OFFICIAL ATI BETA TESTER<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Do you see Coasties links? Go there. His little tricks have me flying in Perfect with frames in the 40's and 50's . . . on my 9800 pro. However, Coastie, have you any settings for the X800 yet? I would think that the tweaks that you explain at your site would work with any ATI card to improve performance.

Oh, and if I haven't mentioned it before, thanks, Coastie . . . I haven't played on less than perfect since visiting your site http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Tsisqua

http://server6.uploadit.org/files/tsisqua-bird1.JPG

Capt._Tenneal
07-13-2004, 09:59 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
You need 3 things for perfect to be visible:

OpenGL

Stencil Buffer ON

32bit Colors

PF_Coastie

http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/

http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html
http://home.earthlink.net/~bmcoastie/images/FS_SIG.jpg
http://663blacktigers.net/FS2index.html


OFFICIAL ATI BETA TESTER<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Coastie, does this mean I can run at 800 x 600 resolution on PERFECT if I have the other three criteria mentioned ?

And your link has advice for PERFECT on 9800 cards, can I use the same settings for a 9600XT ? Thanks.

hughlb2
07-13-2004, 11:27 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by DuxCorvan:
BTW, 1.22 has not any Spitfire. You must have AEP (2.00) installed to have Spitfire V, and 2.01 if you want also Spitfire IX.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

and 2.04 if you want to fly the Spitfire IXhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

PF_Coastie
07-13-2004, 02:55 PM
Well, I would love to be able to test an X800 and put it on my site. But that isn't happening any time soon! Maybe next year.

You can run Perfect in 800x600. But thats kinda like driving a porsche convertable in the rain with top down! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/53.gif No point in running perfect if you cant run a descent Res to make it worth while. I would say 10x76 would be the bottom line. Its all up to you though.

Depending on the rest of your system, you may be able to run perfect on a 9600XT. I would keep the AA at 2x and NO aniso or just 2x performance.

Glad I could help you guys. Thanks for using my site.

PF_Coastie

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)

Coasties FB and ATI settings (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html)
http://home.earthlink.net/~bmcoastie/images/FS_SIG.jpg
Click here to find out more about FIGHTER SWEEPS 2 (http://663blacktigers.net/FS2index.html)


OFFICIAL ATI BETA TESTER

Snyde-Dastardly
07-13-2004, 07:55 PM
Hey Coastie,
Not to be OT, but are ya gonna update your site for the new 4.7 drivers??
CARPE DIEM
Snyde

http://img21.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Vic-Whiplash/DN_4.bmp

PF_Coastie
07-13-2004, 08:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Snyde-Dastardly:
Hey Coastie,
Not to be OT, but are ya gonna update your site for the new 4.7 drivers??
CARPE DIEM
Snyde

http://img21.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Vic-Whiplash/DN_4.bmp <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes I am, Right now I am testing some new Beta drivers though. Give me a week or two. The only thing I can see adding right now is some stuff about TAA.

PF_Coastie

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)

Coasties FB and ATI settings (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html)
http://home.earthlink.net/~bmcoastie/images/FS_SIG.jpg
Click here to find out more about FIGHTER SWEEPS 2 (http://663blacktigers.net/FS2index.html)


OFFICIAL ATI BETA TESTER

Snyde-Dastardly
07-13-2004, 09:42 PM
Great!! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif
I was wondering about that. Thanks again for all your help. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

CARPE DIEM
Snyde

http://img21.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Vic-Whiplash/DN_4.bmp

the_pool_guy
07-14-2004, 01:47 AM
Hey Guys,

THANK YOU! I reinstalled FB with the patches and went through your guide to select perfect mode. I also downloaded the new X800Pro driver and it looks absoutely wonderful. The frame rate is a little slower than usual, but I tell you, this is the most awesome looking simulator in the world; can't wait to strap myself in a Spit for the RAF BOE upgrade campaign.

By the way, is there a way I can find out as to what my frame rate is?

Once again, thanks.

Jay

Forgotten Battles changed my life...

tenmmike
07-14-2004, 02:03 AM
there are a few ways like fraps but we will be quick and easy here... do this precisly as i say....while in the game push the shift and Tab key at same time a whole bunch of stuff will pop up on screen then type this EXACTLY the way i do fps START SHOW now push the ENTER button then the shift Tab key at same time again that will do it......FRAPS is very easy but you must go to fraps .com and dl ther product ..its free http://www.fraps.com/download.htm

[This message was edited by tenmmike on Wed July 14 2004 at 01:23 AM.]

Snyde-Dastardly
07-14-2004, 05:47 AM
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gifEnjoy, one thing you can count on in this comunity is help. Just do yourself a favor,dont mention anything about the 50 Cal. or why a patch isent out and its been 2 weeks. :veryhappy http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif :
Snyde

http://img21.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Vic-Whiplash/DN_4.bmp