PDA

View Full Version : On-line speed - OK for 56k??



jason_peters
07-29-2004, 10:48 AM
I only have 56k dial up http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Broadband on its way in my area in a few months http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Until then will I be able to play online. My connection only ever connects at 3200kbs

Cheers

---------------------------
AMD 64bit 3200; Rad 9800 Pro XT; 1 Gig Ram

jason_peters
07-29-2004, 10:48 AM
I only have 56k dial up http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Broadband on its way in my area in a few months http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Until then will I be able to play online. My connection only ever connects at 3200kbs

Cheers

---------------------------
AMD 64bit 3200; Rad 9800 Pro XT; 1 Gig Ram

[Gypsy]
07-29-2004, 10:51 AM
I flew online for almost a year on a 56k dialup (was only getting a 28.8 connection speed) and really had no problems.. sometimes comms was an issue but flying or connecting to servers in HL wasn't..

"310thGypsy"


http://img53.photobucket.com/albums/v163/Gypsybill/GypsySig.gif

Fox_4
07-29-2004, 12:28 PM
It'll be fine, but make sure to play only on servers near to you (geographically) - they'll probably be the ones offering the best pings in hyperlobby. You can probably get away with large numbers of players, but obviously it's safer to play in smaller games.

Troll2k
07-29-2004, 02:09 PM
I too flew for a year with 56k.Without any real problems.I was using Battlecomm communications which was a little more 56k friendly.

Hyperlobby defaults your speed to 14.4k anyway so you should be good to go.

However hosting for more than 6 might be a problem.

carguy_
07-29-2004, 02:23 PM
I for one hated those times.I was kicked from 8 on every 10 servers.Ppl talked to me like someone who is worse.Didn`t play online till I got ISDN - was enough.

http://carguy.w.interia.pl/tracki/sig23d.jpg

_VR_ScorpionWorm
07-29-2004, 03:42 PM
32kbps should be fine, I connect at 26.4 and have <250 pings when connecting to servers in the US(I live in Texas). If I get rid of my second phone line I can connect at 50.2Kbps.

http://img55.photobucket.com/albums/v169/Scorpion08/Hurri-1.jpg

www.vultures-row.com (http://www.vultures-row.com)

Flyby_99
07-29-2004, 07:15 PM
56k here. I fly on HL. My average connect speed is 49kb/ps. I came across a great tip to get around the default 14k thing. 2 things I did:
1-opened the HL folder on my pc, and found the conf.ini, and located the section for FB near the bottom. I set the net speed. entering "4800".
2- In the FB folder, that same entry was made to the net speed there as well.
It helps, and I get slighty better pings in such rooms as WarClouds 44+ and BirdsofPrey_FR. Give it a try.
Flyby out

my gun convergence is set to harmonize on your @ss, so hold very still. this won't hurt long!

Weather_Man
07-29-2004, 07:26 PM
I went 6 months without trying online play because I didn't think it would work with dialup. Turned out it was not a problem at all. Granted, broadband is the way to go, but don't let the 56k stop you from trying.

At least the 6 months gave me time to practice before I went online and got annihilated. It could have been much worse. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

http://banners.wunderground.com/banner/smalltemptr/language/www/US/TX/Dallas.gif

Dawg-of-death
07-29-2004, 10:21 PM
I use to fly online with 56k no prob .... Big missions take a while to load ..... be patent


S~

Bad-MF(Mongrel Fighter) AKA .......Dawg-of-death