PDA

View Full Version : memory



wotan111
03-18-2004, 08:11 PM
I have 512ddr pc3200 dual channel at the moment.

I have serious slowdown when playing BOE and there are a lot of planes and ground unit saround so I need some more memory. Tried all the tweaks.

So will 256 be enough? Also if I buy one stick will it effect the dual channel?

Im after a cheap upgrade which will ease the strain.

I have.
Win XP Professional
1.8xp
512ddr
MSI 4200ti 128meg.

wotan111
03-18-2004, 08:11 PM
I have 512ddr pc3200 dual channel at the moment.

I have serious slowdown when playing BOE and there are a lot of planes and ground unit saround so I need some more memory. Tried all the tweaks.

So will 256 be enough? Also if I buy one stick will it effect the dual channel?

Im after a cheap upgrade which will ease the strain.

I have.
Win XP Professional
1.8xp
512ddr
MSI 4200ti 128meg.

Helonwhls87
03-18-2004, 08:42 PM
I'd go for another 512mb. You can never have to much but you can have to little.

[This message was edited by Helonwhls87 on Thu March 18 2004 at 10:10 PM.]

TgD Thunderbolt56
03-18-2004, 08:43 PM
512 is borderline, but it may be your processor. 1.8 is below the recommended 2.4



http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg

steve_v
03-18-2004, 08:49 PM
In FB v1.22, 650mb -700mb was spot on. AEP reccommends 1Gb RAM. Haven't done or seen any testing for RAM useage with AEP to give an informed answer.

WUAF_Badsight
03-18-2004, 10:51 PM
combat flight sims are CPU & RAM usage heavy

512 is boarderline

for BoE especially id want a Gig

your procesor isnt that great for smooth FB playing either

the CPU has a HIGH workload with combat flight sims

hope this helps you decide

FI-finbar1
03-19-2004, 05:02 AM
I have a 2.1 processor,and 1gb of RAM,and with BOE,suffer slight stutters very occasionally,I would def go for another 512.

Kampfmeister
03-19-2004, 05:16 AM
I'm thinking of getting another 512Mb myself, which would put me up to 1Gb of Corsair 3200. I can install up to a total of 1.5Gb on my motherboard. I have a P4 2.66Mhz and ATI 9800 128Mb now. I don't plan on upgrading for at least another two years except maybe a new video card. Would it be worth going past 1Gb of RAM for future games or wouldn't it really make that much of a difference?

WUAF_Badsight
03-19-2004, 05:31 AM
by 2005 , 32 bit systems without PCI express will be OBSOLETE

wotan111
03-19-2004, 08:03 AM
Would 1 gig of memory and n antalon xp 3.0 be good enough for BOB?

IF I also bought a 9800?

Technology moves that fast that you would wait forever before you upgraded as something new is always around the corner.

For all my other games my comp at present works fine except with IL2FB.

Though comps with pci express will be behind only real tech heads will be prepared to keep upgradeing every two years.

Im sure a top line card and 3.0xp and a gig of ram would be enough for the forseable future.

I hope anywayhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

I will buy 512meg and will get a 3.0gig cheap towards the end of the year once theve droped in price a little. I will also upgrade my card then to a 9800 as Im sure they would have dropped down to.