PDA

View Full Version : Bug? Tail gunner warns you only after autopilot had been activated



XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 05:00 AM
Continued from http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=ywhwl

FB 1.11

When I was flying the IL-2 in the original IL-2 Sturmovik 1.2 (not FB!) recently, I noticed once more that the tail gunner warned me when an enemy was going to fire from my six. He shouted something like "Break left" and sometimes the display said "Dodge! Enemy at our tail!"

Like others I had been missing these warnings in FB, but as someone told me that they're still there I did some testing. My result (not 100% confirmed) is that the gunner will only shout his warnings after you have activated either the pilot's or the gunner's autopilot at least for a moment!

Is it possible to make warnings default again? It seems rather odd to me that you have to enable autopilot to make the gunner say useful things, besides "oh, no". /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Tested only IL-2, not Stuka or other aircraft with gunners.

---------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 05:00 AM
Continued from http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=ywhwl

FB 1.11

When I was flying the IL-2 in the original IL-2 Sturmovik 1.2 (not FB!) recently, I noticed once more that the tail gunner warned me when an enemy was going to fire from my six. He shouted something like "Break left" and sometimes the display said "Dodge! Enemy at our tail!"

Like others I had been missing these warnings in FB, but as someone told me that they're still there I did some testing. My result (not 100% confirmed) is that the gunner will only shout his warnings after you have activated either the pilot's or the gunner's autopilot at least for a moment!

Is it possible to make warnings default again? It seems rather odd to me that you have to enable autopilot to make the gunner say useful things, besides "oh, no". /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Tested only IL-2, not Stuka or other aircraft with gunners.

---------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

XyZspineZyX
11-07-2003, 04:02 AM
plumps_
I can confirm it works in the Stuka as well. Good find! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif
I noticed in the Stuka at least it only works if your plane is set to Ace or Veteran. If it's set to Average or Rookie they won't say a word.

Cheers.....Smokin256