PDA

View Full Version : highlander vs longer range characters

WHEREISDAUBENY
09-29-2017, 07:04 PM
So i recently started playing highlander and realized something, if he fights for example nobushi, he gets litterally nothing of a parry, his guardbreak range is to short, his light is to short, and his heavy is to slow, how the hell did they make such a misstake?

SenBotsu893
09-29-2017, 08:12 PM
not a mistake. and not Highlander exvlusive. some characters with polearms have the advantage of beeing out of range if certain attacks get parried.

Halvtand
09-29-2017, 09:30 PM
Same thing with some Lawbreaker and even Shugoki attacks. Sometimes they're just too far away and gets a free GB when you try to do one right after a parry. It stinks, but that's the game.

SwellChemosabe
09-29-2017, 11:23 PM
Why in all the holds of Valkenheim would you ever try to guard break a Nobushi after a parry? and with a Highlander?

try using that stagger time to close the gap instead and then use an Offensive/Defensive stance mixup instead. Or just use counter attack in any direction she attacks from, that'll close the distance for you.

WHEREISDAUBENY
09-30-2017, 12:00 AM
because thats the only punish he has after a parry pretty much and any decent player will gb you if you try to dash in and do a combo, or just light attack you and dodge

WHEREISDAUBENY
09-30-2017, 12:01 AM
not really, i dont know any other character that does not get any kind of reward for parrying

UbiNoty
09-30-2017, 12:20 AM
All heroes will have their own strengths and weaknesses, and different advantages/disadvantages against certain matchups. With Nobushi, she needs to keep her distance and she's kind of squishy - so if you can get her out of stamina, or find even one or two openings to get within her defense, then there's very little she can do.

SwellChemosabe
09-30-2017, 12:21 AM