PDA

View Full Version : Stutters still in patch!!!



Kwiatos
05-20-2004, 12:50 PM
Still are frezes (sttuters) in online game - dogfight when someone get new plane. Every time when new plane appear in map there are 1 second freez/pause in gameplay. These stutters wasn't before AEP. Patch 2.01 doesn't fix it http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

My friends have it problem too.

My spec:
Barton XP 2800+, MSI KT3 ULTRA, 1 GB DDRAM, 80 GB HDD, GF 4600 MSI 128 MB, Win XP Pro, internet conection 512/128 (DSL)

Kwiatos
05-20-2004, 12:50 PM
Still are frezes (sttuters) in online game - dogfight when someone get new plane. Every time when new plane appear in map there are 1 second freez/pause in gameplay. These stutters wasn't before AEP. Patch 2.01 doesn't fix it http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

My friends have it problem too.

My spec:
Barton XP 2800+, MSI KT3 ULTRA, 1 GB DDRAM, 80 GB HDD, GF 4600 MSI 128 MB, Win XP Pro, internet conection 512/128 (DSL)

BaldieJr
05-20-2004, 01:07 PM
So make a mission with fewer planes and put static planes in it.

Whats so hard to understand people? You have 100 planes at 3-5 mb's each. If the server has all 100 planes available, thats 300-500mbs of ram.

Do you have that much video ram? Of course not, and some dont even have that much system ram.

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
My Specs (read 'em and weep):
* Automatically grinds whole beans before brewing
* Fully programmable 24 hours in advance
* Brew Pause feature lets you enjoy a cup before brewing has finished
* Automatically shuts off when brewing is complete
* Grind-off feature for brewing ground coffee
* 1-4 cup feature to accommodate coffee for one
* 10-cup double-wall insulated thermal carafe to keep your coffee hot long after brewing
* Gold tone commercial-style permanent filter eliminates the need to buy coffee filters
* Charcoal water filter removes impurities from the water
* Separate grinder chamber and filter area allow for easy cleanup
* Limited 3-year warranty
</pre>

LIDZ
05-20-2004, 01:26 PM
its not the server that loads the images its the personal PC, all the server does is keep all the info about where everybody is relative to each other on the map.

i get stutters with 2 planes offline. i have about the same system as above, with all the latest drivers. it seems to happen as the high res mods are loaded for the first time during a mission. some times just fireing the guns the first time in a mission a get a small stutter. wierd???

VW-IceFire
05-20-2004, 01:29 PM
Thats normal...

You can't just have something magically appear...its loaded...and the IL2 engine dynamically loads content as needed.

This stuttering because of new players or new planes being loaded in a multiplayer environment has been present since 1.0. Dedicated server software smoothes it out but doesn't eliminate it completely. Hopefully that will arrive shortly and smooth things up a bit but this problem has been present since the beginning.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"

[This message was edited by VW-IceFire on Thu May 20 2004 at 12:39 PM.]

LIDZ
05-20-2004, 01:50 PM
then its a problem! not normal! how can you do a head on attack if the second you get to pull the trigger (as the high res mod loads and gun flashes etc) you get a freeze and when you regain control the target is 1 km behind you?

i find this problem with ground attack/ship attack to! tho the results are enought to 'buy the farm'

why if adding all the planes to the 'map/server' solves the problem then shouldn't the say nearest 2 or 3 planes have the data pre-loaded, ready to use, as i said it only happens on the first pass after that the data seem to stay resident in the memory.
i usually have to scroll though all the planes on outside view to load them all in to memory to get a good first pass. obviously you cant do this online at full real.

NN_EnigmuS
05-20-2004, 01:52 PM
just put the plane of dogfight in a place of the map as object and the problem is solved

http://www.nnavirex.com/public/enigmus.gif

Kwiatos
05-20-2004, 02:23 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LIDZ:
then its a problem! not normal! how can you do a head on attack if the second you get to pull the trigger (as the high res mod loads and gun flashes etc) you get a freeze and when you regain control the target is 1 km behind you?

i find this problem with ground attack/ship attack to! tho the results are enought to 'buy the farm'

why if adding all the planes to the 'map/server' solves the problem then shouldn't the say nearest 2 or 3 planes have the data pre-loaded, ready to use, as i said it only happens on the first pass after that the data seem to stay resident in the memory.
i usually have to scroll though all the planes on outside view to load them all in to memory to get a good first pass. obviously you cant do this online at full real.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

For these kind of freezes you should set compresion textures - S3TC !!! These should be help.

But stutters when new plane appear in map are very fustrating http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif I though that patch fix these but didn't. If i remebmer correctly before AEP there wasn' these kind of stutters.

crazyivan1970
05-20-2004, 02:31 PM
As Baldie said... host is not preloading corresponding static planes, That`s the main cause. Next main problem is weak host (PC/Connection + over-estimation of hosts abilities, meaning ammount of ppl in the game, landscape, object positioning...etc).

V!
Regards,

http://blitzpigs.com/forum/images/smiles/smokin.gif

VFC*Crazyivan aka VFC*HOST

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/coop-ivan.jpg

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/vfc/home.htm

Kozhedub: In combat potential, the Yak-3, La-7 and La-9 fighters were indisputably superior to the Bf-109s and Fw-190s. But, as they say, no matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down.

VFA-195 Snacky
05-21-2004, 05:41 AM
So what do you recommend for those of us creating these missions Ivan?? Go ahead and place static aircraft somewhere on the map so when the mission loads all the textures will be preloaded when a player selects a plane and joins??

This causes big load times, but is it really worth it??

http://www.x-plane.org/users/531seawolf/b_a_presidential_first.jpg
"Navy1, Call the Ball- Roger Ball."


**Opinions expressed are not those of UbiSoft or Eagle Dynamics**

NN_EnigmuS
05-21-2004, 05:47 AM
it doesn't cause so much big load times for me lol and add a lot for the pleasure of the game.

http://www.nnavirex.com/public/enigmus.gif

ECV56_Rolf
05-21-2004, 07:27 AM
Reduce the number of planes of choice in the bases, so that the probability that they have been allready selected is higher.

Adlerangriff
05-22-2004, 01:30 PM
Always seems to be sound related when I get stutters. Disable sound then turn it back on again and see how you do.

p1ngu666
05-22-2004, 03:56 PM
check and see how much ram fb uses. it used to use tons, but once when i looked recently it was only using 76meg :O
oh u do alt tab too something, then ctrl+shift+esc which is shortcut for task manager

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg
&lt;123_GWood_JG123&gt; NO SPAM!

WOLFMondo
05-22-2004, 04:03 PM
Turning off download/custom skins on the server helps allot as well.

http://bill.nickdafish.com/sig/mondo.jpg
Wolfgaming.net. Where the Gameplay is teamplay (http://www.wolfgaming.net)

crazyivan1970
05-22-2004, 05:24 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Snacky1:
So what do you recommend for those of us creating these missions Ivan?? Go ahead and place static aircraft somewhere on the map so when the mission loads all the textures will be preloaded when a player selects a plane and joins??

This causes big load times, but is it really worth it??

http://www.x-plane.org/users/531seawolf/b_a_presidential_first.jpg
"Navy1, Call the Ball- Roger Ball."


**Opinions expressed are not those of UbiSoft or Eagle Dynamics**



<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Here mate: http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=50910533&m=709109242 this thread contains everything you need to know about smooth game play.

V!
Regards,

http://blitzpigs.com/forum/images/smiles/smokin.gif

VFC*Crazyivan aka VFC*HOST

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/coop-ivan.jpg

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/vfc/home.htm

Kozhedub: In combat potential, the Yak-3, La-7 and La-9 fighters were indisputably superior to the Bf-109s and Fw-190s. But, as they say, no matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down.

Hunter82
05-22-2004, 05:31 PM
Upload speed is key for dedciated server as is static AC imo.

==============================
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com)
ATI Catalyst Beta Tester
Catalyst Feedback (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/)
Catalyst Driver Download (http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html)
==============================