PDA

View Full Version : Router on UBI.com Discussion



BM357_TinMan
09-20-2004, 09:24 AM
I started this thread so that those that wish to make comments about the "router" issue on UBI would have a place to express themselves with out hijacking Pappy's petition thread.

For my part, I don't believe the problem has a thing to do with ports. I have DMZ'd the host computer to no avail.

When you first sign into UBI, it advises you that you have two IP's "local" and "internet". I set for internet, but when I host, it send the local ip to the client. The client CANNOT connect this way.

I even tried selecting local to see if that would help.

If anybody has any advise that doesn't include forwarding ports, please let me know.

{EDIT - Btw, this wasn't an issue until AFTER one of the early patches. Before the installation of one of the early patches, I hosted on UBI.com with out problems at all on UBI. At the time, I thought it was a patch bug that would be ironed out in a future version release and it never was resolved.}

Thanks.

BM357_TinMan
xo BM357 VFG
www.bm357.com (http://www.bm357.com)

[This message was edited by BM357_TinMan on Mon September 20 2004 at 09:13 AM.]

BM357_TinMan
09-20-2004, 09:24 AM
I started this thread so that those that wish to make comments about the "router" issue on UBI would have a place to express themselves with out hijacking Pappy's petition thread.

For my part, I don't believe the problem has a thing to do with ports. I have DMZ'd the host computer to no avail.

When you first sign into UBI, it advises you that you have two IP's "local" and "internet". I set for internet, but when I host, it send the local ip to the client. The client CANNOT connect this way.

I even tried selecting local to see if that would help.

If anybody has any advise that doesn't include forwarding ports, please let me know.

{EDIT - Btw, this wasn't an issue until AFTER one of the early patches. Before the installation of one of the early patches, I hosted on UBI.com with out problems at all on UBI. At the time, I thought it was a patch bug that would be ironed out in a future version release and it never was resolved.}

Thanks.

BM357_TinMan
xo BM357 VFG
www.bm357.com (http://www.bm357.com)

[This message was edited by BM357_TinMan on Mon September 20 2004 at 09:13 AM.]

T_O_A_D
09-20-2004, 10:06 AM
Bump

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
Commanding Officer of the 131st_VFW (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

Gurberly
09-20-2004, 10:30 AM
Host on Hyperlobby instead?

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_12.gif (http://www.fighting-irish.org/)

Tully__
09-20-2004, 10:41 AM
Let's consider the option of hosting at HL instead as considered and rejected for reasons that need not enter this discussion. I prefer HL but that's no reason not to try and sort out this issue for those using a router and preferring to host at Ubi.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)
Joysticks & FB (http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/sticks.htm)

Salut
Tully

T_O_A_D
09-20-2004, 11:00 AM
Like I mentioned before. Since becoming a Mod for UBI, I feel I should give UBI some flight time. Why? So the New comers to the game see Mods involved in the game.

Hyper is good and will be for a long time to come, I host,and play there often.

But would like to have the option to host at UBI as well as play.

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
Commanding Officer of the 131st_VFW (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg