PDA

View Full Version : Thermal goggles



XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 07:37 PM
Hello all,

May I please point you to the following post: http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=scell_tech&id=zytov

Right at the bottom I posted something of which I don't think has been noticed yet. (?)

Thank you,
Mark

XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 07:37 PM
Hello all,

May I please point you to the following post: http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=scell_tech&id=zytov

Right at the bottom I posted something of which I don't think has been noticed yet. (?)

Thank you,
Mark

XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 08:00 PM
Sorry that was ignored, I must have missed it somehow. Please post your dxdiag on this thread and I'd be glad to be of service to you. For info on how to post the dxdiag, there is a thread that I've created dedicated to that.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48
All in my modded "Spiderman" case!

XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 08:07 PM
Hi!

Thanks upfirst: That was quick!

Second instead of me making long posts I thought i'd host the DirectX-text file on my server:

http://menem.mine.nu/DxDiag.txt

Makes reading easier I would think? :-)

Second, My computing skill is that of a Sysadmin, which I am as a day job.

In other words, you will not have to spend hours explaining every step for me, just quick pointers would be absolutly great!

Thanks again!
Mark

XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 09:43 PM
Well, let's try two things first:

1. Go to www.ati.com (http://www.ati.com) and get the NEW Catalyst 3.6 drivers. I'm not kidding, they were released yesterday.

2. Go to www.intel.com (http://www.intel.com) and grab the latest drivers for your motherboard.

Then, if that doesn't work, try to disable fastwrites and texture accelleration to see if that fixes it. Make sure your AA and AF are set to application preference (off) because of weird issues.

Sorry this took so long, I had to mow the yard /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif .

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48
All in my modded "Spiderman" case!

XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 11:16 PM
Hi,

I tried it, installed those funky new drivers from ATI. Installed the newest drivers for my motherboard from Intel, disabled fast writes, texture acceleration, And put both those sliders on two tabs on Application preference.

Fired up the game, tried, with no luck I'm afraid... :-(

I do hope you have more suggestions for me?

Later,
Mark

P.s.
New DxDiag info: http://menem.mine.nu/DxDiag2.txt

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 12:59 AM
Have you tried simply reinstalling the game? There may be a bad file somewhere....

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48
All in my modded "Spiderman" case!

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 09:45 AM
Ok,

I have now formatted the hard drive and reinstalled windows and the game itself.

First ofcourse installing the correct drivers, for audio, video, motherboard, screen, up till the cdrom drive...

Still no go. I just get stuck again.

May I remond you that it does not happen all the time, usually as long as I stan still and not move the mouse I can put them on and look at what i'm looking. Then put them off (the goggles) and look somewhere else. etc...

I really do think that I may have stumbled on a bug in the game.For I've seen other post's that describe similar problems with the thermal goggles.

Is there a game-engineer who could shed some light on this subject please?

I mean, the posts I've read concern computers that are quite strong as game pc's. And if I look at mine, 512MB, 1.4Ghz, 128MB ATI Radeon 9000, Nice big screen etc, the game should not be a problem for the machine at all.

Plus the fact that other games, like unrealII, starlancer, The matrix, have no problems at all on my machine... :-( All that is leading me to believe that there may just perhaps be something wrong with the game? Heaven forbid ofcourse.

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 05:48 PM
WAIT, hold on...is your video card for a laptop? Is it the Radeon 9000 mobility? If it is there is something special you need to do. There is a overclocking program called "Rage 3D Tweak" and can be found @ www.guru3d.com (http://www.guru3d.com). Even if you don't have a Mobiliy, try this anyway, it won't hurt your card. Now: set it to force the Pixel Shader Language down to Version 1.0. I don't know where it's lockated, so you'll have to find it on your own.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

Additional PC version help:

http://scmod.splintercellsource.com

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 08:54 PM
Ok,

No it is a desktop and not a laptop. I have a "real" video card, not the mobility version.

But indeed the 3d rage trick did help! No more hang ups.

Terrible picture though, but it work's and I can continue playing it now.

Thanks!

Mark

XyZspineZyX
07-19-2003, 12:20 PM
Just to finish this post:

I've been fiddling around with that setting. (Pixel Shader) and managed to safely put it up until version 2.0

And I'm not getting hangups.

That means the picture is great now as well.

Mark

XyZspineZyX
07-19-2003, 06:21 PM
I'm glad I told you about that program. The 2.0 you're referring to is for Directx 9.0 cards like mine. That's where my card defaults.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

Additional PC version help:

http://scmod.splintercellsource.com