PDA

View Full Version : Hardware and bandwith spec. for hosting online games



jada002
08-12-2004, 04:54 AM
Hi

I have a AMD3000+ with 512MB mem. And a cable conn. with 1024/256. How many users can i host in a online game without freezes and stuff. I know this is somewhat down to trial and error, but what kinda numbers can i expect
6-12-16 ?? Anyone know. Thanks in advance

jada002
08-12-2004, 04:54 AM
Hi

I have a AMD3000+ with 512MB mem. And a cable conn. with 1024/256. How many users can i host in a online game without freezes and stuff. I know this is somewhat down to trial and error, but what kinda numbers can i expect
6-12-16 ?? Anyone know. Thanks in advance

242Sqn-TheProf
08-12-2004, 05:23 AM
It all depends on the number of objects in the mission. I have a cable connection, 1 Ghz AMD and 756 Mb of Ram. I can host 16 players with pretty good performance and hosted 28 Players once, with some lag but it wasn't too bad.

But if you have a small caliber AA or a lot of ground objects and you get low, it will stutter badly.

512 Mb of RAM probably isn't quite enough. We found 756 is the minimum to run without a lot of disk cacheing going on, also I use Cacheman to smooth out any stutters caused by disk accessing. You will still get pauses when people spawn, not much you can do about that.

Also with lag, we've found it's most often caused by delays at the individual pilots connection and not the host connection, there isn't much you can do about that. You can change the host connection speed to a 56 K. modem and it will transmit less info., but that can also make the planes behave a bit strangely by itself.

http://members.rogers.com/laurie.button/242Sqn_TheProf.jpg

ABQc_Shark
08-12-2004, 07:42 AM
S!

1st - Hosting depends a lot on your upload BW. You have a 256kb upload that will be enough for hosting 16. Here's how I calculate how many players you can host. 256kbits = 30kBytes in upload speed, each client take about 2KBytes. If you try more, your BW will be overload and ping will go hi and then this will creat lag to clients.

2nd - PC. You have a good PC for hosting almost any mission.

Hope it helped

LuckyBoy1
08-12-2004, 09:03 AM
Yes, it would depend on the map and how well others connect to you, but you really need more RAM. If upgrading is not an option at this time, see my Users Guide for managing system resources.

Now with an actual index & more fiber! It is newer & and even more improved! It's Luckyboy's Guide For Complete Users!...

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/luckyboy/LuckyboysGuide2.htm

Luckyboy = Senior hydraulic landing gear designer for the P-11 & Contributing Editor to Complete Users magazine.

jada002
08-12-2004, 09:18 AM
thanks lads http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Ill look for more memory then

JG5_UnKle
08-12-2004, 09:46 AM
Avoid the Gulf of Finland and Berlin Maps as they are a bit of a Nightmare!

Don't put too much AA in (sa mentioned) and beware that moving convoys of vehicles can lag badly (more fro COOP games) as well as many AI aircraft.

I have similar specs AMD64 3000 1Gig RAM and a 1024/256 connection and so 16 players is no problem did it last night with all player pings well below 100 - depends on many factors though http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/victoria.stevens/jg5_logo.jpg
JG5 Main Site (http://www.alucinor.com/eismeer)
Public Forum (http://www.alucinor.com/eismeer/forum)

The190Flyer
08-12-2004, 11:16 AM
I agree with Luckyboy, you should have 1Gb of RAM in your system, especially with a +3000 CPU so it's not waitin on the mem., that way youll get the game runnin a lot faster, and like JG5 said those big maps and AA will lag your system terribly, you can easliy host up to 12 players , also depends on the other players pings too.

"Once I saw the P-51's flying over Berlin, I knew the jig was up."-Herman Goering
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/351.gif

ABQc_Shark
08-12-2004, 12:22 PM
S!

Oups,,,didn't saw that you only have 512Mb....get a Gig....that will help a lot