PDA

View Full Version : Dual P3 500Mhz, 256MB - Suitable for a dedicated server?



Deuxbieres
07-23-2004, 05:17 AM
Hi Flyers,

Have an opportunity to get hold of a dual CPU (2x 500MHz P3) box with 256MB RAM (PC100 ECC) - anyone out there know if this will be man enough to run a dedicated server?

Cheers,


-: Deux :-

Deuxbieres
07-23-2004, 05:17 AM
Hi Flyers,

Have an opportunity to get hold of a dual CPU (2x 500MHz P3) box with 256MB RAM (PC100 ECC) - anyone out there know if this will be man enough to run a dedicated server?

Cheers,


-: Deux :-

Zayets
07-23-2004, 05:22 AM
Don't know,for a linux dedicated for sure it will be man enough.

Zayets out

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/Zayets-sigIAR.jpg

DaBallz
07-23-2004, 05:26 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Zayets:
Don't know,for a linux dedicated for sure it will be man enough.

Zayets out

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/Zayets-sigIAR.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yup, it will run, but you might need more RAM
and that PC100 stuff is compatible with nothing.
Since it's only serving it should be
adequate.
By the way, i hope it's a freebee......
It's not worth more than the cost of disposal...

Da...

B16Enk
07-23-2004, 05:31 AM
Hmm.

PC100 ECC RAM, close relation to rocking horse manure.

What make is it (the PC/Mobo)?

I may have some sticks you could have, where in the world are you?

Deuxbieres
07-23-2004, 05:48 AM
The box is an IBM Intellistation and yep, the RAM sucks. The guy wants 150 for it (I'm in the UK if you haven't already guessed from the funny money we use).

Failing getting this, what would be the minium spec box I'd need to get a DS running on a 1MB ADSL connection?

Cheers,

-: Deux :-

LittleMadZ
07-23-2004, 06:19 AM
What u need most is RAM!!! you told that the ram is ECC, probably the best solution is to understand if that mobo supports normal SDRAM too... if it's right you can buy a normal 512 PC133 sdram bank and i think it could be fine... otherwise in my mind it's not a good business. I red somewhere in this forum that a server with a P3 800 and 512mb of ram is good for 8 players. You have a nice 1mbit line there, i think it would be nice to have a more powerfoul machine to really stress that line...

Bye

Madz

Zayets
07-23-2004, 06:19 AM
Even if it comes with a monitor,the price is a bit high.Take it if you have 150 quids to spare,otherwise don't.

Zayets out

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/Zayets-sigIAR.jpg

B16Enk
07-23-2004, 06:33 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Deuxbieres:
The box is an IBM Intellistation and yep, the RAM sucks. The guy wants 150 for it (I'm in the UK if you haven't already guessed from the funny money we use).

Failing getting this, what would be the minium spec box I'd need to get a DS running on a 1MB ADSL connection?

Cheers,

-: Deux :-<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Got a model number for that?

I'm UK too so if we can determine the RAM type is compatible I can send you a Gb http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

For the price of postage too http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

ASM 1
07-23-2004, 06:43 AM
B16

Sorry for the thread hijack Deuxbieres (cool name btw)

If your memory is incompatible with the IBM - I have an Imac G3 that would take kindly to a gig of ram http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

could we come to some sort of arrangement? (PT me)

As I say - not trying to usurp original poster - just if it doesnt work out as compatible.....

cheers

S!

Andrew

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v299/asm016/WW2%20Stuff/Sig_Pic.jpg

Deuxbieres
07-23-2004, 06:43 AM
Thanks guys for the advice and help, and specifically B16Enk for the very kind offer to help me out with RAM, very appreciated.

On reflection though, I think I'm going to rethink this thing and look at buying the bare bone components and throw the money at a better CPU and RAM. Ultimately, some of you might wanna try the end result and I'd prefer to give the community a better experience than a lesser one.

Again, thanks and hope to see you guys in the skies http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

-: Deux :-

ASM 1
07-23-2004, 06:49 AM
B16

can I have your ram then? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/784.gif the mac supports 100mhz sdram not sure about ecc/non ECC...... According to crucial memory selector it comes up with this for my G3:
Upgrade for the Apple iMac Special Edition (G3-600)
SDRAM, PC100 " CL=2 " Unbuffered " Non-parity " 100MHz " 3.3V " 32Meg x 64


And the max the mac supports is 1 GIG of either PC100 or 133....

should really be in another thread I know but forums are acting up (for me anyways)

S!

Andrew

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v299/asm016/WW2%20Stuff/Sig_Pic.jpg

B16Enk
07-23-2004, 06:59 AM
Ok ASM, the memory is 168pin Buffered DIMM lately from a Compaq (The New HP http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif) Proliant Server and you are welcome to it, the stuff we have thrown out here recently is criminal. Although I recently managed to persuade the business we support, a major company well known for it's mobile phones http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif, to donate a large Quad XEON Proliant 7000 with 4Gb of RAM and 1Tb of disks to a local college.

Original instructions were to put it in a skip http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/52.gif (actually it would have been disposed of according to Environmental legislation - in to the boot of my car and then Ebay http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif)!!

If it will fit M8 you are welcome to it, the notches are spaced differently for buffered.

B16Enk
07-23-2004, 07:01 AM
Just read your post ASM, this RAM won't work http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

However.............

I've got a few sticks of 100 and 133 SDRAM hanging around, 128Mb, 256Mb and 512Mb sticks.

PT me your address and it's a done deal M8 http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

ASM 1
07-23-2004, 10:34 AM
B16 : PT waiting for you....

S!

Andrew

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v299/asm016/WW2%20Stuff/Sig_Pic.jpg

Xiolablu3
07-23-2004, 04:42 PM
I reckon that is overpriced I'm afraid.

I bought a 2500+xp for 66, a Radeon 8500 for 27 and a MSI 6712 motherboard for 25 about 6 months ago (hence they will be even cheaper now)

Thats a great barebones kit for 100.

I recommend you start buying components for a system instead of buying an out of date system for 150. You could buy bits as you can aford them that way and build a good system instead of getting one which will be completely out of date in a few months. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif