PDA

View Full Version : AEP Dedicated Server: Game types, Is this possible??????



StudUK
05-27-2004, 02:19 PM
Thanks to CrazyIvan I have now managed for the first time to set up a dedicated Server for Lan Partys.

However what we were doing before when we linked up was to host on my playing machine Co-op missions against the computer AI.

Can such games be hosted using the AEP dedicated server software or is it limited to user v user dogfights??

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.riche/Album/Misc/sig.jpg
----------------
WinXP Pro (SP1)
pentium4 3.06ghz
1gb (4x 256 OCZ PC2700)
Aopen AX4R Plus MB
Radeon 9800 Pro (Cat 4.4)
SB Audigy2

StudUK
05-27-2004, 02:19 PM
Thanks to CrazyIvan I have now managed for the first time to set up a dedicated Server for Lan Partys.

However what we were doing before when we linked up was to host on my playing machine Co-op missions against the computer AI.

Can such games be hosted using the AEP dedicated server software or is it limited to user v user dogfights??

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.riche/Album/Misc/sig.jpg
----------------
WinXP Pro (SP1)
pentium4 3.06ghz
1gb (4x 256 OCZ PC2700)
Aopen AX4R Plus MB
Radeon 9800 Pro (Cat 4.4)
SB Audigy2

crazyivan1970
05-27-2004, 04:20 PM
No mate, dogfights Only. But, you can use FBD to simulate COOP to some extent.

V!
Regards,

http://blitzpigs.com/forum/images/smiles/smokin.gif

VFC*Crazyivan aka VFC*HOST

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/coop-ivan.jpg

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/vfc/home.htm

Kozhedub: In combat potential, the Yak-3, La-7 and La-9 fighters were indisputably superior to the Bf-109s and Fw-190s. But, as they say, no matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down.

Teufel_Eldritch
05-27-2004, 04:29 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
...you can use FBD to simulate COOP to some extent.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE> Can you go into some deatil into how? Just out of curiosity.

YANKEE ROSE
-----------
http://img19.photobucket.com/albums/v57/Teufel_Eldritch/Avatars%20Sigs/lw2.jpg

crazyivan1970
05-27-2004, 04:33 PM
Using FB Deamon you can somewhat define mission objectives, meaning you can define how much stuff on the ground, how many pilot "lifes" are allowed per side, how much aircraft or ground objects does it take to acheive victory...things like that. You can load up next mission automatically when goals are acheived or time is expired.

V!
Regards,

http://blitzpigs.com/forum/images/smiles/smokin.gif

VFC*Crazyivan aka VFC*HOST

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/coop-ivan.jpg

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/vfc/home.htm

Kozhedub: In combat potential, the Yak-3, La-7 and La-9 fighters were indisputably superior to the Bf-109s and Fw-190s. But, as they say, no matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down.

StudUK
05-28-2004, 04:13 AM
CrazyIvan, sry for being thick

But as for playing against Computer AI Planes its a no go?

Ie (Red team) Human co-op team Vs (Blue Team) Computer AI

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.riche/Album/Misc/sig.jpg
----------------
WinXP Pro (SP1)
pentium4 3.06ghz
1gb (4x 256 OCZ PC2700)
Aopen AX4R Plus MB
Radeon 9800 Pro (Cat 4.4)
SB Audigy2

T_O_A_D
05-28-2004, 08:36 PM
StudUK
To do what you want, you need a normal install on your game server machine. These meens too have full capabilities of IL2 you will need, the normal Game installation aswell as the dedicated server.

When you want to dogfight and free up resources you use the dedicated server.

When you want to host a Coop or a Campaign you will have to Run the game normally on the host machine. Spawn an aircraft on bottonm of list with host machine and just leave it parked, just don't hit fly till every one else has, including you on your gamer machine.

Once everyone is ready up then click fly on the Host machine.
You can do all this remote desktop but its very fussy, alot easer to just have Host machine next to you.

Good luck It works well.
You can foce your Host games resilution down to minimal and same with graphics and turn off sound to free up resources too.

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
131st_Toad's Squad link (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

StudUK
05-29-2004, 02:51 AM
THanks for the info Toad, I'll give it a go

Cheers

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.riche/Album/Misc/sig.jpg
----------------
WinXP Pro (SP1)
pentium4 3.06ghz
1gb (4x 256 OCZ PC2700)
Aopen AX4R Plus MB
Radeon 9800 Pro (Cat 4.4)
SB Audigy2