PDA

View Full Version : My Trees are gone!!



cmndrbob
05-20-2004, 12:46 PM
I wonder if anyone can help me, I seem to have lost those nefty trees and srubs. The big forests are still there and so are the palm trees on the pacific map; but no individual trees in the other maps. I sometimes mess around tweaking things and experimenting, so I have no doubt that I've done something, but I can't seem to get them back. Any Ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

"Have fun stormin'the castle"

cmndrbob
05-20-2004, 12:46 PM
I wonder if anyone can help me, I seem to have lost those nefty trees and srubs. The big forests are still there and so are the palm trees on the pacific map; but no individual trees in the other maps. I sometimes mess around tweaking things and experimenting, so I have no doubt that I've done something, but I can't seem to get them back. Any Ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

"Have fun stormin'the castle"

lil_labbit
05-20-2004, 12:49 PM
Try planting some new ones... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/59.gif

You do that by editing config.ini in main FB folder.

Look for a line that says "Forest=" and set value to 3

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

cmndrbob
05-20-2004, 01:02 PM
I have done that, and I notice the "forests" appear twice in the config. file, I have both at 3. Thank for you quick response. Still no trees

"Have fun stormin'the castle"

lil_labbit
05-20-2004, 01:16 PM
Thats correct
One is for DirectX the other for OpenGL drivers (check heading)

Could be the new empty maps dont have them though.... checking...
http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

HexAngel
05-20-2004, 01:19 PM
Maybe you should go into il2setup and choose the default setup for your graphiccard.. Maybe you tweaked a bit too much.. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

----------------------------
It's too late now to get out of sight..

lil_labbit
05-20-2004, 01:34 PM
I just tested several maps and settings for Forest= - I tried 1 2 and 3...

NO TREES ! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

I think you found a bug...
The moment you start FB values get RESET in the conf.ini file... this never happened before...

Better report in ORR bug reports for 2.01

I think I'm gonne become a tree-whiner http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

[This message was edited by lil_labbit on Thu May 20 2004 at 01:01 PM.]

olaleier
05-20-2004, 01:58 PM
Agent Orange was included in the patch. "What If" scenario or something. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

==================================
http://img2.photobucket.com/albums/v30/olaleier/cobrasig.jpg
==================================
Marvin in hyperlobby

adlabs6
05-20-2004, 02:22 PM
If the frame rate any faster with out the trees?

http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/bin/sigUBI.GIF
My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com) | OMEGASQUADRON | ScreenshotArt.com (http://www.screenshotart.com/home.php)

NovaDudey
05-20-2004, 02:28 PM
Wait, who cares about the trees? :-D

Regards,
Nova

cmndrbob
05-20-2004, 04:17 PM
Thanks guys!
I think I will post on the Bug Board. I liked the trees, especially buzzing town and bases and always had frame rates in the 20's amd 30's
thanks for looking into it for me.

"Have fun stormin'the castle"

HexAngel
05-21-2004, 03:27 AM
I did a short test on finland map and the level 3 trees are still there, so I don't know if its really a bug.. Maybe related to graphics card and driver. ATI Cat 4.2 on 9500Pro on my side..

----------------------------
It's too late now to get out of sight..

Raven_Hill
05-21-2004, 03:39 AM
Have you tried this:

Hardware Setup > Video Options > Landscape Detail > Excellent or Perfect

Setting the landscape detail to high or lower will remove the random trees on the landscape.

lil_labbit
05-21-2004, 09:00 AM
I found a way to get them back http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

FB rewrites config.ini (this has effect on Sky= Forest= and Water= settings).

Edit config.ini set values to what you want - save it. Then make it Read-Only.

Trees are back http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

cmndrbob
05-21-2004, 12:19 PM
Rodger that!!
I'll give it a try
Thanks Lil Rabbit
Bob

"Have fun stormin'the castle"