PDA

View Full Version : If Orochi wasn't limited by reflex defense?

DaLast_Samurai
06-26-2017, 06:20 PM
What do you guys think?

I'm a one week newb, but been playing non-stop and learning a lot.

I've come to get the impression that of all the assassins he has the most limited skill set and is quite predictable.

Would you guys think it would be too much to make him not limited by reflex defense and be able to keep his guard up at all times?

I pretty much exclusively rely on dodging with him, but would love to be able to block and parry with more success with him.

JibletHunter
06-26-2017, 06:26 PM
I believe all assassins have a decaying guard. Dodging with orochi is powerful (especially with slip through active), but blocking/parrying is still very viable. It just takes some practice to remember to reset the guard timer by periodically switching stances.

If you would like some practice, i would recommend playing shinbi for a few rounds. His guard decays at double the speed of other assassins, so it will be good training to block on reflex and refresh guard decay instead of holding a stance. Practicing with shinobi really helped improve my reflex guard on the mother reflex guard classes.

Knight_Raime
06-26-2017, 06:48 PM
He does need a few bumps up. But switching his guard stance isn't what he needs.
IMO we need to:
~turn the last light in his light light light attack into an unblockable heavy. It can be slowed slightly to compensate.
~Hurricane blast needs to be guarenteed. maybe if it is if you deflect heavies.
~bust hurricane gust to 35 to put it on par with parrying.
~make storm rush slightly faster and potentially more cancelable farther in the animation.

just a few ideas.

DaLast_Samurai
06-26-2017, 08:08 PM
Yeah, I think your idea about Storm Rush being slightly faster and more cancel capable further into the animation is a good one for sure.