PDA

View Full Version : Do you turn on your antialaising?



laca25
03-17-2004, 09:07 PM
How powerfull rig do you need to do it and is it 4x or may be 8x?

laca25
03-17-2004, 09:07 PM
How powerfull rig do you need to do it and is it 4x or may be 8x?

jtasker
03-17-2004, 09:15 PM
I usually run application Preferencec (no FSAA or AF) at 1600X1200 32 bit and get approximately 45-50 fps in busy missions and campaigns.

It looks amazing..

At 1024X768 32 bit, 6X FSAA and application preferencee for Ansio I get 60-70 fps, and it looks basically the same.. the only dramatic difference is the menus..you see a dramatic difference in the menus due to the resolution.

I run an AMD 2600 with a Gig or RAM and a ATI Radeon 9700 Pro.

Rogodin
03-17-2004, 09:22 PM
I fly with 4x and both ati and nvidia max out at 6x-mostly it depends on your vga-I'd say you'd at least need a xp2100+ with half a gig of DDR to fly with 4x and af enabled.

rogo

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-12/554733/rogosig1.jpg

"Those who long for exaltation look upwards, but I look downwards for I am the exalted."
Thus Spake Zarathustra.

laca25
03-17-2004, 09:26 PM
Has anybody tried to run this game on a laptop? I tried and it was a near disaster. I put my faith into Nvidia's FX5650 Go. It was a major mistake and now I feel burnt...I need to get a real rig 'cause I can't play the game at all. It stutters so much that in ncockpit view my eyes got all f.. up. anyway

Supr
03-17-2004, 09:44 PM
I have seen the light. i will never be able to live without aa and af again.

WUAF_Badsight
03-18-2004, 12:26 AM
i like my game to look nice

i have AF & AA set to the MAX my GF4 Ti4200 will go on 1160 x 850 screen res (normally & ingame as well)

comp stats :

AMD xp 1600+ cpu (1400mhz actual)
768 Mb SD RAM (Pc133)

both on a old slow MotherBoard with 5200 rpm H/Ds

i get 25 Fps average online

20 Fps in the pit average

TPCMike
03-18-2004, 01:26 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Supr:
I have seen the light. i will never be able to live without aa and af again.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Me neither. Never play anything without them

1600x1200x32 2xAA and 8xAF

XP64 @ 2.4ghz with 1 GiG RAM and 9800 pro

Tech PC (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk)
PC hardware discussion and tech support (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/forum)
http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/mike/b17sig.jpg

WhiskeyBravo
03-18-2004, 01:44 AM
Guys, the info you post is next to useless for anyone else unless you also post what in game settings you use - are you running Excellent or Perfect settings?

Regards,

WB.

Teufel_Eldritch
03-18-2004, 01:58 AM
2 AA
8 AF
1280x1024x32
Excellent
OpenGL

AMD Athlon XP2600+
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro(4.1 drivers)
1 gig ram

40 fps avg w/109k pit

YANKEE ROSE
-----------
"For a world of happiness & equality is but a fantasy driven by men who envy the ruling class."

[This message was edited by Teufel_Eldritch on Thu March 18 2004 at 01:17 AM.]

michapma
03-18-2004, 02:10 AM
I have a 2.4GHz with 1GB DDR RAM, and a GF4 4200Ti 128MB. I run the game at 1280x960 @32-bit, and use trilinear filtering (no anisotropic). I have selected the Quincux (sp?) setting, which is I believe something like 4x anti-aliasing. It looks okay, could certainly be better.

I run the game in OpenGL with excellent settings; perfect (when I can get it to work) finishes off the framerates and makes the game unplayable. I think I have struck a somewhat acceptable balance between playability and detail in the game. It looks awesome, although I know how much better it can look. I want to move to a 9800Pro for that reason.

Anti-aliasing does require CPU power and a powerful graphics card. I am asking a lot of my 4200 at the 1280x960 resolution, and my frame rates are consistently 22fps, dipping down into the mid-to high teens when zooming in near forests and towns, as well as with lots of ground objects or action. I should mention that I don't mind the low fps all too much, because my TFT monitor has a slow response time, so 40fps and 100fps would look pretty much the same as 30fps because the monitor response time limits the true frame rate of the screen to about 22fps. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

http://www.baseclass.modulweb.dk/69giap/fileadmin/Image_Archive/badges/69giap_badge_chap.jpg (http://giap.webhop.info)

The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/) | Forgotten Skies (http://www.forgottenskies.com/)
But we are all that way: when we know a thing we have only scorn for other people who don't happen to know it. - Mark Twain, Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc

Alexi_Alx_Anova
03-18-2004, 02:24 AM
Gigabyte 8INXP mobo (Grantite Bay chipset, 533FSB)
2.4Ghz O/C to 2.6GHz
1Gb RAM
GF4 Ti4800 128Mb (56.64 drivers)
Audigy2
Win XP Pro
1600x1200@32
2xQ AA
No AF (because of big fps hits from AA)
Run FB in OpenGL
No stencil
ST3C and other bits I can't remember now

Generally get fps in low to high 20's

Alexi

-----------------------------
Drug of choice....coffee

http://web.onetel.net.uk/~alx_747/coffee.jpg
-----------------------------

michapma
03-18-2004, 02:31 AM
Man Alexi, with 1600x1200, no wonder you get such a frame rate hit with only the first step of AA. Do you have a 19" monitor?

http://www.baseclass.modulweb.dk/69giap/fileadmin/Image_Archive/badges/69giap_badge_chap.jpg (http://giap.webhop.info)

The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/) | Forgotten Skies (http://www.forgottenskies.com/)
But we are all that way: when we know a thing we have only scorn for other people who don't happen to know it. - Mark Twain, Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc

Alexi_Alx_Anova
03-18-2004, 03:25 AM
Yep, 19" monitor. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif I find that 1600x1200 gives me enough crispness to not need AF. In fact I could even do without AA but I find fps in 20s is fine for me (I don't usually even notice it if the fps drop down into the high teens). In the past I have experimented with lower resolutions but higher AF and AA. After fooling around a lot, I've settled on the 1600x1200 'solution'.

Just waiting for the new ATI cards to come out (R420) so that the the prices of 9800XT will drop. When they are around 100, I'll get one off of eBay and that should hold me over until I build a new monster rig sometime in 2005 with PCIexpress, socket 775, DDR2, etc.

Alexi

-----------------------------
Drug of choice....coffee

http://web.onetel.net.uk/~alx_747/coffee.jpg
-----------------------------

michapma
03-18-2004, 12:43 PM
Contented sigh... ahhhhh. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Still longing for a 9800pro.

http://www.baseclass.modulweb.dk/69giap/fileadmin/Image_Archive/badges/69giap_badge_chap.jpg (http://giap.webhop.info)

The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/) | Forgotten Skies (http://www.forgottenskies.com/)
But we are all that way: when we know a thing we have only scorn for other people who don't happen to know it. - Mark Twain, Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc

steve_v
03-18-2004, 12:46 PM
9800 pro, cat4.3
1152*864, Excellent
AA = 4 X's
Aniso = 8X's
Quality/Quality on textures

JG7_Rall
03-18-2004, 01:00 PM
I have:

3.06 P4
Gig of DDR Ram
GeForce 4 FX 5600 256 MB card

What should I set my AA to? Thanks!

http://home.comcast.net/~nate.r/sig.jpg

CaptainGelo
03-18-2004, 01:01 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JG7_Rall:
I have:

3.06 P4
Gig of DDR Ram
GeForce 4 FX 5600 256 MB card

What should I set my AA to? Thanks!

http://home.comcast.net/~nate.r/sig.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>



2Q

http://img23.photobucket.com/albums/v68/wolf4ever/p38abig.jpg

TugZooey
03-18-2004, 01:44 PM
laca25:

I run mine on a Laptop:

2.4ghz
32mb Radeon 7500 mobile http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif
512 Ram

And it runs OK. FPS around 30 offline (unless engaging 8+ bombers with multiple bogeys), varies online.

To be honest, I don't know what AA, AF Gl and the rest are.

BaldieJr
03-18-2004, 02:05 PM
Say no to AA/AF.
Say yes to higher resolution.

http://www.fighterjerks.com/churchsign.jpg

InyerEye
03-18-2004, 02:11 PM
P4 3.0
1 gig DDR Corsair Twin X
9800 pro/cat 4.3 drivers

open gl,excellent
1280x960
4xAA
4xAF
vert. sync on

http://www.btinternet.com/~lee_mail/Fw190-5.jpg

PF_Coastie
03-18-2004, 02:16 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BaldieJr:
Say no to AA/AF.
Say yes to higher resolution.

http://www.fighterjerks.com/churchsign.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Only if you are using Nvidia Baldie.

ATI can crank it up with very little performance hit and very nice IQ.

So, If you dont have a large monitor that can even do 16x12, then AA and Aniso are very good with ATI cards.

Just my 2 cents!

PF_Coastie

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)
Coasties FB and ATI settings (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html)
http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/FS_SIG.jpg
Click here to find out more about FIGHTER SWEEPS 2 (http://alloutwar.com/IL2FS/)


OFFICIAL ATI BETA TESTER

laca25
03-18-2004, 02:19 PM
Well one thing is for sure... The more powerfull you rig is the better the game looks.
My personal advice, don't buy a laptop to play this game. Maddox doesn't support mobile chipsets.
Best regards.