PDA

View Full Version : Yoke & CEM question



Acog99
08-21-2004, 06:14 PM
If I hooked up this:

http://www.chproducts.com/retail/usb_flight_sim.html

Will AEP, without a doubt, support mapping seperate engines to the seperate throttles on the yoke controler? I would prefer a definate yes or no answer, if thats possible to do. Thank you for your time.

Acog99
08-21-2004, 06:14 PM
If I hooked up this:

http://www.chproducts.com/retail/usb_flight_sim.html

Will AEP, without a doubt, support mapping seperate engines to the seperate throttles on the yoke controler? I would prefer a definate yes or no answer, if thats possible to do. Thank you for your time.

ZG77_Lignite
08-21-2004, 07:02 PM
I don't believe so (sorry, thats as definite as I usually get, sometimes), as Il-2/FB does not allow seperate axis for seperate engines (at this point). However, no doubt with so many buttons and axis and such you could devise (and/or program) a way to simply switch between engines (as modeled in FB) to get a good 'feel' of what you are after.

The12342sainT
08-21-2004, 09:57 PM
This yoke is similar to ones found in the HE111 and the P38. I plan to fly these planes with a yoke, does anyone have any experiance in this area;ie How do you have your yoke mapped?

"He that falls in love with himself will have no rivals."
~ Benjamin Franklin

RevvinUK
08-22-2004, 06:59 AM
You could program the axis instead of using it as a DX axis like this (http://www.ch-hangar.com/forum/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=5956)

Just select one of the levers on your yoke and un-check the 'DirectX Mode' tick box and enter the following keys into the 'Normal Zone Keys' text box. Of course you will have to edit your IL-2 keys ever so slightly as I have to make the ` key zero throttle (' key is of course the chat key which I have now moved to the 't' key).

The only drawback with this method is you then have to have a set of keys mapped to select number 1 and number 2 engines which need to be pressed before you move the levers. Not ideal but it works and will be slightly more useable on CH Products Throttle Quadrant (http://www.chproducts.com/retail/usb_throttle_quad.htm). I enquired as to if future versions of IL-2 or Pacific Fighters would support devices like this in this (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=63110913&m=527105916) thread so if you'd like to see multi axis engine control let the development team know.

Revvin

The CH Hangar - Profiles, scripting ideas and discussion for CH users (http://www.ch-hangar.com)

horseback
08-22-2004, 12:00 PM
For the sake of clarity and simplicity, the answer is 'no.' Il-2 and FB/AEP provide only one axis each for throttle and prop pitch mapping, and for multi-engine a/c, you have to select your engine before manipulating its controls.

This means that you cannot increase throttle/prop pitch on one engine while simultaneously decreasing them on the other, which was a favored tactic for twin engined fighters to improve their turn/roll capabilities. So, no, the CH Products yoke will not give you that.

It does, however, give you more buttons than a Combatstick as well as two more axes and better ergonomics (IMO) than a Fighterstck. If you can get used to it, it can be very effective.

cheers

horseback

"Here's your new Mustangs, boys. You can learn to fly'em on the way to the target. Cheers!" -LTCOL Don Blakeslee, 4th FG CO, February 27th, 1944

Acog99
08-22-2004, 02:09 PM
Thanks for the consise replys. This is the information I was seeking.