PDA

View Full Version : Mouse?



mcatchlov
06-04-2017, 05:56 AM
Can you use a mouse to play if you do not have Oculus Touch?

DragnHntr
06-04-2017, 06:27 AM
Pretty sure you can't. A mouse doesn't work very well in a 3d space. The only reason you can use a controller is because the hand "cursor" snaps between UI elements. A mouse doesn't really work for that.

BB_Coolcat
06-04-2017, 12:03 PM
Just to make sure you know: You can play the game with the XBox One controller included with the Oculus.

For mouse, I think it could be done like following, but it's not supported at the moment:

Raycast from a position between the eyes of the player toward the cursor. The cursor just moves over the surface of the console.
There is no actual cursor, the cursor is your forefinger. Somewhere in the middle of your console you automatically switch to the other hand.
There might be trouble with things you would do with two hands. Like adjusting speed and heading simultaneously at the helm.


However, the Touch Controllers are really worth their money.You get the second camera/sensor and can actually walk around in an 2 x 1.5 meter area. Not in BridgeCrew, though. Look at this, that game comes for free with Touch controllers. Especially at 14:40 as he is ripping apart that robot: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tjzcuz7PN5k&feature=youtu.be&t=785