PDA

View Full Version : Things that annoyed me the most about Syndicate

dargor5
06-03-2017, 08:00 PM
This is not a rant, mostly constructive criticism. I am a long time AC fan and have played every single AC creed there is (except for liberation, to many immersion breaking mechanics). I am a 3D artist student and have worked on some games so I know how some of this stuff is made and why.

Absolutely everything is climable. In Syndicate (and Unity) everything that is climable has a "snap to climb" function. This makes the character want to climb something if it is remotely in the direction we are running to. In escape and stealth missions this can be very frustrating because the character jumps to a place we did not intended to. This also causes the character to choose its own climb path some times. This did not happen in AC 1,2,3 and Black Flag because we had less "snap to climb" things on the map or this feature was not present. It makes the parkour look fluid, but more often than not, is in the way.

Difficulty restrictions. In AC Unity I was able to clear places and missions that were many levels above mine if I did it right, in Syndicate, thugs have some sort of kevlar until you reach a certain level of equipment forcing you to level up your gear. Player choice is always better.

Batman fighting mechanics. Honestly is nice that in Syndicate enemies are not just waiting in line to be murdered, but the fact that you enter this "fighting mode" makes it clumsy if you want to escape. In previous AC you could punch a couple of guys, turn around and run. Now if you are fighting, trying to escape is very frustrating because of this "mode" you are in. I usually find myself pressing space bar or WSAD to move away just to see my character standing there.

Other than that I am really looking forward to AC Origins :)

strigoi1958
06-03-2017, 10:48 PM