PDA

View Full Version : Terminology rant

Knight_Raime
05-27-2017, 07:01 PM
Honestly i'm just venting here. No. I'm not a fighter expert. Nor is my view the only one/correct one. At the same time i'm a little annoyed by people taking terms and using them out of place (imo.)

The biggest one is the "50/50." Which according to google basically means that a player does something that forces someone to guess between 2 seperate actions. If you guess wrong you get punished. So it goes without saying that if you can avoid or do any action that trumps both options you're removing guessing. and thus it's not a 50/50.
For honor by default then doesn't have a 50/50 because double back dash gets you out of any situation. But we can go further than that and actually look at the options people call "50/50."

Lawbringer: This "50/50" can be done off of either neutral or a block. But we will say block just so I don't get my head bitten off. LB blocks an attack and shoves. from there he can either GB or light. so it fits the 2 options requirement. However the GB doesn't come out fast enough after a shove. Meaning you will see them try to GB you immediately and it's teched. or you start to see the light and dodge. in order for this to be a real 50 50 you would have to be able to chain the GB right off the shove. but the delay in between the 2 is small enough and the animation is distinct enough that it's just not a thing.