PDA

View Full Version : Saitek X45 & Trim



02-10-2004, 10:25 PM
Anyone know of a way to adjust the sensitivy of the trim wheels on the X45? I have the one on the front of the throttle set for aleirion trim, but even if I just barely nudge it, it's just too much.

thanks,

Jeff I.
St. Louis, MO

02-10-2004, 10:25 PM
Anyone know of a way to adjust the sensitivy of the trim wheels on the X45? I have the one on the front of the throttle set for aleirion trim, but even if I just barely nudge it, it's just too much.

thanks,

Jeff I.
St. Louis, MO

aerick2
02-10-2004, 11:27 PM
I have a '45 but I use a hat for trim. Your comment makes me glad I haven't tried the rotaries.. BTW, I am not aware of any way to ajust the sensitivity of the knobs.. 1% movement is 1% input...

tHeBaLrOgRoCkS
02-11-2004, 08:03 AM
I had the same problem Mate and the answer is something I am still working on but you will need to look for a file in your forgotten battles directory called conf.ini Back this file up somewhere then open it with notepad and scroll down till you see a group of numbers with things like x=10 20 30 40 50 this will vary from machine to machine but I think the ones you will be interested in are the ones that say rx= and ry= possibly even rz http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/blink.gif
assuming you have backed up the origional I would suggest you play around with the settings here and see what effect you get. I have managed to damp the sensitivity of the dials but I still need to tweak. If nobody gets around to it before me I will post up my findings for you. Good luck

131st_BaLrOg

T_O_A_D
02-11-2004, 04:24 PM
This thread will help inlighten you to the conf.ini file. Tully has a great post in it.

S! BaLrOg first I've seen you post. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
131st_Toad's Squad link (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
2.11 drivers (http://home.mchsi.com/~131st-vfw/NaturalPoint_trackIR_2_11.exe)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

adlabs6
02-11-2004, 08:43 PM
I solved this problem in IL2 and FB by editing the conf.ini files. If done right, there is no activity at all inside the detented area of either rotary. I do appologize, but my PC with IL2 and FB on it is down right now, so I can't get you any more info on the matter.

BTW, I also was using rotaries for trim in FS2004, but there were problems. Autopilot makes trim changes, and of course the X45 rotaries DON'T move to represent this. The result is wild control throws when the rotaries are activated after autopilot is switched off. To solve this, I moved the trim control to the upper hat switch, and put the prop and mix on the rotaries. Now I've come to prefer it this way.

http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/bin/sigUBI.GIF
My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com) | OMEGASQUADRON (http://777avg.com/omegasquad/)

aerick2
02-11-2004, 10:12 PM
I assigned flaps to rotary 1, prop pitch to rotary 2, and trim to hat 1. I can't imagine doing it any other way, it just works too well!

BaldieJr
02-11-2004, 10:51 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by aerick2:
I assigned flaps to rotary 1, prop pitch to rotary 2, and trim to hat 1. I can't imagine doing it any other way, it just works too well!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Same here.

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
______ _____
(, / ) /) /) , (, /
/---( _ // _(/ _ / __ ,""""]
+----/ ____)(_(_(/_(_(__(__(/____/__/ (__--------,' /---+
| / ( / ,' NR / |
|(_/ ..-""``"'-._ (_/ __,' 42 _/ |
+-.-"" "-..,____________/7,.--"" __]-----+

</pre>

F19_Lejon
02-12-2004, 04:59 AM
I too had that same problem, had to set the trim to the button behind the throttle.
BUT i set brakes on rotary 1 and pitch on rotary 2, makes it possible to make a great landing and take off, just lock wheels until the engine revs up, loosen brakes, roll forward a few metres and set about 50% brakes and you can make a 2-Wheel start.

tHeBaLrOgRoCkS
02-14-2004, 04:49 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by T_O_A_D:
This thread will help inlighten you to the conf.ini file. Tully has a great post in it.

S! BaLrOg first I've seen you post. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Lol First but rest assured not the last mwuahahahah cheers for the links btw I think I still need to work some on mine