PDA

View Full Version : Summertime in Smolensk



XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 02:08 PM
http://www.gis.net/~dtpkls/index_files/NZ1.JPG

Cloyd

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 02:08 PM
http://www.gis.net/~dtpkls/index_files/NZ1.JPG

Cloyd

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 02:14 PM
That's an amazing pic...i wish my comp was good enough to run the game at it's full potential. Right now, im more worried about my gimped joystick..maybe i should have a 'save blade_x's FB career' and someone donate me a stick, ahah. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 02:24 PM
Blade_X_ wrote:
- That's an amazing pic...i wish my comp was good
- enough to run the game at it's full potential. Right
- now, im more worried about my gimped joystick..maybe
- i should have a 'save blade_x's FB career' and
- someone donate me a stick, ahah. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif
-
-


This PERFECT mode screenshot was made on a P3 866, GF3 ti500, 512 sdram. FPS was about 15-20. It was an empty map, just me and the landscape. I certainly wouldn't try to fly a mission in this mode, my system would probably come to a grinding halt.

Cloyd

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 02:27 PM
Smolensk isn't even a detailed map, Berlin and Gulf of Finland have way more objects than Smolensk does.

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 05:32 PM
though not evident in the pic, it's disapointing that only trees have reflections, remember the original taster screenshots that showed hills reflected too. Bridges look rather odd with no reflection next to trees that do - woudn't it be nice if everything had an appropriate reflection, I suppose frame rate hit is the reason why not....or maybe it will be in a future update?....

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 08:55 PM
I know that this is rather big. Sorry about that. The first thing that I did after getting the patch was to take a joyride on the Smolensk map on perfect settings. FPS was around 20, so I have a comparable system to yours, and like you, I wouldn't dare to do any serious fighting on these settings with more than two or three planes in the air.

http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/bridge2.JPG


Tsisqua

http://www.cherokee.org/Culture/images/proctorZeke.jpg
"My ancestors didn't come over in the Mayflower--they met the boat."


http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612345111

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 09:39 PM
oddlegs wrote:
- though not evident in the pic, it's disapointing
- that only trees have reflections, remember the
- original taster screenshots that showed hills
- reflected too. Bridges look rather odd with no
- reflection next to trees that do - woudn't it be
- nice if everything had an appropriate reflection, I
- suppose frame rate hit is the reason why not....or
- maybe it will be in a future update?....
-
-

Same shot as above, different view, hills reflecting.
http://www.gis.net/~dtpkls/index_files/NZ2.jpg

Note the jaggies on the plane shadow (AA off), but not on the reflection of the landscape. That's mighty impressive in a $40 piece of software. I'm an architect, I use AutoCAD and 3DStudio everyday. To re-create these images in those programs, costing several thousand dollars each, would be many hours of work. Even on my POS system FB does this at 20 FPS.

Cloyd

Cloyd
12-20-2003, 02:27 PM
I'm too lazy to make a new post, so I'll just bump this old one. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Just checking in,
Cloyd

Cloyd
06-12-2004, 01:07 PM
Please ignore this. I'm just trying to pump up my post count.

Cloyd

mortoma
06-12-2004, 06:00 PM
Don't feel too bad, some guys who post pics like this can't run at settings like that either. They just put FB in perfect mode when they're running a track long enough to take the snapshot. This makes it possible for even people with very low system specs to shoot high quality screens.