PDA

View Full Version : The Right PC for the Right IL2s



XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 08:38 PM
hi guys....

I'm havin' some troubles with IL2....
it happens (it's not that frequent but when it happens it's a pain in the ***)..that the graphics would freeze for a couple of seconds (mostly when I'm gettin closer to another aircraft)...the action continues underneath but the graphics are still and frozen...after 2 secs it would start to flow smoothly...but within those 2 secs the enemy manages to evade....to shoot my *** up...ecc..ecc...


I show my system so you can actually check if it's enough for IL2 at its best (graphically)

Athlon XP 1700mh
256MB Ram SDRAM
Geffo 4 MX 440 64MB DDR
HD 40 GB
MB K7S5a
SBLive!

it this crap enough???

thanx for the support http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

{adi}-sweetbutt Air Dominators Italia

XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 08:38 PM
hi guys....

I'm havin' some troubles with IL2....
it happens (it's not that frequent but when it happens it's a pain in the ***)..that the graphics would freeze for a couple of seconds (mostly when I'm gettin closer to another aircraft)...the action continues underneath but the graphics are still and frozen...after 2 secs it would start to flow smoothly...but within those 2 secs the enemy manages to evade....to shoot my *** up...ecc..ecc...


I show my system so you can actually check if it's enough for IL2 at its best (graphically)

Athlon XP 1700mh
256MB Ram SDRAM
Geffo 4 MX 440 64MB DDR
HD 40 GB
MB K7S5a
SBLive!

it this crap enough???

thanx for the support http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

{adi}-sweetbutt Air Dominators Italia

XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 08:39 PM
I mean for Forgotten Battles too....
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 08:41 PM
I'm new to the game too, but after the first glance I think the biggest drawback to your config is memory. To run the game comfortably you need at least 512M RAM. Or else graphics will get swapped to the hard drive, and they take time to retrieve when they're needed. That's what causes the interruptions.

Edit: a better video card won't hurt either. I use a GF4Ti4200, and it's smooth as a baby's ***. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif



Message Edited on 10/01/0307:43PM by kazymyr

XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 09:34 PM
Good advice from the first responder, but I'd ditch the video card for a newer one too if you can afford it. Get one
with at least 128 DDR Vdram and at least a TI-4600 or ATI Radeon. Another thing that may help too would be to go up to a at least an XP-2100, if your system board will allow such an upgrade. Remember, this game is processor hungry too. I upgraded from a Athlon Thunderbird 1.2Gb processor to an XP-2100 and didn't regret it at all. A Processor could be had for less than a new video card most of the time. Prices are low these days. With the upgrade in processor, I actually got more FPS improvement than I did when I went from a Geforce 3 TI-200 to my newer TI-4600 Ultra. But both helped. But for sure increase your memory amount to at least 512mb, even better 768mb. No need for 1024mb of memory.

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin - 1755

XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 09:41 PM
This is best posted in the Tech forum. Also check out the FAQ and Hunters tips. Also U need to post your DxDiax. Also with SBLive make sure your sound acceleration is turned down and is not on full.


<center><img src= "http://homepage.ntlworld.com/n.bulger/Emil_Bug.jpg">

AKA JG5_Emil

"I wish we all had the courage to confine our defence to three simple words....LICK MY A*S!" Herman Goering

XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 10:22 PM
yep Tech forum is best.

FWIW though I upgraded vid card Radeon 9600 and a gig of DDRRAM and things are just peachy now. I cn even fly over Leningrad with no stutter.

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_07.gif


She turned me into a newt, but I got better.

XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 10:28 PM
All i can say..that system requirements if you approach it with honesty...should be

1.2 GHZ or better CPU
DDR based mobo
768MB of RAM to fully enjoy ALL missions
GF3 TI or better video card
SB Audilgy or better sound.

Unfortunately it`s not what it says in the box /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan
http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub

XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 11:35 PM
damn rbj is on a roll with the newusernames today, you see him post one under his name then 15 newuser names all acting like aholes

http://www.freewebs.com/leadspitter/lead.txt
Good dogfighters bring ammo home, Great ones don't. (c) Leadspitter

XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 11:49 PM
Yup we been suckered again......Doh!

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif


<center><img src= "http://homepage.ntlworld.com/n.bulger/Emil_Bug.jpg">

AKA JG5_Emil

"I wish we all had the courage to confine our defence to three simple words....LICK MY A*S!" Herman Goering

XyZspineZyX
10-02-2003, 12:14 AM
had a similar problem till about a month ago, i was having freezes upto 30+ seconds, got a new mobo & 512mb ddr ram (had 256mb of 133-ram) fixed all probs even running at higher res and better graphics setting, with no problems so double the ram if you can afford it go new mobo and ddr ram

konigwolf

XyZspineZyX
10-02-2003, 11:03 AM
thanx for support guys....(sorry for the missed Tech Forum)

just got 512 DDR and even FB flies smooth as a baby's *** http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

thanx again

XyZspineZyX
10-02-2003, 11:26 AM
Hi,

I started up with a very similar system (60 GB HD instead) and upgrade to 1 GB RAM and a Geforce4 Ti4200, made me go from "uhm, nice!" to "MUARHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!" /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

cheers/slush

http://dk.groups.yahoo.com/group/aktivitetsdage/files/Eurotrolls.gif

You can't handle the truth!
Col. Jessep

XyZspineZyX
10-02-2003, 12:37 PM
The key is to remember that FB is just a waste of your Ram and the improved graphics are like handing a pre-schooler an apple for halloween. IL-2 is the game you should be playin' unless you play online then join the arcade WASTE 50 bucks for the game and blow another 400 bucks upgrading your computer.