PDA

View Full Version : Slightly OT: CH pro Throttle USB



slarsson
09-16-2004, 12:00 PM
Maybe one of you chaps or chapesses has seen and fixed this issue..

I'm running winxp (sp2) on a gigabyte m/b and an Athlon 64 3200+, ati 9800 pro, 1.5GB RAM.
All m/b and hardware drivers and BIOS up to date.
I built it and I maintain it well, no software or hardware problems otherwise.

Got one of these nice CH throttles to use with my MSFF2 stick in IL2FB.
I installed the throttle and control manager software as specified by CH.

Results:
1) Windows xp (sp2) sees both the MSFF2 stick and the pro throttle in Game Controllers, and both test out fine. All buttons, hats, sliders are working.
2) The Control Manager software can't see the pro throttle, however......when I try to use the calibrate button, it reports "No active devices"
3) In the win xp Control Panel/ system/ hardware/ device manager, there is a CH Products entry (as there should be) and it contains a root, aux1, and aux2 device (as it should) but no pro throttle. The HID keyboard and mouse are also listed under the correct sections, and HID-compliant game controller under the correct section.
4) I can assign keys and hats in IL2 controls for both the stick and the pro throttle just fine, so windows and directx seem to be working without a problem, but not being able to use the CH Manager severely limits the clever stuff I could do by programming the pro throttle.

I've posted about this at www.ch-hangar.com (http://www.ch-hangar.com) and despite a lot of effort from Michael of CH products there, we have not resolved the issue. I have tried the 3.5beta version of Control Manager too, but no change.

Uninstalled, reinstalled multiple times, using the chdelete utility to clean the registry each time. Removed all other USB devices and reinstalled, no change.

Has anyone seen and solved this issue? It's very frustrating!

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com

slarsson
09-16-2004, 12:00 PM
Maybe one of you chaps or chapesses has seen and fixed this issue..

I'm running winxp (sp2) on a gigabyte m/b and an Athlon 64 3200+, ati 9800 pro, 1.5GB RAM.
All m/b and hardware drivers and BIOS up to date.
I built it and I maintain it well, no software or hardware problems otherwise.

Got one of these nice CH throttles to use with my MSFF2 stick in IL2FB.
I installed the throttle and control manager software as specified by CH.

Results:
1) Windows xp (sp2) sees both the MSFF2 stick and the pro throttle in Game Controllers, and both test out fine. All buttons, hats, sliders are working.
2) The Control Manager software can't see the pro throttle, however......when I try to use the calibrate button, it reports "No active devices"
3) In the win xp Control Panel/ system/ hardware/ device manager, there is a CH Products entry (as there should be) and it contains a root, aux1, and aux2 device (as it should) but no pro throttle. The HID keyboard and mouse are also listed under the correct sections, and HID-compliant game controller under the correct section.
4) I can assign keys and hats in IL2 controls for both the stick and the pro throttle just fine, so windows and directx seem to be working without a problem, but not being able to use the CH Manager severely limits the clever stuff I could do by programming the pro throttle.

I've posted about this at www.ch-hangar.com (http://www.ch-hangar.com) and despite a lot of effort from Michael of CH products there, we have not resolved the issue. I have tried the 3.5beta version of Control Manager too, but no change.

Uninstalled, reinstalled multiple times, using the chdelete utility to clean the registry each time. Removed all other USB devices and reinstalled, no change.

Has anyone seen and solved this issue? It's very frustrating!

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com

VonKlugermon
09-16-2004, 02:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by slarsson:
Maybe one of you chaps or chapesses has seen and fixed this issue..

I'm running winxp (sp2) on a gigabyte m/b and an Athlon 64 3200+, ati 9800 pro, 1.5GB RAM.
All m/b and hardware drivers and BIOS up to date.
I built it and I maintain it well, no software or hardware problems otherwise.

Got one of these nice CH throttles to use with my MSFF2 stick in IL2FB.
I installed the throttle and control manager software as specified by CH.

Results:
1) Windows xp (sp2) sees both the MSFF2 stick and the pro throttle in Game Controllers, and both test out fine. All buttons, hats, sliders are working.
2) The Control Manager software can't see the pro throttle, however......when I try to use the calibrate button, it reports "No active devices"
3) In the win xp Control Panel/ system/ hardware/ device manager, there is a CH Products entry (as there should be) and it contains a root, aux1, and aux2 device (as it should) but no pro throttle. The HID keyboard and mouse are also listed under the correct sections, and HID-compliant game controller under the correct section.
4) I can assign keys and hats in IL2 controls for both the stick and the pro throttle just fine, so windows and directx seem to be working without a problem, but not being able to use the CH Manager severely limits the clever stuff I could do by programming the pro throttle.

I've posted about this at http://www.ch-hangar.com and despite a lot of effort from Michael of CH products there, we have not resolved the issue. I have tried the 3.5beta version of Control Manager too, but no change.

Uninstalled, reinstalled multiple times, using the chdelete utility to clean the registry each time. Removed all other USB devices and reinstalled, no change.

Has anyone seen and solved this issue? It's very frustrating!

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Try here: Oops, nevermind, see you already did!

Willy

madsarmy
09-16-2004, 03:15 PM
Slarsson

I only got my throttle a week ago & could not get the software to work with it, So I'm going to Bump this.

Like you I have set it up through FB controls which works great but would also like to take advantage of all the different modes etc. From what I can gather it should be able to change channel's on my T.V it's that damn cleverhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

http://mysite.freeserve.com/fbscreenshots/images/0-picture.jpg

"LOOK MUM NO HANDS!"

slarsson
09-16-2004, 03:52 PM
Well for what it's worth, Mads, it makes me feel a bit better that I'm not the only one with the problem.

Do me a favour and post it on the forum at www.ch-hangar.com (http://www.ch-hangar.com)
Mike there is very helpful, but I think they need to know that others are having the same issues....

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com

gwanna
09-16-2004, 05:21 PM
Strange you should mention this.
Allow me to waffle on for a minute with my experience.
I bought the CH PRO Pedals and set them up with software on my old CPU running XP and had all sorts of troubles with calibrations and recognition. It was always an ongoing battle to fly either CFS2 or IL2.
Then when I bought my new CPU and loaded the games, I got so excited that I connected up both the MSFFB2 joystick and the CH PRO Pedals without remembering to load the software for either of them. Never had an issue since. Flys like a beaut.

Hope this may help.

slarsson
09-16-2004, 05:30 PM
Yes, gwanna, but the problem is not that they don't work - they work fine. What doesn't work is the CH Control Manager software which won't detect the pro throttle. So I can assign keys within il2, but I can't use all the billy-whiz extended functionality of the CM software like multiple simultaneous profiles, complex key combos, shifted keys, etc.

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com

gwanna
09-16-2004, 08:32 PM
Slarsson,
Yes that is the problem I had earlier on too.
I now don't use the control manager software. Instead I just go straight into the game with the J/Stick and pedals plugged into my USB ports before hand and assign the keys from within the game. I just select the function and activate the button or axis I wish to control it with. It really is that easy for me. No software for either is installed. Just the games.

AFJMantis
09-17-2004, 01:31 AM
After you have opened up the CH software and made your configuration you then need to hit the download button along the top toolbar, this will "download the settings into the throttle giving you full functionality.On my system whenever i reboot my pc i need to open the CH software load up my profile and then download it to throttle.I assume you are doing this?!

slarsson
09-17-2004, 09:28 AM
Yes,
It seems to download OK, but calibration still reports "No active devices"

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com

VonKlugermon
09-17-2004, 11:27 AM
You've tried removing/adding everything, how about physically changing the USB port you have each device plugged in to? If you have front ports, try plugging into one on the back or vice-versa.

Willy

slarsson
09-17-2004, 11:35 AM
Tried all that. Even unplugged and uninstalled ALL USB devices, refreshed the USB stack by deleting the USB controllers and then reinstalled the pro-throttle.
Same problem.
The root, aux1, aux2, HID keyboard and mouse are all detected, the pro throttle is seen by windows just fine, but it can't be seen by the CH Control Manager.
I understand that under CH Products in control panel/system/hardware/device manager, I should have root, aux1 and aux2 listed (which I do) but also ch pro throttle usb (which I don't)

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com

johnbn
09-17-2004, 12:09 PM
Cant you see the ploblem

Mr Gates doesn't want u using anything but Microsoft.

PriK
09-17-2004, 05:10 PM
The above post really deserves a http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, I have the following on my system:

CH Pro Throttle
CH Pro Pedals
MSFFB2 Joystick
Track IR 3

The CH control manager works like a dream for me. I map all buttons including shift modes for keystrokes in the control manager and map those keys to corresponding controls in IL2. I even have my FB control manager profile load up with windows every time so I never even have to do worry about it and just play the game.

Just so you know that all of these work well together at least for myself and most others I know who run the same setup so it isn't a common problem.

I wish I could help you get it working but I'm not sure what I could do other than supply my profile and it seems your problem might be more related to Windows or your hardware setup than the CH stuff.

-------------------
A-Cat CharveL

CWoS FB forum. More Cheese, Less Whine. (http://www.acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=25)

slarsson
09-17-2004, 05:14 PM
Thanks PriK

Are you by any chance running the MS Sidewinder profiling software? Or just using the native winxp drivers for the stick?
It just occurred to me that both CH Control Manager and the MS sidewinder profiler sit between Directx, the hardware and the OS. Maybe the MS profiler is interfering in some way?

I'll maybe try with it taken out of the startup folder

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com

PriK
09-17-2004, 05:26 PM
slarsson,

I do not use the Sidewinder stuff just the XP driver that installs itself. Sounds like a good candidate as the culprit.

Best of luck, at least there's hope. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

-------------------
A-Cat CharveL

CWoS FB forum. More Cheese, Less Whine. (http://www.acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=25)

slarsson
09-20-2004, 11:47 AM
Uninstalled the MSFF2 profiler.
Unfortunatel, this has not solved the problem.

Not sure where to go from here....

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com

TgD Thunderbolt56
09-20-2004, 01:06 PM
I understand there's a newer (beta) version of CH Control Manager on the way soon, but as the problem is not universal I doubt it's the software...hmmm


Our FB server info: http://www.greatergreen.com/il2

horseback
09-20-2004, 01:37 PM
It sounds to me as though the problem is in your Pro Throttle. Essentially, what you're describing is a failure of the throttle to "shake hands" with your Control Manager software. While you say XP recognizes your throttle, whatever is supposed to ping your CH Control Manager isn't doing so.

If you have a friend with a CH Products controller, I suggest that you see if you could borrow it and see if your Control Manager program seesthat, or if his Control Manager can see your Pro Throttle.

One other possibility...I used to have a computer with an Athlon 2600+ that gave me fits every time I tried to calibrate my CH Products rig. I'd transferred the Control Manager program from another computer with the 'Aloha Bob' program, although I have no way of knowing if that was what screwed it up. Anyway, when I tried to calibrate, the gui would lock up on each step, with a "not responding' message after a couple of mouseclicks on it.

I found that by bringing up the Task Manager(Ctl-Alt-Delete), cancelling it, and bringing it back up a couple-three times, I could get the calibration to move on to the next step. Needless to say, calibration was a major pain in the patoot. It did, however, work. I just didn't ever disconnect my CHProducts controllers if I could possibly avoid it.

So... when you try to add the Pro Throttle to your Control Manager gui, does it lock up, or show a 'not responding' message? If so, try the Task Manager gambit. It couldn't hurt...

good luck

horseback

"Here's your new Mustangs, boys. You can learn to fly'em on the way to the target. Cheers!" -LTCOL Don Blakeslee, 4th FG CO, February 27th, 1944

slarsson
09-20-2004, 02:47 PM
No,
it works like a charm in the control panel/game controllers applet.

I don't have another win xp computer, but I installed on my wife's win 98se system, and Control Manager picked up the throttle straight away.....

I'm mystified........

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com

slarsson
09-20-2004, 02:49 PM
Missed the last bit of your post, Horseback.

The Control Manager simply shows "No active devices" when I try to calibrate. No lock-ups

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com

TX Rahman
09-20-2004, 10:17 PM
I have a hodge-podge of controllers here...

Old Logitech Wingman Force stick
Thrustmaster Elite Rudders
and a CH Throttle Pro USB...

Am also running XP and have never had any problems using it with the control manager software. Mine looks like this when I go to calibrate...
http://www.txsquadron.com/images/chthrottlecalibrate.jpg

Will look more into this to try to help... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Regards and Salute,
TX-Rahman
http://www.txsquadron.com

slarsson
09-21-2004, 10:33 AM
Thanks Tx

Never get to that screen, because when I hit the "Calibrate" button, I just get "No active devices" even though the pro throttle is up and running in control panel/game controllers

Steph Larsson
Vancouver's Island
At or about L 48? 26.06'N, Lo 123? 19.31'W
http://www.stephsdigitals.com

slarsson
10-14-2004, 11:18 AM
For all those who have had problems with CH Control Manager not recognising CH devices:
We eventually (with lots of help from Michael at CH Products) got to the bottom of it. It was actually an issue with improperly updated USB drivers when installing Windows XP SP2.

The tale of woe and eventual happy ending is recounted here:
http://www.ch-hangar.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=1073

TgD Thunderbolt56
10-14-2004, 11:25 AM
good to hear slarsson. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif