PDA

View Full Version : Authentic WWII pilot training videos to watch free online!!

taiterbud
07-09-2004, 12:44 PM
Well I'm glad the 51 discussion is still going, I find all that stuff very interesting. I dont know if people have already seen this, but I stumbled over this website showing original WWII trainging videos that they showed the pilots during their initial training. I've only watched the P-47 and P-51 videos but the P-47 one is awsome. It actually goes through the checklists and operating procedures! Anyway, along with the videos it has a bunch of extra stuff like performance charts and power setting charts. All this stuff is very intresting for me I guess because I am a comercial pilot and I have felt a real lack of info in flying these birds in FB. You know flying an airplane is much more a procedure than most people think. There are MP settings, RPM settings, Mixture adjustments for each phase of flight as recommended by the manufacturer. I found the charts on the site very helpfull for that info. (example: P-51 landing, RPM=2500, MAP never below 25, mixture autorich.....etc.) Let me know what you guys think, and again I recommend the P-47 video its awsome!

http://www.zenoswarbirdvideos.com/main.html

[This message was edited by taiterbud on Fri July 09 2004 at 12:20 PM.]

taiterbud
07-09-2004, 12:44 PM