PDA

View Full Version : Question about changing Campaign Difficulty / Ai intensity



bluesman69uk
02-16-2004, 08:20 AM
After reading the notes that come in the Word File with FB what is the best way to change the Campaign Difficulty?

I understand that you have to edit the Config file folder.

Do you have to type in for example
CapaignDifficulty=Hard.
Do you add this text in at the bottom of the config file? Does this alter the AI settings?

If you also want to increase the ammount of aircraft do you add;

AirIntensity=high at the bottom of the config file and then save changes?

Tried this and played a Campaign mission for the Lw there seemed to be 16 plus LW against 6 RU. Should it not be more balanced with the RU AI being set on say Veteran level?

Any comments or suggestions would be great

Thanks

Blues http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

bluesman69uk
02-16-2004, 08:20 AM
After reading the notes that come in the Word File with FB what is the best way to change the Campaign Difficulty?

I understand that you have to edit the Config file folder.

Do you have to type in for example
CapaignDifficulty=Hard.
Do you add this text in at the bottom of the config file? Does this alter the AI settings?

If you also want to increase the ammount of aircraft do you add;

AirIntensity=high at the bottom of the config file and then save changes?

Tried this and played a Campaign mission for the Lw there seemed to be 16 plus LW against 6 RU. Should it not be more balanced with the RU AI being set on say Veteran level?

Any comments or suggestions would be great

Thanks

Blues http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

ZG77_Lignite
02-16-2004, 10:44 AM
Correct, you must open the file 'Config.ini' with a text editor (such as Notepad, or Wordpad). At the end (technically anywhere, but at the end works) of the file place those lines as you see in the readme.txt (spelling is critical).

Note, this is version specific, AirIntensity=High is now 'obsolete' (as Starshoy, the creator, puts it). The new command starting with the first patch is RandomFlights=1-5.

As regarding CampaignDifficulty (hmm, see I don't know how to spell it), Hard means enemy aircraft are bumped up one AI notch (from Average to Veteran say) and friendly aircraft are bumped down (say from veteran to average). Easy is just the opposite, enemy aircraft are bumped down (say from average to rookie) and friendly are bumped up (say from veteran to ace). This is also dependant on campaign/year, and the situation in the squadrons; high attrition will mean fewer aces and more rookies.

The distribution of aircraft will not alwayse be 'fair'. There may be many many enemy aircraft, more than you can shoot down, or there may be few enemy aircraft, easily overwhelmed by your wingmen. Tactics are an important key to survival.

Hope this helps, I believe the full list of adjustments is availabe in the 1.21 readme.txt

ZG77_Lignite
02-16-2004, 10:46 AM
Arg, please excuse me, Conf.ini is the file. Apologies.

JorBR
02-16-2004, 10:59 AM
The patched versions of FB have to difficulty levels, one for AI and another for missions. See readme files. I strongly suggest you to install IL2 Stab or IL2 Manager, they really simplify things http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I have IL2 Stab and it´s quite easy and efficient: http://www.users.on.net/mjtm/IL-2/

"Never wrestle with a pig; you both get dirty but the pig enjoys it!"

bluesman69uk
02-16-2004, 11:46 AM
Thanks guys for all your suggestions!

I have downloaded Shturmovik Stab and it seems to help for setting different conditions for Campaign missions. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Best wishes

Blues http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

CRSutton
02-16-2004, 01:21 PM
Is it possible to adjust the AI AA fire using Stab? I would actually like to complete a torpedo run one of these days.