PDA

View Full Version : Why must you force me to spend more money on hardware:(



XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 08:23 AM
I bought a Radeon 9800 a while about a month ago, but I haven't upgrade my board and processor yet(running 1800xp) because I knew flying in perfect mode was basically unattainable, but now with this patch you made it attainable with a new processor. Why did you have to go and do this, now I will have to buy a new processor forcing me to eat Ramen Noodles for at least a month til I can pay it off/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif In addition I find it hard to make enough money to spend on this new hardware because I cant pull myself away from the screen. Oleg you should be ashamed of yourself bankrupting poor college kids like myself.

"Ich bin ein Wuergerwhiner"

"The future battle on the ground will be preceded by battle in the air. This will determine which of the contestants has to suffer operational and tactical disadvantages and be forced throughout the battle into adoption compromise solutions." --Erwin Rommel

http://lbhskier37.freeservers.com/Mesig.jpg
--NJG26_Killa--

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 08:23 AM
I bought a Radeon 9800 a while about a month ago, but I haven't upgrade my board and processor yet(running 1800xp) because I knew flying in perfect mode was basically unattainable, but now with this patch you made it attainable with a new processor. Why did you have to go and do this, now I will have to buy a new processor forcing me to eat Ramen Noodles for at least a month til I can pay it off/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif In addition I find it hard to make enough money to spend on this new hardware because I cant pull myself away from the screen. Oleg you should be ashamed of yourself bankrupting poor college kids like myself.

"Ich bin ein Wuergerwhiner"

"The future battle on the ground will be preceded by battle in the air. This will determine which of the contestants has to suffer operational and tactical disadvantages and be forced throughout the battle into adoption compromise solutions." --Erwin Rommel

http://lbhskier37.freeservers.com/Mesig.jpg
--NJG26_Killa--

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 12:18 PM
Heh, I feel your pain...

Try this on for size. I bought a new board and processor (Athlon XP 2600 333) while I anticipated patch. (Not the best money can buy, but the best MY money can buyhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif)Well, I am sending the rig back for the second time to RMA because the thing is buggered. To add insult to injury, I received the buggered CPU the same day the patch came out!

At least you can play IL2 now, I can only read about it in the forums http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Fehler

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 12:28 PM
I prefer chicken. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif


http://stevegarufi.com/ramen1.jpg


http://members.chello.se/ven/milton.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 03:44 PM
The question is gents.....Is it worth it to you..../i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif
The funny thing is..I had a P2 233MHZ computer I used to play CFS1 on with a TNT Riva 32M card. I upgraded to my current XP1600..(adequate but by no means stellar..) and a 9000 Pro128 & 1G SDram for CFS3..... I got IL2 on a recommendation..I had previously not even considered it because I knew my system couldnt handle it. I have been here since. I upgraded my 1G SDram to 1GDDR, the 9000Pro128 to a 9500Pro128, my PCI512 card to an OEM Audigy and my final upgrade will be to kick up this processor to as high as my MOBO will go XP2400 I think...). Needless to say my kids have adequate systems..(LOL...the downhill upgrades syndrome.... /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif ) All in all I would say I have spent quite a nice penny for my budget...much to MamaBears chagrin.....but to me....it is all worth it. Since I no longer hang out in bars and chase women, or run the streets with my buddies like I used to in my wild & reckless early middle age....my wife is very comfortable knowing that if I am not at one of my two jobs, working around the house, or harrassing her for some yoodles I am in the basement locked in a virtual life or death struggle with some human or AI bandit, just a bellow away.
But yeah....d@mmit Oleg!!! Why did you have to make this sim so good... I thought i was done with my upgrades till your next sim. NOW CUT IT OUT!!!!! I have to start saving for the next MAJOR upgrade and I cant do that if you keep on making this one better and better!!!!!! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif ../i/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

<CENTER>http://www.world-wide-net.com/tuskegeeairmen/ta-1943.jpg <marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"Straighten up.......Fly right..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee> http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat

<CENTER><FONT COLOR="ORANGE">vflyer@comcast.net<FONT COLOR>
<Center><div style="width:200;color:red;font-size:18pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=8)">99th Pursuit Squadron

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 03:57 PM
If it's a newer 1800 you might be able to overclock it a bit (providing your mobo and RAM are up to the task). Otherwise, the Barton XP2500s overclock like stink (mine thinks its an XP3200 /i/smilies/16x16_robot-very-happy.gif ) - but again a decent motherboard and Ram are essential.

Still, i saved a good few hundred pounds on this o/c as opposed to buying a 'rated' XP3200 /i/smilies/16x16_robot-happy.gif

Now all i need is to ditch this GF3 for something oomphier /i/smilies/16x16_robot-sad.gif

<center>http://www.geocities.com/raven_4803/smsig1.txt (http://www.il2airracing.com)http://www.geocities.com/raven_4803/smsig2.txt (http://www.blitzpigs.com)http://www.geocities.com/raven_4803/smsig3.txt (about_:blank)

<font size=-2><font color="purple">BlitzPig_Raven * Script loose and fancy free... * www.blitzpigs.com<font (http://www.blitzpigs.com<font) style="display: none;">

ZG77_Nagual
08-14-2003, 04:13 PM
He he - Guys if you are shopping check neweggs remans - I saw an abit it7max2 mainboard on there for about $49! Thing is you want to get that puppy in and running while it's still under warranty.
My rig is adequate - I could use a 3gig cpu but the price is just silly.

http://pws.chartermi.net/~cmorey/pics/p47janes.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 07:05 PM
Its an old 1800, I bought it when it first came out, I actaully have it overclocked to a whooping 1600mhz/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif from a stock 1533. My next purchase will be a P4 2.4Ghz that I hope to overclock to over 3Ghz, that should be enough to satisfy me for at least another year/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

"Ich bin ein Wuergerwhiner"

"The future battle on the ground will be preceded by battle in the air. This will determine which of the contestants has to suffer operational and tactical disadvantages and be forced throughout the battle into adoption compromise solutions." --Erwin Rommel

http://lbhskier37.freeservers.com/Mesig.jpg
--NJG26_Killa--

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 09:00 PM
Fehler wrote:

- Well, I am sending the rig back for
- the second time to RMA because the thing is
- buggered. To add insult to injury, I received the
- buggered CPU the same day the patch came out!


You might want to consider changing your nickname, as these things tend to become self-fulfilling prophecies. I know I have become a nuisance to others since I chose mine.../i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

GreyBeast_P39

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 09:05 PM
P4 2.8 GHZ/800fbs<<<<<RULES/i/smilies/16x16_robot-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_robot-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_robot-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_robot-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_robot-very-happy.gif