PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Installs of FB Possible?



Jsalty
01-16-2004, 09:29 PM
I just tried to install another copy of FB and get an error message. Has anyone successfully installed additional copies? If so, how did you do it?

Jsalty
01-16-2004, 09:29 PM
I just tried to install another copy of FB and get an error message. Has anyone successfully installed additional copies? If so, how did you do it?

WUAF_Badsight
01-16-2004, 10:40 PM
i have FB v1.21 & FB v1.0 on seperate patitions

Fennec_P
01-16-2004, 11:07 PM
AFAIK you can just copy/paste the whole FB directory to have multiple copies of the game.

plumps_
01-17-2004, 01:42 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Fennec_P:
AFAIK you can just copy/paste the whole FB directory to have multiple copies of the game.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, then apply a patch to one of them and you get different versions. You don't need several partitions for this.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

LEXX_Luthor
01-17-2004, 03:38 AM
Yep, what Fennec said, and I apply Patch to the FB copy (I leave the 1.0 install named FB0).

Install to C:\FB0 and then copy it to C:\FB and play from that.

You think I am going to call my folder IL...whatever that long name they have for default. BS

__________________
RUSSIAN lexx website http://www.lexx.ufo.ru/members.shtml
Stanly is a moron, kai is a walking dead beet, Xev just want sex.

Jsalty
01-17-2004, 05:42 PM
I found the problem. For anyone interested, here's the issue. In the registry, FB puts an entry under Software/Microsoft/Installer. Evidently this entry causes problems for the installation. If you delete this entry from the registry, the installation proceeds smoothly