PDA

View Full Version : Skins use question



TheCrux
08-23-2004, 11:05 AM
Hi all

Still playing original IL-2 and I figured I'd like to try some other skins, and I've downloaded some nice ones from Mudmovers.

After copying the files into the relevant A/C paint scheme and skin folders as directed, they don't show up on the A/C. I checked the folders for the game, and the skins are there ( along with the other game-supplied ones ) but no dice.

Is there something I need to do to specifically apply the skin so it shows up on the game?

I fly only offline.

Thanks,
TR

TheCrux
08-23-2004, 11:05 AM
Hi all

Still playing original IL-2 and I figured I'd like to try some other skins, and I've downloaded some nice ones from Mudmovers.

After copying the files into the relevant A/C paint scheme and skin folders as directed, they don't show up on the A/C. I checked the folders for the game, and the skins are there ( along with the other game-supplied ones ) but no dice.

Is there something I need to do to specifically apply the skin so it shows up on the game?

I fly only offline.

Thanks,
TR

_VR_ScorpionWorm
08-23-2004, 11:08 AM
I think if they are 512*512 skins(IL2) they will show, if you got the 1024*1024 FB skins they will not.

http://img55.photobucket.com/albums/v169/Scorpion08/Hurri-1.jpg

www.vultures-row.com (http://www.vultures-row.com)

adlabs6
08-23-2004, 11:13 AM
Also, if memory serves, you can only use skins in the original IL2 in online mode. Someone correct me here if I'm wrong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v313/adlabs6/sig5.gif
My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins.com (http://www.il2skins.com) | ScreenshotArt.com (http://www.screenshotart.com/home.php)

woofiedog
08-23-2004, 12:44 PM
i believe your right adlabs6... I tried using skins with the orginal Sturmovik and it only works when playing online.

http://www.ussbiddle.org/pictures/desktop_scott_10_thumb.jpg

LEBillfish
08-23-2004, 01:54 PM
I'm by far the novice here as to skins however I believe actually 1024 or 512 work size, yet it is normally asked you reduce them all when online to 512 for download lag......

What I have found is normally the issue is they get saved in 16mb color vs. 256....check the amount of colors on the file...that might be it also that it is in a bmp format (not jpg or gif), also that they are not just in "skins" but the appropriate sub-folder in skins.

http://www.geocities.com/k2kellyirie/IL2/starnew.txt

Taylortony
08-23-2004, 02:47 PM
yes 99% of the ones on il2skins are FB ones, so you will need to resize them from 1024 by 1024 to 512 by 512 to allow them to work, some FB ones are still 512 by 512 though

woofiedog
08-23-2004, 03:29 PM
Taylortony... How do you resize a skin file?

http://www.ussbiddle.org/pictures/desktop_scott_10_thumb.jpg

-HH- Beebop
08-23-2004, 04:50 PM
Open the skin in any painting program (PSP/PS/GIMP) and click "Resize". Choose 512X512 pixels and you're done.
Also some image viewers (Irfan/Firehand, maybe more) will allow you to resize as well.
Hope this helps.

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/9334/Image6.jpg
HellHounds Virtual Air Wing

Skycat_2
08-23-2004, 09:36 PM
The advice is correct that (in original IL-2) skin repaints can only be used in 'online' modes. However, you can test a new skin without going to the trouble of connecting to a server by simply playing a multiplayer map as the only plane on the map; in other words, don't connect to the Internet. The skin choices are available in the setup menu before you launch the mission.

If you do connect to the Internet and find other 'original' IL-2 players, you may end up with a collection of repaint textures in your cache folder. Another way you can attain a large collection of skins is by purchasing the "Operation Barbarossa" add-on, published by Matrix Games -- it comes with a bunch of custom skins for online/co-op use. I saw it being sold for $9.99 USD at Game Stop this summer.

Unfortunately, you can't use any repaints in single-player offline missions and career campaigns.

WTE_Galway
08-23-2004, 09:46 PM
so far as I can rememeber .. the original IL2 could handle 1024 skins but you had to change a setting in the .ini file to force it to recognise them

LEBillfish
08-23-2004, 09:50 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by WTE_Galway:
so far as I can rememeber .. the original IL2 could handle 1024 skins but you had to change a setting in the .ini file to force it to recognise them<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I have a bunch in 1024x1024....and have set nothing...all work. Seriously...check to make sure you don't have 16million+ colors in the skin vs 256. When those I use don't work that is "always" it.

http://www.geocities.com/k2kellyirie/IL2/starnew.txt

woofiedog
08-24-2004, 06:33 AM
Thank's HH_Beebop!
I'll give that a try. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://www.villagephotos.com/image.asp?id_=9721627&sessionkey=

-HH- Beebop
08-24-2004, 05:33 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by woofiedog:
Thank's HH_Beebop!
I'll give that a try. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Glad I could help.

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/9334/Image6.jpg
HellHounds Virtual Air Wing

lil_labbit
08-24-2004, 05:47 PM
Skins must be 512x512 pixels 256 colour BMP file (Winodw's BitMap) in Il2-Sturmo - and ONLY show Online and then only when skin d/l is enabled in il2setup.exe...

To kill a fable: ONLINE SKIN DOWNLOAD ON IS NOT BAD AND DOES NOT INDUCE LAG !!!

IF you set Skin Download off - people will use defaul/etc. skins with designations (nation/squad/number/roundel) &lt;--- THOSE DO COME ALL AT ONCE and ARE inducing lag...

Skin comes on when-it-can - it takes a while - gets smoothed out over time over bandwidth(s) ... then appears... Thats FAR better!

Skin D/L DOES induce a lot of traffic (MBytes) thoug... so most servers will shut it off...

Some have a limit - some do other things too

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day